Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Seems that he has written another book but this time nothing to do with the ASC other than there seems to be fighting involved. Always thought his book was pretty well written and presumably accurate and honest. Wonder what this is like, seems to be a bit sci-fi, possibly based on too much Xbox time, but could be a fun read or total pish. http://jayallanwrites.blogspot.co.uk Am still waiting on Kelts book although his creative peak may have already passed. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Am still waiting on Kelts book although his creative peak may have already passed. Reported. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Lazy! You wait till I've developed a debilitating gin habit, fucker. Then you'll see the pages fly off the printer. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 You wait till I've developed a debilitating gin habit, fucker. Then you'll see the pages fly off the printer. Get on with it then. I'm sure gin is readily available in the states. Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 I remember reading Bloody Casuals and thinking it was terribly written.You have to be a bit retarded to think pastel jumpers and street dancing equates to halcyon days. 2 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 I remember reading Bloody Casuals and thinking it was terribly written.You have to be a bit retarded to think pastel jumpers and street dancing equates to halcyon days. I don't think Mr Allan was a student of English Lit, but Bloody Casuals is a fascinating look into 'Yob Culture', even though it's likely fabricated in large part. I'm still waiting for the audio edition. Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 I don't think Mr Allan was a student of English Lit, but Bloody Casuals is a fascinating look into 'Yob Culture', even though it's likely fabricated in large part. I'm still waiting for the audio edition. Well I did read it along with a few other books on that subject. I did think Among The Thugs by Bill Buford was very well put together.You have to be a special kind of person to get involved with that kind of culture though. Special needs. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 was it the first football book of it's type? Aberdeen leading the way again with another first. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Bloody casuals is rubbish Me and my middle class mates could tell more rock n roll stories than he fdid Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 I have my copy somewhere and it was given to me by a Man United fan when I was working in Salford in 1999. Well, it was lent to me but I kept it. The first of it's type so pretty influential. Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 I don't think Mr Allan was a student of English Lit, but Bloody Casuals is a fascinating look into 'Yob Culture', even though it's likely fabricated in large part. I'm still waiting for the audio edition. Bloody casuals was so good because it didn't stretch the truth like so many books in this genre, I was present at almost all the events in the book (outwith the prison chapter ) and can vouch for Jay, legend of his time, from the casuals through to his raves, everything was always done with a touch of class. Great halycon days, no longer did people stand by and let our City be overran and destroyed by the old firm tinks, non football people avoided the town centre like the plague when either of them were up here, we then took it to them in their own back yard. These days you won't see a single one on Union street on match days, job done. It wasn't just us, it was a whole youth culture movement, sadly the youth of today are too wrapped up in computer games to ever invent a casual/acid house/rave culture of their own, I was proud to be part of it, didn't realise at the time granted that I was part of one. Fatjim hates it all yet has read all the books, I sense some jealousy. Me and my pastel jumper were there Jim, because of us you can now go to matches without the fear of trouble, no need for thanks, just buy me a beer some time. 3 Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 It is dated if you read it these days but at the time was a classic. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Has to be said...it was more a pamphlet than a novel... Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 It's good because it wasn't jumping on a bandwagon and is just an honest account. It doesn't glorify anything and he shows his shame for being an idiot but no real huge apology for it. All the films that have tried to recount it seem like balls and the hardman is laughable but I was just a bairn in the 80s and that is where we got our fashion sense from. Casual. Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Fatjim hates it all yet has read all the books, I sense some jealousy. Me and my pastel jumper were there Jim, because of us you can now go to matches without the fear of trouble, no need for thanks, just buy me a beer some time. I read them because I was interested in the psychology of it. Bill Buford's book focuses on that in a better way. I wouldn't say I hate it all. I certainly never felt any fear of trouble. thinking people are idiots and hating them are two completely different things.In some ways you and your ilk made it more frightening for some people. If anything I kind of enjoyed watching a bunch of idiots running back and forth at each other and dancing. Then being chased off by the police. It amused me and the one thing I will say for casuals is if you generally weren't one you could easily stand and watch and not be involved. I never had such low self esteem that I felt the need to actually get involved as ultimately the whole thing was a futile activity. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Green Street Hooligans seems like the definitive account. ...and Green Street Hooligans 2. I think that one has Marina Sirtis in it, and she sounds Cockney. What I like about Green Street Hooligans 2: Stand Your Ground, is that pretty much everyone looks like a Mexicano Gang Member, straight outta Compton. And I DO remember that casuals at that time all looked like they came from South Side L.A, with the shaved heads and the prison muscles... that's what makes Green Street Hooligans 2: Stand Your Ground the go-to account of what I personally believe the casual movement was like. Exactly that. I also remember that fights definitely, definitely looked like the lads involved were all trained martial artists, rather than some young lads swinging the odd kick or punch at each other while shouting, "Cam On!" in a fake English accent... I definitely remember that. If there's a more realistic exposition of the Casual movement of the 80s than Green Street Hooligans 2: Stand Your Ground, featuring a dude who played a Hobbit, then I haven't seen it. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 Another blow for those who believe sarcasm isn't a legitimate art form. Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Green Street Hooligans seems like the definitive account. ...and Green Street Hooligans 2. I think that one has Marina Sirtis in it, and she sounds Cockney. What I like about Green Street Hooligans 2: Stand Your Ground, is that pretty much everyone looks like a Mexicano Gang Member, straight outta Compton. And I DO remember that casuals at that time all looked like they came from South Side L.A, with the shaved heads and the prison muscles... that's what makes Green Street Hooligans 2: Stand Your Ground the go-to account of what I personally believe the casual movement was like. Exactly that. I also remember that fights definitely, definitely looked like the lads involved were all trained martial artists, rather than some young lads swinging the odd kick or punch at each other while shouting, "Cam On!" in a fake English accent... I definitely remember that. If there's a more realistic exposition of the Casual movement of the 80s than Green Street Hooligans 2: Stand Your Ground, featuring a dude who played a Hobbit, then I haven't seen it. Jesus that looks fucking awful. I watched the first one. It did seem to be based on a lot of Among The Thugs. Albeit an American running with a bunch of retarded thugs. The one thing you seem to notice about casuals is their inflated sense of importance. They honestly believe that they are someone but to the majority they were just a nuisance. The belief that they made a difference and it was all for a just cause but the reality was it was all for themselves and their ego. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 Haha! Are you for real? That is what it would be like in Hollywood and, to be dead honest I would love to see Daytripping lamp some Hun cunt Hollywood style. I would pay to get into it. Now back to the real world where it's just normal guys throwing their arms around... Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 As Jay says in the book, many people question why people do it, professors wrote huge white papers examining it all, the real reason that most people said was it was fucking magic fun, I'd go along with that, meeting a load of mates at 7am in the rail station and setting out for a day of drinking and mayhem at Hibs, gotta be better than playing COD in your bedroom?? As Danny Dyer put it .... What else are you gonna do on a Saturday? Sit in your fuckin' armchair wankin' off to Pop Idols? Then try and avoid your wife's gaze as you struggle to come to terms with your sexless marriage? Then go and spunk your wages on kebabs, fruit machines and brasses? Fuck that for a laugh! I know what I'd rather do. Tottenham away — love it! Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 That made chuckle. That is great!! hahaha Kelt roll out the introductions video. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted June 27, 2014 Author Share Posted June 27, 2014 Orientation Video. http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=27821 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 27, 2014 Share Posted June 27, 2014 Orientation Video. http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=27821 Ironically, I can't watch it because it's blocked in this country. Have this gif instead. Link to comment
Henry Posted June 28, 2014 Share Posted June 28, 2014 Bloody casuals is rubbishMe and my middle class mates could tell more rock n roll stories than he fdid 3 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted June 28, 2014 Share Posted June 28, 2014 Dayts do you know Mav or someone of that ilk...claims he is a casual but I dispute it. I've heard stories of him being a nut job and stabbing folk but he continues to churn out the line 'Aberdeen Casual'. London guy with tattoos all over his face. Literally tattoos all over his face. 45 odd and a bappit bastard. Says he is Millwall also. Trying to dispel the myth that he's a casual which he tells EVERY ONE in our bar. Cunts getting boring now.Maff used to drink in the 524 when I used to frequent it years ago. Can't recall ever seeing him at an Aberdeen game, home or away. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted June 28, 2014 Share Posted June 28, 2014 Dayts do you know Mav or someone of that ilk...claims he is a casual but I dispute it.I've heard stories of him being a nut job and stabbing folk but he continues to churn out the line 'Aberdeen Casual'. London guy with tattoos all over his face. Literally tattoos all over his face.45 odd and a bappit bastard. Says he is Millwall also.Trying to dispel the myth that he's a casual which he tells EVERY ONE in our bar. Cunts getting boring now.I've met him, he's nae the most stable of folk but I didnae mind him. Think he actually was a casual at some point, unfortunately he's stuck in the past trying to re-live the glory days of his youth. Anyone seen ID, always thought that and The Football Factory were decent attempts at the fitba casual scene Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted June 28, 2014 Share Posted June 28, 2014 Maff's a bit of a twat. Also know him from the 524 years ago. He used to have Millwall tattooed across his forehead. Got it covered over because of the hidings he was getting. Had to rescue him from a random hiding in the street once too about ten years ago. Take everything and anything he says with a shovel of salt.Never seen him at Pittodrie. Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted June 28, 2014 Share Posted June 28, 2014 I don't think Mr Allan was a student of English Lit, but Bloody Casuals is a fascinating look into 'Yob Culture', even though it's likely fabricated in large part. I'm still waiting for the audio edition.It's been years since I read Bloody Casuals so I've thought quite hard, but I've got to say, apart from a couple of sentences of reported dialogue that clearly were never said e.g better keep a clear head, it is Celtic away after all' or some such nonsense, 99.9% of what Jay wrote was true, and not fabricated. I know, because I was there. Link to comment