John_B81 Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/morton-chairman-douglas-rae-blasts-3363903 Chairman of Morton lays into him after just ONE goal since he went there in January, you'll no see him back in the top flight again. Got to go down as one of the biggest self-waste of talent, along with his coke-buddy Riordan, in Scottish Football. Shame too because he was a decent player beforehand. Link to comment
dunc_afc Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Can't say I feel any sympathy towards him, next stop for that zoomer, all inclusive at one of her majesties fantastic offender resorts. Link to comment
paddy Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Quite funny. Rae blasts not only the manager and players but the fans too! Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Folk on here wanted us to sign him too. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/morton-chairman-douglas-rae-blasts-3363903 Chairman of Morton lays into him after just ONE goal since he went there in January, you'll no see him back in the top flight again. Got to go down as one of the biggest self-waste of talent, along with his coke-buddy Riordan, in Scottish Football. Shame too because he was a decent player beforehand. O'Connor was brilliant when he broke through. I thought he had all the tools to make to the very top. He was blessed with incredible pace and power. If he had half a brain, he could have carved out a great career for himself at a big club in the EPL. As opposed to the occasional flash in the pan when he could be arsed pulling his finger out, when he was at Birmingham, As you say, such a waste. Link to comment
super_al Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Calderwood tried to sign him when he first arrived at Aberdeen. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Calderwood tried to sign him when he first arrived at Aberdeen. Figures... a perfect match... Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Quite funny. Rae blasts not only the manager and players but the fans too! Ken. Is it any wonder they are on the brink of relegation when the Chairman has; Slated the manager publicly several time now.Slating the playersSlating the fansCutting the budget by 10-50% depending on who you believe. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 the boy's a car crash. woops! Link to comment
granite sheep Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Ho-hum. Yet another player who's pished his potential up the wall. Now he had the natural talent- Lokomotiv didn't pay close to £2 mil for some old donkey, but mentality wise, yes, an utter train wreck. Perhaps it's something Scottish players lack when they go to a big club, it seems to me this is what happens most of the time when a big "talent" emerges in the game.1- Young player rises to prominence for his club2- Media blow his talent out of all proportion and laud him as the new messiah3- The fame goes to the youngster's head, he starts to think he's arrived in the game and starts to believe his own hype4- Gets noticed by a few EPL and Championship clubs. Media, his agents, and possibly himself start talking big about being the next superstar down south5- Signs for EPL/ Championship club. Split with parent club will undoubtedly be acrimonious with much belittlement about how the SPFL limits the potential of its players, absence of skilled fitba, etc6- Expects first team start right away. Manager tells him to fuck off, therefore he sulks, eventually winding up at a lower tier club cos he wouldn't apply himself.And so goes the ruination of yet another "good prospect"'s career. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Always thought O'Connor and Riordan were better at Hibs than Steven Fletcher was. What could have been... Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 4, 2014 Share Posted April 4, 2014 Folk on here wanted us to sign him too.To be fair. Not exactly very many. http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=29927 Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 To be fair. Not exactly very many. http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=29927 I only see one person, 'NPRC' Never noticed them posting previously or since. Link to comment
tup Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 You can't argue with what the Morton chairman says, in fact you have to admire his honesty. I thought O'Connor was much older than 30, he looks more like 40. God knows what he's been on but it's destroyed him. Link to comment
don corleone Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 what a fucking mess. Total waster. I really hate cunts like O conner and riordan, lazy thicko cunts. Link to comment
the_shrimp Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 Griffith is on his way to follow in their footsteps. 1 Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 yup, picture of him in his Morton strip looking bloated with a face of anguish. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 Shame really. The guy WAS good when he broke through. He got that big money move to... uh... Moscow... on merit. Just been utter shit since. Drugs and being a thick twat from Edinburgh haven't helped him. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 Am I in the minority in that he wasnt actually that good in the first place ? Another who had a couple of good seasons in SPL and suddenly is a genius,see Goodwillie , an utter bampot. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 That's pretty much fit I was on about in my earlier post. How most Scottish players' careers (young ones especially) go down the shitter after one or two great seasons and go down south or abroad in O Connor's case. Surely it's a mentality thing, players aren't prepared for big team fitba? Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted April 5, 2014 Share Posted April 5, 2014 That's pretty much fit I was on about in my earlier post. How most Scottish players' careers (young ones especially) go down the shitter after one or two great seasons and go down south or abroad in O Connor's case. Surely it's a mentality thing, players aren't prepared for big team fitba? Mentality, a lot of these guys are utter thick bams, Maguire, Goodwillie, O'Connor, Riordan and you can probably add Fletcher as well. They get it too fucking easy thats the problem Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted April 6, 2014 Share Posted April 6, 2014 When Riordan and O'Connor were together in partnership for Hibs there were very very good, I think Brown was in that side as well if I remember rightly. Like most Scottish players, Get onto cloud 9 and think they are world class.....and it becomes tatties. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 6, 2014 Share Posted April 6, 2014 When Riordan and O'Connor were together in partnership for Hibs there were very very good, I think Brown was in that side as well if I remember rightly. Like most Scottish players, Get onto cloud 9 and think they are world class.....and it becomes tatties. Steven Fletcher breaking through too. Ian Murray, Kevin Thomson, Ivan Sproule, Gary Caldwell, Steven Whittacker, David Murphy, Amadou Konte (JOKEZ MAN!!1)... they raked in absolute millions. And what do they have to show for it? A nice new empty stand and a fucking shite football team. Thank god I'm not a Hibee. Barassie I disagree... I thought O'Connor could have been top drawer. Power, technique, finishing, a burst of pace (sometimes!). Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted April 6, 2014 Share Posted April 6, 2014 I have absolutely zero sympathy. Utter waster. Horrible scumbag who didn't realise he had a god given talent that most guys could only dream of. If you are so stupid as to be washed up by 30 you should be turned into a tesco lasagne. Lasagnes (he is a big guy) Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted June 10, 2014 Share Posted June 10, 2014 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/former-16000-a-week-footballer-garry-oconnor-3663510 The latest twist in a sorry tale... What a waste of money and talent. The boy must have been worth several million at one stage. How do you pish that much money away, and end up living back in a council house, in such a short space of time? Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 10, 2014 Share Posted June 10, 2014 Bet hes still better than tommy wright 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 10, 2014 Share Posted June 10, 2014 Riordan hardly doing any better. Two incredible wastes. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted June 10, 2014 Share Posted June 10, 2014 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/former-16000-a-week-footballer-garry-oconnor-3663510 The latest twist in a sorry tale... What a waste of money and talent. The boy must have been worth several million at one stage. How do you pish that much money away and up living back in a council house in such a short space of time?Quite simple, if that's where you have come from then it's easy to go back Link to comment
Boooooth Posted June 10, 2014 Share Posted June 10, 2014 Losing money left, right and centre http://metro.co.uk/2014/05/02/disabled-pensioner-88-in-court-for-punching-council-official-who-banned-him-from-seeing-prostitute-4716832/ 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted June 10, 2014 Share Posted June 10, 2014 Losing money left, right and centre http://metro.co.uk/2014/05/02/disabled-pensioner-88-in-court-for-punching-council-official-who-banned-him-from-seeing-prostitute-4716832/Cannot believe that thing is only 31 It does actually look a little bit like Gary O'connor in a ginger wig as well. Desperate times indeed Link to comment