It would be justice,

daytripping

Banning them from owning a pet is probably about right in my opinion, although I'd probably insist on some kind of psychiatric evaluation of those responsible. If they're found to be mentally competent I'd go along with a very short jail term in addition, no longer than a month.

Can't bring myself to read link but by reading posters comments I get the jist. Have gave my dog an extra wee cuddle just because. He looked at me like that wasn't necessary but thanks none the less. That's the difference between dogs and humans. If I were to wake up my wife just now with a big cuddle she would probably just give me a mouthful of abuse about how she is up for work at 6 and I have ruined her sleep. Dogs are great

I'd happily shoot the fuckers. And anyone else that inflicts needless pain and suffering onto a defencless being. They're not worthy of the oxygen they breathe. I have never and will never understand why humans think they have more right to be on this earth than other beings. I've said it before and I'll say it again. Humans are cunts.

And I'd think the ban on keeping animals is to protect animals in future rather than punish the culprits.

I'd happily shoot the fuckers. And anyone else that inflicts needless pain and suffering onto a defencless being. They're not worthy of the oxygen they breathe. I have never and will never understand why humans think they have more right to be on this earth than other beings. I've said it before and I'll say it again. Humans are cunts.

And I'd think the ban on keeping animals is to protect animals in future rather than punish the culprits.

Does that extend to eating meat etc?

Not coming the cunt, genuine question.

It's a fair question Bobo. For me it doesn't have a black and white answer. I'm nae a vegetarian. I never have been. But there's a difference between inflicting pain and suffering because you're a sick fuck who enjoys it/are lazy and between those who eat meat. I think meat eaters have a responsibility to try and ensure that the meat they're buying comes from reputable farms (and also is free range and/or organic) so that the animals' suffering is minimised. Most of us don't need to hunt for food anymore (barring remote tribes etc) and hunting for fun is absolutely barabric and a ridiculous waste of life. If everyone suddently turned vegetarian there'd be countless worthless (financially) animals out there.

To be fair, if humans didn't adopt the attitude of being superior then they wouldn't last

This might arguably have been true 100,000 years ago but not now. It's mankind's (nae the wrestler) thirst for blood and stupid outdated beliefs that's the problem rather than a feeling of superiority.

I agree with you on the fact there's no need whatsover to be cruel to animals anymore, but adopting the attitude of being the superior species does still apply - we still have to control animals, killing off animals with disease for example which could threaten our existence.

Ok but that's a million miles away from being cruel for the sake of being cruel which is what I have a real problem with.

There's no grey area between humans and animals. My philosophy is that human life is way more important than animal life on a one to one basis, and I mean 'animal life' as anything non-human.

A simple rule of thumb to test that philosophy is if there's a burning house, and in the house is a child and a dog... which do you save if you can only save one? *

One thing that grips my shite is when people elevate their pets to the same status as a human being. Going so far as to refer to a dog as 'My kid'.

I [edit] nearly got into it when we were putting the wife's dog to sleep. I used the word 'destroy' in reference to them killing the dog, and the vet turns on me and says, pretty fucking angrily, "We don't use the word 'destroy' when referring to our kids."

Now given the wife was already pretty upset I chose not to get into it with the silly cunt of a vet, but to have some tit argue semantics over the killing of a sick animal made me pretty fucking angry in my head.

Either way, unwarranted cruelty to an animal should probably be dealt with by a psychiatric evaluation, because if someone gets enjoyment out of torturing an animal then it's not a huge leap of logic to assume they'd probably enjoy hurting people too.

I'm not going to get hysterical and call for the castration/execution of people who hurt animals, though...

* This rule of thumb doesn't extend to Rangers supporters... obviously you save the dog.

There's no grey area between humans and animals. My philosophy is that human life is way more important than animal life on a one to one basis, and I mean 'animal life' as anything non-human.

A simple rule of thumb to test that philosophy is if there's a burning house, and in the house is a child and a dog... which do you save if you can only save one? *

One thing that grips my shite is when people elevate their pets to the same status as a human being. Going so far as to refer to a dog as 'My kid'.

I [edit] nearly got into it when we were putting the wife's dog to sleep. I used the word 'destroy' in reference to them killing the dog, and the vet turns on me and says, pretty fucking angrily, "We don't use the word 'destroy' when referring to our kids."

Now given the wife was already pretty upset I chose not to get into it with the silly cunt of a vet, but to have some tit argue semantics over the killing of a sick animal made me pretty fucking angry in my head.

Either way, unwarranted cruelty to an animal should probably be dealt with by a psychiatric evaluation, because if someone gets enjoyment out of torturing an animal then it's not a huge leap of logic to assume they'd probably enjoy hurting people too.

I'm not going to get hysterical and call for the castration/execution of people who hurt animals, though...

* This rule of thumb doesn't extend to Rangers supporters... obviously you save the dog.

Is the kid ginger? Is the kid ugly? Is the kid a ned? What football team does the kid support? Does the kid have a Man Utd top? Has the kid wronged me in any way? All questions I'd have to consider before making a decision like that.

You're showing a real lack of understanding here, Kelt min. I'm going to guess you've not had many pets during your life time? Or certainly not during your childhood. Fair enough but the bond is stronger than you clearly realise. The vet you irked is obviously passionate (and sensitive) about animals judging be her reaction. My experience with vets is different. I've found them almost too blunt at times but I realised that she was still only thinking about the welfare of our poor dug.

And I disagree with you regarding the human life being "way more important". I just don't think it is. If anything we're the ones who actually don't deserve the planet we've got. We're the ones that abuse the fuck out of it. So there's maybe an argument to us being less important? I da ken but I definitely think that animals need more rights.

The definition of "humane" is ironic given that humans are the cruellest species on earth and that they are the only species of life that kills other beings for reasons other than food, takes pleasure in various blood sports and has gone to great lengths to invent such complex tools and methods of inflicting pain and the maximum amount of pain possible at that. See the brazen bull or the pear of anguish.

Humans are shite.