Bobby Connor Posted July 18, 2014 Share Posted July 18, 2014 Competition closed now. Obviously only one winner. Just been watching some old clips on YouTube and this one vid sums up the difference. Maradona just had way more to his game in terms of contributing to the team, influencing the team and reading the game. For a coked up South American his vision was fantastic. He could also take a hit down to his physique and low centre of gravity. Still the best player the world has ever seen: http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MCj6fspxGZY 1 Link to comment
tup Posted July 18, 2014 Share Posted July 18, 2014 Yes he was miles better than Messi. However we must temper that with the admission that any number of other players then and now were not allowed to get away with blatant performance enhancing drug use. So its hard to say whether it was Diego himself or the purity of the coke that made him brilliant. 1 Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 18, 2014 Author Share Posted July 18, 2014 Yes he was miles better than Messi.However we must temper that with the admission that any number of other players then and now were not allowed to get away with blatant performance enhancing drug use.So its hard to say whether it was Diego himself or the purity of the coke that made him brilliant.If it's down to the purity of the coke then wtf happened to Colombia v Brazil? Cut with detergent? Link to comment
tup Posted July 18, 2014 Share Posted July 18, 2014 I reckon he was clearly out his skull at Mexico 86 which was when he really took off as being the world's best. The reason he signed for Napoli was because they were rare amongst European clubs in being able to facilitate the tolerance of his habit. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 18, 2014 Author Share Posted July 18, 2014 He probably was mildly out of his skull in Mexico but he was on a different planet in Italy 90. A testimony of the great benefits of cocaine. Absolute genius. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 18, 2014 Author Share Posted July 18, 2014 I'm just glad we can now finally put this debate to bed. Messi's lack of recreational drug taking has clearly limited his potential. Boy needs to find a dealer before it's too late. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 18, 2014 Share Posted July 18, 2014 Messi will be forgotten and working on a ferry for 400 quid a week in a few years, while Maradona will always be remembered as a genius. 1 Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 18, 2014 Author Share Posted July 18, 2014 There is football that happened after Pele and there is football that happened after Maradona. Just in a different class. You always long to see really game changing players but that's the two at the top level. Witnessing Maradona was my first real World Cup and. I just want to see that again. He was operating on a whole new level. 1 Link to comment
tutankamun Posted July 18, 2014 Share Posted July 18, 2014 Yes he was miles better than Messi.However we must temper that with the admission that any number of other players then and now were not allowed to get away with blatant performance enhancing drug use.So its hard to say whether it was Diego himself or the purity of the coke that made him brilliant.Let's get this straight. Maradona has never used performance enhancing drugs... and Messi is not fit to clean his boots. 1 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted July 18, 2014 Share Posted July 18, 2014 I don't think there's a word on this thread I don't agree with. Must be some sort of record. If SKY showed games in the 80s there wouldnt even be a debate. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 19, 2014 Share Posted July 19, 2014 I don't think there's a word on this thread I don't agree with. Must be some sort of record. If SKY showed games in the 80s there wouldnt even be a debate. WOWZERS. Maradona is miles better than Messi. Let's get this straight. Maradona has never used performance enhancing drugs...and Messi is not fit to clean his boots. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted July 19, 2014 Share Posted July 19, 2014 Maradona > Messi. No doubt. Zidane > Messi. In my opinion. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 19, 2014 Share Posted July 19, 2014 maradona, every day. messi's half way there, like italia '90 when maradona took them to the final on his own. now he needs to win it next time round. maradona at Napoli, with mars on his chest, he probably ate free boxes of the chocolates, ripped out his tits on bingo. he basically won the serie a on his own as well. I think careca helped as well. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 19, 2014 Share Posted July 19, 2014 as well... predator 2 on the now, great movie. theee scorpioo ees reddeee! the scorpio is deid. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 19, 2014 Author Share Posted July 19, 2014 Maradona didn't disappear during a World Cup he was Diego Maradonna and he would do whatever it takes to drag his team through it. Messi is just a wee fud in comparison. He has managed to replicate some of the skills Maradona patented but he falls so far short on every other level. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 19, 2014 Share Posted July 19, 2014 I think Ronaldo missed those chances he had in the last Portugal game coz he couldn't be fucked with the rest of the team and was wanting to get away to the Seychelles or wherever he goes. he looks a bit waxy these days, more and more like Michael Jackson. get yer gnashers fixed tae son! messi looks like he doesn't have the bravado of maradona, kind of like he has the weight of the argies on his shoulders. Ronaldo playing for his country looks like he knows that the rest of his team aren't as good and why should he bother trying. I bet he hated bale scoring the "winner" against athletico as well. when he scored the 4th, it was like check me! remember me! um the boss of this garage! ah won the cup! me! he's the typical loner. good stories from his yanited days showing that he can't be bothered with other people when it comes to corporate things and congratulating players from years gone by. like why the fuck should I bother about booby Charlton and these auld yins. still, I'd like to see him cutting in from the left in the red of Aberdeen. trump, forget about golf and do something mental like sign him for us. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 20, 2014 Author Share Posted July 20, 2014 Totally agree man. The main difference between these players is the size of their balls. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 20, 2014 Share Posted July 20, 2014 Check the laces. Nae only was he ace, he was as cool as fuck. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 20, 2014 Author Share Posted July 20, 2014 Check the laces. Nae only was he ace, he was as cool as fuck. He says his pre-match exhibitions were designed to inspire his team mates and to intimidate the opposition. How much would you pay to watch that? Must've been a great time to be a Napoli fan. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 20, 2014 Author Share Posted July 20, 2014 The sit down keepie uppies were memorable. We all tried it and my pal Danny could actually do a few. My record was 1. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 20, 2014 Share Posted July 20, 2014 Although Messi is a great player he is not the class of Maradona or Ronaldino for that matter.. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 21, 2014 Share Posted July 21, 2014 You talk shit Caledonia. Ronaldinhio was great for 2 years. EOS. Messi is by far and away the outstanding player of the past 20years. His brilliance at Barca prob eclipses all club careers ever. I can only think of Baggio in 94 who has come close to matching Maradonas WC86 feats. Link to comment
dave_min Posted July 21, 2014 Share Posted July 21, 2014 Messi isn't even the best player in La Liga. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 21, 2014 Share Posted July 21, 2014 Gullit was a better club player than maradona Link to comment
Tyrant Posted July 21, 2014 Share Posted July 21, 2014 Zidane was better than Messi. Maradona was better than them both. And Pele was overrated. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 21, 2014 Share Posted July 21, 2014 No zidane wasn't. BUT he did score some famous goals. His actual club career wasn't that good. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 21, 2014 Share Posted July 21, 2014 You talk shit Caledonia. Ronaldinhio was great for 2 years. EOS. Messi is by far and away the outstanding player of the past 20years.His brilliance at Barca prob eclipses all club careers ever. I can only think of Baggio in 94 who has come close to matching Maradonas WC86 feats. That is why he has won all this then from 1999 to 2013FIFA Confederations Cup Golden Ball: 1999FIFA Confederations Cup Golden Shoe: 1999Rio Grande do Sul State Championship Top Scorer: 1999CONMEBOL Men Pre-Olympic Tournament Top Scorer: 2000FIFA World Cup All-Star Team: 2002FIFA 100La Liga Ibero-American Player of the Year (1): 2004FIFA Confederations Cup Bronze Ball: 2005World Soccer Magazine World Player of The Year (2): 2004, 2005FIFA World Player of the Year (2): 2004, 2005Ballon d'Or (1): 2005Onze d'Or (1): 2005UEFA Club Best Forward (1): 2004–05UEFA Club Footballer of the Year (1): 2005–06UEFA Team of the Year (3): 2003–04, 2004–05, 2005–06ESM Team of the Year (3): 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06Don Balón Award (2): 2003–04, 2005–06FIFPro World Player of the Year (1): 2005FIFPro World XI (3): 2004–05, 2005–06, 2006–07Golden Foot (1): 2009Bola de Ouro (1): 2012South American Footballer of the Year (1): 2013 Link to comment