rossafc92 Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 Yet again there's talk all over twitter this evening about the apparent singing of inappropriate songs by Dons fans after a visit to Celtic Park. Was the same in November and February. I was at both those games but not today. On the two previous visits, some of the alleged songs were 'sung' by a handful of fans. Others (the more 'offensive'), weren't. Not sure if same applies today having not been there, of course. What's really annoyed me in this latest episode of Celtic fans claiming Dons fans were singing inappropriate songs is what Alex O'Henley, the lead commentator for BBC Alba and UEFA correspondent for Scotland, came out with on twitter tonight. Alex O'Henley @OHenleyAlex 41mDons fans, do yourselves a favour and don't sing the Famine Song or songs about Brown's sister. Lot of goodwill towards you, why ruin it? Many Dons fans at today's game replied to him saying they didn't hear such songs. Became pretty obvious that he was basing this off assumption from hearing the tune of the Famine song when he tweeted this in response to myself: Ross McNicol @rossmcnicol 33m@OHenleyAlex shame that you assume famine song was being sung just because it was the same tune. assumptions like these part of the problem. Alex O'Henley @OHenleyAlex 31m@rossmcnicol best avoided Ross McNicol @rossmcnicol 30m@OHenleyAlex lots of clubs' fans sing songs to that tune though. lazy attitude if we think best way to tackle issue is to stop use of tune rather than people's lack of understanding over it. Alex O'Henley @OHenleyAlex 28m@rossmcnicol you're better than that. Rise above it. Surely the part of the problem in this country regarding the singing of inappropriate songs at the football is as much down to false reporting such as this as the actual singing of it? Got into a conversation with a Celtic fan about this, and got a belter of a tweet from him: Tim @ray_mcc 24m@rossmcnicol I have an Don fan on my TL admitting to one FFs Celtic fans sing IRA songs but at least we have the balls to admit what we sing So seemingly to this chap it's ok to sing inappropriate songs if you admit it. Incredible. Have we become entangled in this issue because we genuinely do sing such songs en masse? (I know that we don't.) Or are there some Celtic fans wanting to create friction with the absence of the other arse cheek? It's infuriating, especially when we have journalist working on assumption, tarring all fans with the same brush. I realise that briPod has pointed out that there were a group of fans singing about Brown's late sister. Again, small group of people. Can't be more than 5 if it's the RDS idiots? O'Henley reporting it like it was the entire support. Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 We all go to fitba, we hear songs we don't like the meaning of, whether they come from your own support or the opposition. Why greet and moan about them? If they're sung by your own lot, don't join in! Our game is tribal. The attitudes of the supporters, like the fortunes of our clubs can change, not overnight but they do.The media likes to stoke things up then proclaim their abhorrence when their planned reaction occurs. jigot, a diet hun. (Aye fucking right) Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted May 4, 2014 Author Share Posted May 4, 2014 We all go to fitba, we hear songs we don't like the meaning of, whether they come from your own support or the opposition. Why greet and moan about them? If they're sung by your own lot, don't join in! Our game is tribal. The attitudes of the supporters, like the fortunes of our clubs can change, not overnight but they do.The media likes to stoke things up then proclaim their abhorrence when their planned reaction occurs. jigot, a diet hun. (Aye fucking right) I know, and now deeply regret wasting a bit of my evening engaging with a few idiots on twitter about it! Just amazes me why we have journalists jumping in out with their official capacity like O'Henley tonight. Stoking things up for the sake of stories to report on isn't his thing. I'm sure he's one of the ones who wishes the problem was eradicated, yet here he was being part of it coming out with stuff like that on twitter without being able to back it up at all. Suppose that's where most of my frustration lies. But it seems to have really cranked up between Celtic and Dons fans this season, and find it interesting as to why that might be. Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I have sung every offensive song out there when it comes to the old firm, I don't now because i'm too old but I have no problem with the young guys doing it, its just a song at the end of the day, they're designed to wind them up and it works. Ibrox disaster, famine song, chicken supper, fill your boots, it's a 90 minute thing, no one means it. I've never shagged a sheep in my life, does it offend me they sing I do?? hardly. 6 Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 It was my bus load that sung the disaster song through the minutes silence at Ibrox years ago, felt sorry for the people who took the fall, fucking EE. The whole thing was planned in the Albion an hour before the game, the idea came from a lad who is sadly no longer with us. I thought we were going to be lynched outside, the hatred could have been cut with a knife that day. Was a good laugh at the time I thought. Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I know, and now deeply regret wasting a bit of my evening engaging with a few idiots on twitter about it! Just amazes me why we have journalists jumping in out with their official capacity like O'Henley tonight. Stoking things up for the sake of stories to report on isn't his thing. I'm sure he's one of the ones who wishes the problem was eradicated, yet here he was being part of it coming out with stuff like that on twitter without being able to back it up at all. Suppose that's where most of my frustration lies. But it seems to have really cranked up between Celtic and Dons fans this season, and find it interesting as to why that might be. It's because the original half of the recipe to sell papers is no more and never will be.The media need to find a surrogate for their agenda. If The Hearts weren't a stonewaller of going down this thread would not have been, just like the the rangers. I have sung every offensive song out there when it comes to the old firm, I don't now because i'm too old but I have no problem with the young guys doing it, its just a song at the end of the day, they're designed to wind them up and it works. Ibrox disaster, famine song, chicken supper, fill your boots, it's a 90 minute thing, no one means it. I've never shagged a sheep in my life, does it offend me they sing I do?? hardly.Exactly, dayts. After every game, I go home, still loving my club, apart from the OF scumfucks. I bare nae malice to every other team's supporter.In fact I applaud every supporter, even a Hivs supporter, for not being a fucking welt. Link to comment
jassb Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Aaawww. Poor Celtic fans. Upset by a few songs. 1 Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Aaawww. Poor Celtic fans. Upset by a few songs.Ironic eh? Considering the songs they sing. See, the way I see it, the OF ball bags sing songs about events that occurred in another country 300 hundred years ago ffs. The The rangers demise will help the eradication of this disease as long as we other clubs don't take the bait of the media..If the rest of the clubs supporters don't bite and the cancer is still prevalent at Parkhead, then the only solution is to carry out a life or death operation. Cut out the Tumor and throw it in the bucket, double bagged so there is no chance of relapse.FTOF 7 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Is this what Celtic fans are mockraged about this week? Celtic fans support terrorist organisations, ergo they can NEVER lecture Aberdeen fans on any subject at any time. Because they're terrorist-supporting scum. Wonder what next weeks mockrage will be about... it's hard to keep up. Link to comment
Dusk( 2 Stars )Don Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Antony Stokes Belfast Leigh Griffins EdinburghNeil Lennon Glasgow/BelfastJoin the dots , i could not give a flying fuck what they think ?Aberdeen - Nice place really Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I don't even know what the tune to the Famine Song is, let alone any of the words. Wrong fucking country (and I've been called a bigot for saying that FFS) Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Antony Stokes Belfast Leigh Griffins EdinburghNeil Lennon Glasgow/BelfastJoin the dots , i could not give a flying fuck what they think ?Aberdeen - Nice place really Keep Edinburgh oot o yer figurins oot. The Thumb comes fae Leith. Like any other place in Scotland, Aberdeen will indeed be bonnie but only if the sun doth shine. Apart fae the likes o the weege and south lanarkshire, fuck it,, north anna Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I don't even know what the tune to the Famine Song is, let alone any of the words. Wrong fucking country (and I've been called a bigot for saying that FFS)A bigot for saying the wrong country? Cunts that accuse ye of that need to fuck off to thon country! Link to comment
BillyStarkDivinHeeder Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 It was my bus load that sung the disaster song through the minutes silence at Ibrox years ago, felt sorry for the people who took the fall, fucking EE. The whole thing was planned in the Albion an hour before the game, the idea came from a lad who is sadly no longer with us. I thought we were going to be lynched outside, the hatred could have been cut with a knife that day. Was a good laugh at the time I thought. Excellent work, sir. I was watching on TV and thought it was fucking hilarious. Link to comment
AndrewW Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I like the famine song. In that it is not really offensive and it's more of a critique of Celtic fans love affair with Ireland during the days of the free movement of labour within the EU so they can move and live there. But to explain that in a song would be difficult. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I've been known to sing the odd offensive ditty in my time. If you don't like it, close your ears. Link to comment
zander Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Probably the same people who laugh at guys like Frankie Boyle on the TV. Always the victims. Why is it only the weegie clubs who give a fuck about shit like this. Link to comment
Henry Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I don't even know what the tune to the Famine Song is, let alone any of the words. The tune goes to Sloop John B. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Glasgow's a shithole, I wanna go home. That's the song in question. 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 not any songs about Celtic not voting (until it didnt matter) their former bossom buddies down? Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Sorry guys. Young or old there's a line. Taking the piss from CFC's love affair with Sevco. This side. Taking the piss from CFC's Oirishness. This side Taking the piss of their general scouselike victimhood This side. Brown's sister? Thousands dying in a famine? Jesus fuck, most certainly the other side of the line. No defence (a bit like yesterday). Having preached that lecture though now that someone has told me the song, I can genuinely say I've never heard the famine song? Definitely can't be getting sung in the posh seats! I'd caution on the same song different lyrics line too. You'll walk straight into the sectarian song battle currently raging between both sides of the victimised OF support and Glesga polis at the moment. 1 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 End of the day Celtic are in no position to claim any moral high ground. Terrorist sympathising fucks. 2 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I blame the former RDU mongoloid troupe. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 End of the day Celtic are in no position to claim any moral high ground. Terrorist sympathising fucks. Correct, and we have no need to stoop to their level. 1 Link to comment
nh7740 Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Hard hat on but here goes,i personally hate when songs like the one about Browns sister and about the ibrox disaster are sung.Im all for having a laugh and a go at the opposition but this is way too personal and not for "havin a laugh about. My fathers friend lost his two teenage cousins at the ibrox disaster so to here folk singing about it is too personal for me. Brown is just a young man who will still grieve for his sister and miss her greatly.The famine song if im right refers to the irish potato famine which happened between 1846-1852 , a very long time ago a nobody has a recent connection to the event.Proud to follow Aberdeen to games but have to say I cringe and really hate when the recent personal songs are sung.nh7740 5 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 What happened to Scott Browns sister like? Never even heard the story. Was she afflicted with his looks - I fuckin' hope not.They can fuck of with complaints about offensive songs, they're in the top 2 clubs in the world for shitey songs. 2 Link to comment
jassb Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Who goes a fuck what weegies say about us anyway? Link to comment
minijc Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 It was "Where's your sister gone" to the tune of chirpy chirpy cheep cheep. The shaved ape and his cohorts.Different, there are a couple of others too. Link to comment
nh7740 Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 It was "Where's your sister gone" to the tune of chirpy chirpy cheep cheep. The shaved ape and his cohorts.His sister was 21 when she died of cancer. Struggling to find anything funny or worth singing about in that. And yes I dislike celtic and they stand for as much as any one but you have to draw a line....... Link to comment