Guest Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 That's Robertson away to Hull, on top of mini-Messi departed as well. Anyone else that could potentially go? Armstrong, GMC, Shiftkey? Big pot of cash for the bank account, and remains to be seen whether they've bought wisely. Their (relative) success was made off the back of their young talent (Gauld and Robertson in particular). Don't expect the same level of impact on the field, or off it (ie, media frenzy) this season..... well, I certainly hope not. That said, Scottish fitba needs a strong Utd as it does a strong Aberdeen. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Their best player is Armstrong. Surprised he's not been linked with a move. Don't understand them selling the likes of Robertson after one season. They don't need to sell. Keep your better players and see what you can do on the pitch. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 That said, Scottish fitba needs a strong Utd as it does a strong Aberdeen.What a pile of pish! Scottish fitba needs good teams playing good football. It means fuck all who it is! 2 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Their best player is Armstrong. Surprised he's not been linked with a move. Don't understand them selling the likes of Robertson after one season. They don't need to sell. Keep your better players and see what you can do on the pitch. They have 3 million reasons to sell the likes of Robertson. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 They have 3 million reasons to sell the likes of Robertson. Yeah, but would his value suddenly decrease over another season of development? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Yeah, but would his value suddenly decrease over another season of development?Who knows. He may end up having a shite season, or a mediocre season and the hoo haa surrounding Dundee United dies down and suddenly nobody is looking at him. He may end up playing well and being worth 5M Link to comment
DD1903 Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 I'm sure queens park will be delighted for them... Link to comment
Guest Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 What a pile of pish! Scottish fitba needs good teams playing good football. It means fuck all who it is! Your assessment of my comment in flawed Pudgie. Of course countries need their more high profile teams to be doing well. Do you think Sky are interested in seeing a half filled McDairmaid Park or Caley Stadium with only 3 stands? The prestige comes from seeing your big clubs with packed stadium, in 'high profile games', with 'high profile' players. Scottish football, on the World stage, needs the likes of Celtic, Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Utd and Aberdeen, to be doing well. It's not only the best way to put our names on the map, increase coefficient points, but allows us more bargaining power with sponsors.If you think that Scottish football would be all singing, all dancing, with Partick, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, Hamilton and Dundee at the top of the league, then think again. Same applies for any other country. Sure, competition may be better, but everyone wants to see the star teams and players on TV. That is life as it is at the moment. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Dont like Dundee United but when we are both doing well our games are quite tasty affairs Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Your assessment of my comment in flawed Pudgie. Of course countries need their more high profile teams to be doing well. Do you think Sky are interested in seeing a half filled McDairmaid Park or Caley Stadium with only 3 stands? The prestige comes from seeing your big clubs with packed stadium, in 'high profile games', with 'high profile' players. Scottish football, on the World stage, needs the likes of Celtic, Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Utd and Aberdeen, to be doing well. It's not only the best way to put our names on the map, increase coefficient points, but allows us more bargaining power with sponsors.If you think that Scottish football would be all singing, all dancing, with Partick, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, Hamilton and Dundee at the top of the league, then think again. Same applies for any other country. Sure, competition may be better, but everyone wants to see the star teams and players on TV. That is life as it is at the moment. Bang on. I would go even further and say that Aberdeen, Hearts, Hibs and Dundee UTD are the most important clubs in Scotland, because we're the only cunts with any support outside of the gruesome twosome. A gruesome twosome who are quite capable of looking after themselves and indeed each other. If a Motherwell or a St Johnstone has a good season and finishes second or third, then great, but their attendances will hardly budge from their long-term average. The only folk who care much about Motherwell or St Johnstone are the folk who go along anyway, whether they're challenging for third or facing the drop. With the likes of us, UTD and the Edinburgh teams there is a large latent support who come out of the woodwork when their teams are playing well, and that is significant. Incidentally I regard the relegation of both Edinburgh clubs as more tragic than comic... yes both deserved it, for different reasons, but it has created a new and pretty unhelpful situation for Scottish football. If us and UTD were to have poor seasons then I shudder to think what average attendance figures will look like across the country... could get grisly. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Their best player is Armstrong. Surprised he's not been linked with a move. Don't understand them selling the likes of Robertson after one season. They don't need to sell. Keep your better players and see what you can do on the pitch. They may not have much choice. They did a deal with the bank to wipe the debt but one of the conditions was sharing future transfer income. So perhaps the bank have a say when large offers come in. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Your assessment of my comment in flawed Pudgie. Of course countries need their more high profile teams to be doing well. Do you think Sky are interested in seeing a half filled McDairmaid Park or Caley Stadium with only 3 stands? The prestige comes from seeing your big clubs with packed stadium, in 'high profile games', with 'high profile' players. Scottish football, on the World stage, needs the likes of Celtic, Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Utd and Aberdeen, to be doing well. It's not only the best way to put our names on the map, increase coefficient points, but allows us more bargaining power with sponsors.If you think that Scottish football would be all singing, all dancing, with Partick, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, Hamilton and Dundee at the top of the league, then think again. Same applies for any other country. Sure, competition may be better, but everyone wants to see the star teams and players on TV. That is life as it is at the moment. Yet the EPL flourishes with Hull, QPR, Cardiff, Swansea, Crystal Palace, Burnley, Leicester et al, As far biggers clubs like Leeds, Nottingham Forest play in the league below. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Your assessment of my comment in flawed Pudgie. Of course countries need their more high profile teams to be doing well. Do you think Sky are interested in seeing a half filled McDairmaid Park or Caley Stadium with only 3 stands? The prestige comes from seeing your big clubs with packed stadium, in 'high profile games', with 'high profile' players. Scottish football, on the World stage, needs the likes of Celtic, Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Utd and Aberdeen, to be doing well. It's not only the best way to put our names on the map, increase coefficient points, but allows us more bargaining power with sponsors. If you think that Scottish football would be all singing, all dancing, with Partick, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, Hamilton and Dundee at the top of the league, then think again. Same applies for any other country. Sure, competition may be better, but everyone wants to see the star teams and players on TV. That is life as it is at the moment.Can't agree with this at all. What Scottish football needs is competition and excitement - something that has been missing for 25 years. It matters not one jot who steps up to provide it. People will engage with genuine competition and so will sponsors. Following your logic to its conclusion then the sooner the Huns are at the top the better? Link to comment
Guest Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Can't agree with this at all. What Scottish football needs is competition and excitement - something that has been missing for 25 years. It matters not one jot who steps up to provide it. People will engage with genuine competition and so will sponsors. Following your logic to its conclusion then the sooner the Huns are at the top the better? We'll agree to disagree. Interest is generated from outwith Scotland, when teams are recognisable. If Hamilton and St.Mirren were sitting 3/4th in the league, and Sky televised one of their games, I wouldn't even switch on to watch, let alone anyone south of the border or beyond. We need 'fair' competition (ie a fair distribution of assets and prize money/sponsorship). If Sevco made it back, then so be it. It's gonna happen sooner rather than later in any case, so no point worrying about it. Most sports thrive on the known factor that is the named personality/team. F1 for instance - you could get rid of half the grid and no one would care. But to go back to my point - we need the big teams to be performing at the top end.... this is the best way to make it more interesting and create competition/increase crowds/revenue for our game. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Back to a two horse race of Celtic v The Huns then? So long as we placate the TV companies with big names. We will definitely have to agree to disagree because in my view this is what has driven Scottish football into the dirt. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Your assessment of my comment in flawed Pudgie. Of course countries need their more high profile teams to be doing well. Do you think Sky are interested in seeing a half filled McDairmaid Park or Caley Stadium with only 3 stands? The prestige comes from seeing your big clubs with packed stadium, in 'high profile games', with 'high profile' players. Scottish football, on the World stage, needs the likes of Celtic, Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Utd and Aberdeen, to be doing well. It's not only the best way to put our names on the map, increase coefficient points, but allows us more bargaining power with sponsors.If you think that Scottish football would be all singing, all dancing, with Partick, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, Hamilton and Dundee at the top of the league, then think again. Same applies for any other country. Sure, competition may be better, but everyone wants to see the star teams and players on TV. That is life as it is at the moment.Agree with this Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Back to a two horse race of Celtic v The Huns then? So long as we placate the TV companies with big names. We will definitely have to agree to disagree because in my view this is what has driven Scottish football into the dirt.Think he means the teams just under them ie the dons, united, hearts and hibs etc Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 Think he means the teams just under them ie the dons, united, hearts and hibs etcDoesn't matter how he means it, you either have a principle or you don't. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 25, 2014 Share Posted July 25, 2014 We are no better than Huns and Tims if we think we have a divine right and that it's better for Scottish Football for us to be at the top because we have a bigger fan base than Falkirk or whoever. It's very simple, you can take that view if you like but in doing so you are also saying that the Huns and Celtic deserve to be at the top by rights too. It's a very simple extension of logic. 3 Link to comment
tup Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 Aye, TWL showing Daily Record logic there. Scottish fitba needs genuine competition. That means different teams winning stuff, consistently. We had it last season despite Celtic romping the league. The reason they did that is because they were eliminated from both cups early. Our game does not 'need' a strong anybody. In fact it needs the polar opposite, a strong everybody. 2 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 Your assessment of my comment in flawed Pudgie. Of course countries need their more high profile teams to be doing well. Do you think Sky are interested in seeing a half filled McDairmaid Park or Caley Stadium with only 3 stands? The prestige comes from seeing your big clubs with packed stadium, in 'high profile games', with 'high profile' players. Scottish football, on the World stage, needs the likes of Celtic, Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Utd and Aberdeen, to be doing well. It's not only the best way to put our names on the map, increase coefficient points, but allows us more bargaining power with sponsors. If you think that Scottish football would be all singing, all dancing, with Partick, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, Hamilton and Dundee at the top of the league, then think again. Same applies for any other country. Sure, competition may be better, but everyone wants to see the star teams and players on TV. That is life as it is at the moment.That's where the drivel peaked. The rest of it is utter tripe as well. That doesn't matter one jot. If you're good enough you'll do well. Those points mean fuck all. Link to comment
tup Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 Coefficient chat is the preserve of the likes of Chick Young. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 We'll agree to disagree. Interest is generated from outwith Scotland, when teams are recognisable. If Hamilton and St.Mirren were sitting 3/4th in the league, and Sky televised one of their games, I wouldn't even switch on to watch, let alone anyone south of the border or beyond. We need 'fair' competition (ie a fair distribution of assets and prize money/sponsorship). If Sevco made it back, then so be it. It's gonna happen sooner rather than later in any case, so no point worrying about it. Most sports thrive on the known factor that is the named personality/team. F1 for instance - you could get rid of half the grid and no one would care. But to go back to my point - we need the big teams to be performing at the top end.... this is the best way to make it more interesting and create competition/increase crowds/revenue for our game.What if St Mirren and Hamilton had been playing the best/most entertaining football in the league to get to their respective positions? Link to comment
tup Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 Sport is only for the top teams seems to be TWL's ludicrous stance here. Everyone else is mere filler. 2 Link to comment
Guest Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 What I said was that Scottish football needs it's biggest clubs to be doing well. Never said anything about old firm dominance being either wanted or required. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 What I said was that Scottish football needs it's biggest clubs to be doing well. Never said anything about old firm dominance being either wanted or required.Old firm don't exist. Hun. 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 I think the point is, if Aberdeen and Utd are both doing well we'll take a huge support down and they'll bring a good support up, obviously ours will be higher. The atmosphere will be great. If Hamilton have a great season they'll still bring 8 folk to Pittodrie and a lot of our own fans will give the game a miss. Nobody's suggesting it's all about the big clubs winning and fuck the rest but if you want to have more money in the game, bigger crowds etc, then it stands to reason that it's in the interests of all that bigger clubs are doing well. You think next season when we play rangers anyone will be looking at it like they do when we play hamilton this year? The games will be massive sell outs. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted July 26, 2014 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 26, 2014 I think the point is, if Aberdeen and Utd are both doing well we'll take a huge support down and they'll bring a good support up, obviously ours will be higher. The atmosphere will be great.If Hamilton have a great season they'll still bring 8 folk to Pittodrie and a lot of our own fans will give the game a miss.Nobody's suggesting it's all about the big clubs winning and fuck the rest but if you want to have more money in the game, bigger crowds etc, then it stands to reason that it's in the interests of all that bigger clubs are doing well.You think next season when we play Sevco anyone will be looking at it like they do when we play hamilton this year? The games will be massive sell outs.Sorted Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 What a pile of pish! Scottish fitba needs good teams playing good football. It means fuck all who it is!Except Sevco. They can fuck off. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted July 26, 2014 Share Posted July 26, 2014 Except Sevco. They can fuck off.Well, aye. But that's a given! It's a terrible mindset and a poisonous comment to say we "need (team x )to do well". Entertaining the punters is what we need. There no point of having more money from bigger gates if there is no entertainment. We need every single teams gates up, not just a few who go on a good run and have a good season. We need to start giving everyone a reason to come to the fitba other than the fact that their team is winning. 1 Link to comment