weapon Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Alrite lads, I am looking for recommendations for a decent solicitor and mortgage company in Aberdeen for a hoose I am looking at. Been given a card for Aberdein Considine and First Mortgage, anybody had any experience good or bad of either? Ta Link to comment
Dandy_SBT Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 First Mortgage - cant fault them (especially if going through Help to Buy etc.) they do all the paperwork for you, and got me a pretty decent mortgage. And more importantly didn't cost me a penny. Did not use Aberdeen Considiene so cannot comment - but do not use Anderson Bain. Although sorted now (hopefully) I was fined by HMRC as they did not pay the Stamp Duty on time. Kept on having to chase them up for other things also during the process too. Link to comment
weapon Posted July 28, 2014 Author Share Posted July 28, 2014 First Mortgage - cant fault them (especially if going through Help to Buy etc.) they do all the paperwork for you, and got me a pretty decent mortgage. And more importantly didn't cost me a penny. Did not use Aberdeen Considiene so cannot comment - but do not use Anderson Bain. Although sorted now (hopefully) I was fined by HMRC as they did not pay the Stamp Duty on time. Kept on having to chase them up for other things also during the process too. Aye looking at the help to buy scheme, although its for April 15 as all the funds have been spent for this financial year!! Think i'll give First Mortgage a sounding out, see fit they are saying then. Solicitors are all durty thieves!!! haha Cheers for the info. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Aberdein Considine are a little expensive compared to most, I've always used Alisdair Macdonald at Peterkins, really nice guy and good rates, as for the mortgage Peterkins have a guy who will do that as well or as discussed First Mortgage, a guy called Rod in the Holburn shop is helpful. Link to comment
weapon Posted July 28, 2014 Author Share Posted July 28, 2014 Aberdein Considine are a little expensive compared to most, I've always used Alisdair Macdonald at Peterkins, really nice guy and good rates, as for the mortgage Peterkins have a guy who will do that as well or as discussed First Mortgage, a guy called Rod in the Holburn shop is helpful. Rod was the name i have been given at First Mortgage, they seem decent so far nae heard anything bad bout them yet. I did think Considine would maybe be expensive, solely based on the fact that I've actually heard of them!!! haha Cheers for replies gents Link to comment
Tyrant Posted July 29, 2014 Share Posted July 29, 2014 1st Mortgage were ok.. They offered me a mortgage from HBOS. I then went to my own bank (HBOS) and they offered me a better deal. So check out your bank too and don't assume that because 1st Mortgage is supposed to be independent that it's going to give you a better deal. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted July 29, 2014 Share Posted July 29, 2014 1st Mortgage were ok.. They offered me a mortgage from HBOS. I then went to my own bank (HBOS) and they offered me a better deal. So check out your bank too and don't assume that because 1st Mortgage is supposed to be independent that it's going to give you a better deal. Agree with this...my family have used the same financial advisor for years, I went to see him about my mortgage and nothing he could come up with was anywhere near what my bank could offer. Went with my bank (HBOS) and been with them for 5 years now. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 30, 2014 Share Posted July 30, 2014 The boy Considine from Aberdein Considine is Andy Considines uncle. I got a train home from him from the Hibs game (Vernon & Wylde scored) in first class. He had a couple of my ciders. Hope that helps. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 30, 2014 Share Posted July 30, 2014 [millertime] What's a mortgage? [/millertime] 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 30, 2014 Share Posted July 30, 2014 Bought mine with AC, nae problems iva and pretty cheap. Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 30, 2014 Share Posted July 30, 2014 My Mother in Law did the legal stuff for us for free...having a Solicitor in the family has it's uses...obviously I'm fucked if divorce comes into play. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 4, 2014 Share Posted August 4, 2014 Aberdein Considine are shite. Avoid. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 4, 2014 Share Posted August 4, 2014 Buy a house.Find a solicitor in yellow pages.Done . Easy peasy. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted August 4, 2014 Share Posted August 4, 2014 harbour green on Portobello prom. got the bums rush. it looks we'll be moving to the 'burbs. hopefully near the klopek's so we can have some tom hanks adventures. with a milfy carrie fisher the voice of reason. Link to comment
weapon Posted August 5, 2014 Author Share Posted August 5, 2014 Cheers for all the replies lads. Have got a mortgage broker and a solicitor sorted, now for the house!! Anybody bought a new build lately, any experiences to share?? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 5, 2014 Share Posted August 5, 2014 Cheers for all the replies lads. Have got a mortgage broker and a solicitor sorted, now for the house!! Anybody bought a new build lately, any experiences to share?? Rented a new build in Westhill recently. It was pish - made of fuckin cardboard Avoid Link to comment
Pash Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 My mortgage needs renewed at start of May, currently have an offset mortgage with Clydesdale, was looking at a Tracker mortgage with another lender though to take advantage of the low interest rates, thoughts? Tesco are offering initial rate of 1.25%. Cheers. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 My mortgage needs renewed at start of May, currently have an offset mortgage with Clydesdale, was looking at a Tracker mortgage with another lender though to take advantage of the low interest rates, thoughts? Tesco are offering initial rate of 1.25%. Cheers. Depends what it rises too and how long you are tied in for. Also need to be aware of arrangements fees. Also you might want to make sure thats got a capped rate on it just incase it shoots up in a years time. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 Depends what it rises too and how long you are tied in for. Also need to be aware of arrangements fees. Also you might want to make sure thats got a capped rate on it just incase it shoots up in a years time. Nationwide doing some good deals at the moment. TSB also decent. We've went with them for the house we've just had formally accepted. Only 0.1%APR difference in comparison over the 2 year term. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 AC are cunts. Happy to make you homeless. Utter scum. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 AC are cunts. Happy to make you homeless. Utter scum.AC phoned us regarding a property we had viewed. We said we liked it but hadn't had any offers on ours yet. The receptionist who phoned said to my girlfriend "well you can always put an offer in and see what happens". Aye rightio, is she paying the difference when it goes tits up? Link to comment
Pash Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 Depends what it rises too and how long you are tied in for. Also need to be aware of arrangements fees. Also you might want to make sure thats got a capped rate on it just incase it shoots up in a years time. One I was looking at is two years, was looking at interest rate forecasts and only predicted to go up 1% in next two years, but aye you never know. Would be saving a few hundred £ a month compared to my current mortgage with interest rate at 0.5%. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 AC phoned us regarding a property we had viewed. We said we liked it but hadn't had any offers on ours yet. The receptionist who phoned said to my girlfriend "well you can always put an offer in and see what happens". Aye rightio, is she paying the difference when it goes tits up?Total opposite to what they told me. I took a punt before xmas and offered on one before mine was even up for sale. They tried getting me not to do it. Was too good an opoortunity to turn down so I just ignored them. Must say though, I bought and sold through AC and cannot really say a bad word against them. Both transactions went through smoothly, and got it at discounted rate through my work. Would definitely stick with them in future. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 AC phoned us regarding a property we had viewed. We said we liked it but hadn't had any offers on ours yet. The receptionist who phoned said to my girlfriend "well you can always put an offer in and see what happens". Aye rightio, is she paying the difference when it goes tits up? Nothing wrong with a cheeky offer well below market expectation. Also make sure the offer is on condition of sale of your place. No lose situation Bobo. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 We used Burnett and Reid for both ours and never had an issue. Ended up getting a pretty sweet refund since they took the stamp duty twice. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 2, 2015 Share Posted April 2, 2015 Nothing wrong with a cheeky offer well below market expectation. Also make sure the offer is on condition of sale of your place. No lose situation Bobo.Ha, we weren't asked to go well below market valuation. The house had been on two days. Link to comment
Henry Posted May 5, 2016 Share Posted May 5, 2016 Cheap flat for someone: A three-bedroom flat in a North Lanarkshire village is on the market for just £1.The price tag means the property in Upperton, near Airdrie, could be the cheapest home in the UK.Although the dilapidated apartment needs "significant upgrading", Auction House Scotland said it offered "huge potential for development".The flat is due to go under the hammer at an auction in Glasgow, with a guide price of £1, later this month.It is expected to be snapped up by a buy-to-let landlord.'Quick sale'Gillian Cochrane, director of operations at Auction House Scotland, said it was not the first property they had advertised for £1."We have done it once before and the flat sold for £14,500 to a London-based property manager," she said."It's a not a strategy that we'd use for all types of property."It's very run-down and the seller is desperate to get a quick sale - it's a one-off."The top-floor home in Dervaig Gardens has a shared balcony, communal gardens and on-street parking.A similar property on the same street sold for £25,000 last year. Link to comment