looksgoodinred Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 http://online.wsj.com/articles/what-corporate-climbers-can-teach-us-1404862389?mod=WSJ_hp_RightTopStories Every office full of ambitious people has them. And we have all worked with at least one—the co-worker with an inexplicable ability to rise in the ranks."How do they do it?" we may ask ourselves or whisper to friends at work. They don't have more experience. They don't seem that brilliant.But such co-workers may possess a dose of one of the personality traits that psychologists call the "dark triad": manipulativeness, a tendency to influence others for selfish gain; narcissism, a profound self-centeredness; or an antisocial personality, lacking in empathy or concern for others. These traits are well-known for the bad behavior that they can cause when dominant in people's personalities. At milder levels, however, they can actually foster skills that can help people rise through the ranks.Researchers are increasingly studying the dark triad because it is "a well-organized framework for a big chunk of individual differences that are relatively unstudied, especially at work," says Seth M. Spain, lead author of the 2014 research review, and an assistant professor of organizational behaviour at Binghamton University, part of the State University of New York. Learning to spot the traits in employees can help employers improve their career paths through training and wise job assignments. the "dark triad". i'm working with a few of the manipulative genre. it just makes work life more difficult than it needs to be. and i wish they'd go elsewhere. but not likely any time soon. nice guys beware. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 I've been in the same job for 18 years, I'd hazard a guess I'm nae a dark triad. Link to comment
Henry Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 http://online.wsj.com/articles/what-corporate-climbers-can-teach-us-1404862389?mod=WSJ_hp_RightTopStories Every office full of ambitious people has them. And we have all worked with at least one—the co-worker with an inexplicable ability to rise in the ranks."How do they do it?" we may ask ourselves or whisper to friends at work. They don't have more experience. They don't seem that brilliant.But such co-workers may possess a dose of one of the personality traits that psychologists call the "dark triad": manipulativeness, a tendency to influence others for selfish gain; narcissism, a profound self-centeredness; or an antisocial personality, lacking in empathy or concern for others. This finally explains how Millertime became shift supervisor at the BT call centre. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 There has been quite a bit on Psychopathy recently. Traits like these are synonymous with being a physcopath. The out-dated views of phycopaths are that they are murderers, rapists and just generally insane people. However, many successful people are considered as physcopaths. There's a wee test here to see how you fare: http://psychopath.channel4.com/quizzes.htmlThis book is magnificent. http://books.google.co.uk/books/about/The_Psychopath_Test.html?id=XswUKz4IRmgC&redir_esc=y Link to comment
tup Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 I'm a cycle path.Maybe rumpus would be keen to ride you. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 no chance, I'm all cobbly like a tour de france stage, froome out haha! there was a cracking documentary about this, boy that was studying it found out he had the front of the brain problem, and then he found it all made sense. no wonder Gordon gekko's don't care about screwing people over. pal of mine worked for lehman when it went tits up. dick fuld telt them all everything's fine, while he's offloading like fuck. nothing left, no job, shares etc. capitalism at it's finest, another Scottish invention! Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 There's a wee test here to see how you fare: http://psychopath.channel4.com/quizzes.html 52% Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted July 9, 2014 Author Share Posted July 9, 2014 52% 39% Though your conscience is in the right place you also have a pragmatic streak and generally aren’t afraid to do your own dirty work! You’re no shrinking violet - but no daredevil either. You generally have little trouble seeing things from another person’s perspective but, at the same time, are no pushover. ‘Everything in moderation – including moderation’ might sum up your approach to life. Link to comment
jassb Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 You must be a fucking nutter dave min. I got 39%. Finally something in common with LGIR. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted July 9, 2014 Author Share Posted July 9, 2014 You must be a fucking nutter dave min. I got 39%. Finally something in common with LGIR. and the Dons! we both love the Dons Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 One place I worked years ago there was a lassie who fits the "dark triad" description well. Always really pally with someone a level or two above, would get the next promotion going despite there being people more experienced and much more suited for the jobr. Then she would stop being friendly with the people she was now on the same level as and dig her claws into someone on the next wrung of the ladder she thought would get her promoted. She got her most underserved promotion after spending a lot of time working closely with one of the directors, who had a reputation as a womaniser (and she was constantly flirting with guys in the office to try to get them to do her work for her). She got the promotion despite being shit at her job. Caused a lot of trouble, some people openly refused to work with her. Link to comment
dave_min Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 You must be a fucking nutter dave min. I got 39%. Finally something in common with LGIR. What's your fucking problem? Ootside. 1 Link to comment
jassb Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 What's your fucking problem? Ootside. I'll have to decline. Us 39%ers just bring peace and happiness. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 there's secret societies in Edinburgh for people in power, because their psychopathic tendencies can't be fulfilled merely by the mundane, their dark psyche needs quenched, so they get all "eyes wide shut", street people, no-one can do nothing because the police are in on it. goes far back, maybe a group with in a group in the masons. i'll go and turn the bathroom taps off now. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 What's your fucking problem? Ootside. Proper psychos don't get emotional. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted July 9, 2014 Author Share Posted July 9, 2014 79% Within the framework of clinical psychology, a psychopath is someone with a distinct cluster of personality traits including ruthlessness, fearlessness, narcissism, charm, charisma, impulsivity, persuasiveness, manipulation and a lack of conscience and empathy. Sure, these traits may well come in handy if you aspire to be an axe-murderer! But they can also come in handy in the courtroom, on the trading floor, or in the operating theatre. It just depends on what else you've got going on in your personality, and the start you get in life. At the sharp end you may well find your serial killers and axe murderers but, all of us have our place at some point along the continuum. Link to comment
dervish Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-28220312 Almost half of UK managers work an extra day of unpaid overtime per week, a study into working practices has suggested.Work pressures and easy access to email through smartphone technology leave over 90% of managers working outside contracted hours, the study found.Around 13% of managers work two days unpaid overtime per week, the Institute of Leadership and Management said. Haha bams. Link to comment
dervish Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 Also got 55%. Though a true phycopath would manipulate the result. Maybe at a push to 60% then lie about it, maybe take off 5%. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 21% Decent non risktaking salt of the earth sort. Easy prey for the psychos. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 One place I worked years ago there was a lassie who fits the "dark triad" description well. Always really pally with someone a level or two above, would get the next promotion going despite there being people more experienced and much more suited for the jobr. Then she would stop being friendly with the people she was now on the same level as and dig her claws into someone on the next wrung of the ladder she thought would get her promoted. She got her most underserved promotion after spending a lot of time working closely with one of the directors, who had a reputation as a womaniser (and she was constantly flirting with guys in the office to try to get them to do her work for her). She got the promotion despite being shit at her job. Caused a lot of trouble, some people openly refused to work with her.Have a boy like that at mine, major arselicker, but lazy fucker with immature personality who canna do his job worth shit. After a couple of frustrating years of trying to make the boss realise he's employed a total cunt, have decided to sit back and let him do it all by himself, it's funny as hell what with his "Always The Victim" mentality and tendency to over react to stuff..... Link to comment
Guest Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 58%. Disappointing. Thought I would have been more psychotic than that. Then again, as a hater of arse-lickers and a despiser of phoneys, I've still got some robust counter balances. Dutch people are fucking arses. Fife should be cleared of natives. Westminster is full of pricks. Fluffy kittens are kewett and the Napali Bhoona at the Light of Bengal is delightful. Alec Salmond is a penis. Dennis Pennis is ace. Link to comment
rumpus Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 And to add to the above; Rocket is a fud. 1 Link to comment
Guest Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 Do you say that about everyone who knows your character defects? Link to comment
rumpus Posted July 9, 2014 Share Posted July 9, 2014 How would you possibly know my character defects? I wouldn't know you supposing I spunked on your dog. Two sugars please, chop chop. Link to comment