Unexpected Income???????

will Sociedad game be on telly?

feckin GUTTIN to get a team like them

hilarious thing is, EVEN IF we beat sociedad, we get ANOTHER qualifier?!

groningen and sociedad should be the types of team we get in the league stages

True story probably couldn't have had a tougher two ties going by the teams in the draw.

Sums up exactly what is wrong with football these days.

Rich get an easy run where we have to work our ass off to get a half decent chance of group stages.

Fucking pish.

It's actually a good thing.

By the time we play the Spanish at home that will have been around 50,000 paying customers at Pittodrie. Not sure how much money we get for away games or cash incentives to get through the qualifying rounds.

Loads of money generated for the club. Much better than playing shite pre-season friendlies...

I think the prize money is in euros

We got 120,000 euros for qualifying essentially

Then 130,000 euros for making it to the second qualification round and 140,000 euros for making it to the third qualifying round.

If we beat Real Sociedad and get into the play-offs we will get 150,000 euros and then 1.3 million euros if we make it to the group stage.

That means we have won 390,000 euros so far, although I am not sure how much it costs the club in terms of hotels, flights, and food for all of the players, I would guess that eats in to a large chunk of those winnings.

The Europa League is a bit like running the handicapped 100 metres.

We started off at the beginning, teams that failed to make the Champions league start at the 30 metres mark, teams that did qualify for the Champions league but then got knocked out join at the 60m mark.

Completely mental competition.

It's like the old inter toto cup, in reality.

I think the prize money is in euros

We got 120,000 euros for qualifying essentially

Then 130,000 euros for making it to the second qualification round and 140,000 euros for making it to the third qualifying round.

If we beat Real Sociedad and get into the play-offs we will get 150,000 euros and then 1.3 million euros if we make it to the group stage.

That means we have won 390,000 euros so far, although I am not sure how much it costs the club in terms of hotels, flights, and food for all of the players, I would guess that eats in to a large chunk of those winnings.

A fair chunk of the prize money would probably have been used to pay hotels, flights and general travelling abroad expensesi'd imagine around half of it. But the real money made is from the three large live home gates...probably 50,000 people at roughtly £20 a pop means around £1m in gate receipts which is great income before the domestic season even starts. And that doesn't include any share of tv money (hopefully the Sociedad games will be on tv).

As someone else said on this thread it sure as hell beats playing low key pre season friendlies in front of small crowds. It should also mean that the players are really fit and firing on all cylinders for the start of the domestic campaign.

Wonder if utd will make a couple of cheeky bids for our players now they are able to light their cigars with tenners?

Hopefully not although they can have our Robertson if they like, means they can keep their existing squad numbers.

Who in their right mind would leave Aberdeen for Yinited? Only those not getting a game.

Is it just me, or why do we have all these preliminary rounds? Why not just call it round 1, 2 ... etc

So they can justify giving only 1/2 points for coefficients and a relative pittance in prize money.

I'm also wondering why people are calling it unexpected income. I'm absolutely sure they would have included at least two if not three rounds of European Competition in their budget. Is the OP suggesting we should have expected to get papped oot in the first qualifying round?

Sure they would have budgeted for getting papped out at the first hurdle based on recent history of not only us but other Scottish clubs, anything else is a bonus.

Regardless, if you believe what comes from Pittodrie, this years budget is already set and won't change regardless of how we do in Europe.

..although I am not sure how much it costs the club in terms of hotels, flights, and food for all of the players, I would guess that eats in to a large chunk of those winnings.

Notice from all the pictures Craig Brown has been getting a free holiday to Latvia & Holland. Old GWT fud.

It would be nice if we qualify for the Group Stage that we could attract a higher calibre of loan signing… The Chelsea's, Arsenal's Man City's as opposed to Brighton, Brentford and the like… Not that our loan signings have been shit… Tate excepted...

How many Chelsea's that are of a higher class than Aberdeen are we hoping to sign players from?

I'm also wondering why people are calling it unexpected income. I'm absolutely sure they would have included at least two if not three rounds of European Competition in their budget. Is the OP suggesting we should have expected to get papped oot in the first qualifying round?

I wouldn't expect the budget to be based on how we expected the team to perform, it should be based on a worst case scenario really. That way when the team performs as expected and hoped then the success brings "extra" income into the club.

I would hope the budget is flexible, and if we do better than expected the club would release funds accordingly.

There should be a balance between keeping the biscuit tin locked and allowing a manager the ability to strengthen the team.

For years we swung between pishing vast sums of money against the wall, and operating on a budget that only allowed the signing of 1st Division journeymen, There seemed to be no balance or long termism factored into how the club spent cash.

I would hope the budget is flexible, and if we do better than expected the club would release funds accordingly.

There should be a balance between keeping the biscuit tin locked and allowing a manager the ability to strengthen the team.

For years we swung between pishing vast sums of money against the wall, and operating on a budget that only allowed the signing of 1st Division journeymen, There seemed to be no balance or long termism factored into how the club spent cash.

Yep.

So the budget being planned in advance is set a fairly low expectation, with as you say room for any extra income to be used where needed.