tommo1903 Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 I got an £85 fine through from the car park operator that runs Morrisons. Its due today, I'm probably not going to pay it today. Am I in trouble? Link to comment
beer gut Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 If its not from the police or council ignore it. I got one for parking in e COOP car park. It got binned. So did the reminder. Never heard back. They are not enforceable in Scotland. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted May 30, 2014 Author Share Posted May 30, 2014 Aye, I think that will be my course of action. Link to comment
360 Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 Don't pay it If it's from a parking company and is technically an invoice Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted May 30, 2014 Author Share Posted May 30, 2014 Thats what I have been reading. Martin Lewis (money saving expert) advised the same. Link to comment
pwtredz Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 got one from morrisons as well, when the cup was presented at the toons hoose.file it under G for get tae fuck !hope this helps Link to comment
Localfitbafan Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 I got one as well from them. I emailed the company asking for more details, made up some BS that I share the car so I needed more info to determine when and what / if any offence had taken place. Also told them I would ignore all future correspondence until they gave me the info. Heard nothing for about 4 weeks and then got an email saying they had cancelled the charge and that I had nothing to pay so they clearly can't enforce anything Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 I got an £85 fine through from the car park operator that runs Morrisons. Its due today, I'm probably not going to pay it today. Am I in trouble?Serves you right for not shopping in Montrose. There's local shops shutting all the time coz of the likes of you. Link to comment
jassb Posted May 30, 2014 Share Posted May 30, 2014 I got an £85 fine through from the car park operator that runs Morrisons. Its due today, I'm probably not going to pay it today. Am I in trouble?Pay up quick or you'll have some debt recovery company knocking. And if you don't answer them, they'll repo your car. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted May 31, 2014 Share Posted May 31, 2014 These charges are not enforceable in Scotland Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 31, 2014 Share Posted May 31, 2014 These charges are not enforceable in Scotland He hasn't said where he got the fine. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 2, 2014 Author Share Posted June 2, 2014 Serves you right for not shopping in Montrose.There's local shops shutting all the time coz of the likes of you. I didn't shop there. I only ever shop in Tesco (Montrose), keeping local shops alive. Pay up quick or you'll have some debt recovery company knocking. And if you don't answer them, they'll repo your car.How will the repo my car if I don't answer? They would have to confirm that i am me. I'll tell them I'm someone else. Link to comment
Tyrant Posted June 2, 2014 Share Posted June 2, 2014 Ignore jassb. All they can do is try and scaremonger you into paying. They'll give up eventually. I got one about 18 months ago. I was annoyed because I wasn't illegally parked. But I didn't pay it and they changed between threats of court action and offers of reduced amounts to try and tempt me into paying. I've not heard from them since. What annoys me is that the DVLA are so fucking quick to give up all your details to any random "company". Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted June 2, 2014 Share Posted June 2, 2014 its crazy to think people actually pay these fines! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 2, 2014 Share Posted June 2, 2014 Ignore jassb. All they can do is try and scaremonger you into paying. They'll give up eventually. I got one about 18 months ago. I was annoyed because I wasn't illegally parked. But I didn't pay it and they changed between threats of court action and offers of reduced amounts to try and tempt me into paying. I've not heard from them since. What annoys me is that the DVLA are so fucking quick to give up all your details to any random "company".You should go down to the DVLA with a load of Super Glue and a load of dildos. We all know the rest. You write an angry note and come back up the road with the Super Glue and dildos. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 26, 2014 Share Posted June 26, 2014 Just got one of them bus lane charges through the post. the picture shows me going into the lane maybe 15 feet before the arrow says it's ok. Has anyone successfully contested one of these? I'm not going all Millertime about this, I understand even 1 metre over is illegal, just wondered if anyone has had any luck? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 26, 2014 Share Posted June 26, 2014 Just got one of them bus lane charges through the post. the picture shows me going into the lane maybe 15 feet before the arrow says it's ok. Has anyone successfully contested one of these? I'm not going all Millertime about this, I understand even 1 metre over is illegal, just wondered if anyone has had any luck?Were you driving a bus at the time of the photograph Poodler min? If you were then I'd definitely contest it. Check the times as well. You might be jammy enough to have been in during an aloud period. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 Were you driving a bus at the time of the photograph Poodler min? If you were then I'd definitely contest it. Check the times as well. You might be jammy enough to have been in during an aloud period. You could appeal, it would maybe noise them up. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 I'll certainly be vocal in my opposition. I'll let you know if I hear anything back Link to comment