Police Stotting About With Handguns

Highland council are raging and trying to put a stop to it. Police have been in the McDonald's across the river from me carrying firearms. How does that happen without the public getting a say in it? What's the worst that can happen in McDonald's in Inverness!?

You lose your receipt before you're able to file it at home?

Nor are they going to discuss it either according to the Northern Times:

http://www.northern-times.co.uk/News/No-going-back-on-gun-decision-say-police-02072014.htm

Further, what they say to the councilors is off limits to most of the media: are they really public servants FFS?

http://www.northern-times.co.uk/News/Police-Scotland-ban-media-from-gun-briefing-01072014.htm

These types of story are proof positive for me that most police were bullied at school or whatever and want to take their revenge on society by hiding behind a uniform and as that wasn't enough, now they've gotta carry shooters as wiel to feel important.

My uncle was in the police for over 20+ years after leaving the army so I know [as far as I can from listening to him] that there are both good and bad coppers, but this is ridiculous. Guns are for villains or for the police when an armed police response is actually required.

Highland council are raging and trying to put a stop to it. Police have been in the McDonald's across the river from me carrying firearms. How does that happen without the public getting a say in it? What's the worst that can happen in McDonald's in Inverness!?

Do you think they were patrolling McDonald's, or buying lunch?

I don't really see the fuss to be honest. It's not every cop that's carrying them, only a fraction. I know they don't only get used for incidents where people are carrying guns.

They've been wearing them in the old strathclyde area for a while now, didn't result in an increase in criminals carrying guns, as one paper hysterically put it.

Do you think they were patrolling McDonald's, or buying lunch?

I don't really see the fuss to be honest. It's not every cop that's carrying them, only a fraction. I know they don't only get used for incidents where people are carrying guns.

They've been wearing them in the old strathclyde area for a while now, didn't result in an increase in criminals carrying guns, as one paper hysterically put it.

Slippery slope?

If it stops rapists I'm all for it. ;)

Is it not just the case that the guys trained in Firearms now carry them as opposed to having to fuck off back to base to get them first if it all kicks off over a bacon and egg Mcmuffin?

Seem to recall that's the change. Only a select few are firearm certified and I believe they now carry them. Seems wise instead of maybe a 15-20 mile trip to get tooled up.

Strathclyde and the Grampian region are different. I surely don't have to explain why.

Someday soon a copper is going to shoot someone because he/she wants to, not because they have to.

This will further diminish people's view of the police - which is wrong.

That's the fuss aboot the fuzz.

Strathclyde and the Grampian region are different. I surely don't have to explain why.

Someday soon a copper is going to shoot someone because he/she wants to, not because they have to.

That's happened already.

From what I've seen, British cops don't have the competency to be allowed to carry guns.

A fucking whistle and a wee bat are probably too much responsibility for the British Bobby.

That's happened already.

From what I've seen, British cops don't have the competency to be allowed to carry guns.

A fucking whistle and a wee bat are probably too much responsibility for the British Bobby.

The coppers up here are not that bad. I got done a couple of weeks back for not having an MOT and it was a fair cop with the simple understanding that I was pushing my luck and got caught. I do not want anyone, copper or otherwise wandering around Inverness with a handgun. You must bear in mind that a lot of the rest of the world are going around their business with a very low IQ and an even lower sense of humour. It's a formula for disaster for loud, outspoken, sarcastic cunts like me.

Trust me, my gob has landed me in some fairly sticky situations... and that's not a euphemism for finding myself having to suck the cock of a fat, belligerent Russian sailor outside The Venue after losing a bet involving vodka and a spider monkey.

I think the lack of competency either comes from insufficient training.. and blowing the heid off a subdued Brazilian student who's handcuffed on the floor of a tube train suggests a lack of proper training... or it's a more sinister psychological thing, which might be the manifestation of arming a uniformed thug who believes he can get away, literally, with murder.

I would like to think it's the former lack of training, rather than the latter uniformed sociopath with a handgun.

Proper training would be a good start, because every time hear of an incident involving cops with guns it usually ends with, "wrongly identified suspect died at the scene." Proper training and a comprehensive, independent, psychological evaluation... not just for the armed cops but for the whole fucking lot of them.

Send them to Detroit for 6 months so they can see what a gun culture is really like, that'll maybe cool their fucking jets when it comes to pulling a trigger.

Jesus fucking wept!

"More than 40,000 guns are owned in the Highlands where gun ownership per head is one of the highest in Scotland."

Aye, it's for the benefit of Pheasants who have been the poor innocent victims of so many Highland drive by shootings...

I would fucking love to send these fucking politicians running across a field getting picked off one at a time in slow motion. Cunts.

If it stops rapists I'm all for it. ;)

Is it not just the case that the guys trained in Firearms now carry them as opposed to having to fuck off back to base to get them first if it all kicks off over a bacon and egg Mcmuffin?

Seem to recall that's the change. Only a select few are firearm certified and I believe they now carry them. Seems wise instead of maybe a 15-20 mile trip to get tooled up.[/quote

Correct

Explain the difference...

Get to fuck! The difference is the same as the difference between Bad Boys 2 and Postman Pat. Don't be obtuse.

He said Grampian and strathclyde. Not the the wee twee highlands. Which has massive amounts of guns btw.

For your info, the old strathclyde council area is made up of more than glasgow. You fanny

Jesus fucking wept!

"More than 40,000 guns are owned in the Highlands where gun ownership per head is one of the highest in Scotland."

Aye, it's for the benefit of Pheasants who have been the poor innocent victims of so many Highland drive by shootings...

I would fucking love to send these fucking politicians running across a field getting picked off one at a time in slow motion. Cunts.

I assume it's a combo of teuchy fermers who have shotguns and chinless Nigels popping off at various indigenous wildlife.

Sounds about right... but since neither fermers nor Chinless Nigels are exactly known for drive by shootings or blasting at each other following a shady drug deal gone south, I'd say Invernesian coppers really don't need firearms to control the locals.

No they don't. That's not the point. The point is that the existing trained firearms police carry their gun instead of keeping it locked up in a safe back at the station.

It's a very small % of police that are allowed a firearm. It makes sense to have it on you rather than keep it possibly 20 miles away.

Put it this way. You have a gun for home security. Would you keep it in your house or underneath the trampoline locked in a box out the back garden?

I'm not defending the police one bit but this makes sense.