Tord31 Posted August 8, 2014 Share Posted August 8, 2014 80 Points has to be the target this season. It is an ambitious but realistic target which would give any team a shout at winning their respective league championships. 80 points would have won the Scottish Premiership in season 2012/13. Aberdeen finished on 68 points in Derek McInnes first full season. 80 points obviously an average of just above 2 points per game - so we need to be seriously cutting out the draws to achieve it. No non Old Firm team have won the league since 1985 so lets not be shouting from the rooftops we are going to win the league but break down the 80 point target into manageable chunks. Four 'quarters' to the season being three rounds of 11 games and then the 5 post split fixtures. How did we get on last season First 11 - 20/33 pointsSecond 11 - 24/33 pointsThird 11 - 19/33 pointsPost Split 5 - 5/15 points - Total Points 68/114 A suggested target to achieve 80 points is 23 points from each round of 11 games and then going undefeated in the post split fixtures to achieve at least 11 points. A side target will be to be at least neutral in the head to head versus Celtic. First 11 Matches - TARGET - 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses - 23 points United (H)Killie (A)St Mirren - to be rescheduled (H)St Johnstone (A)Partick (H)Celtic (A)County (H)Caley (H)Dundee (A)Hamilton (A)Motherwell (H) Rather than attribute the points to individual matches lets just try and go out and win as many matches as possible and see where it takes us rather than getting too down when we 'drop' points. However you can't help look at the list and think the 7 wins is quite a realistic target for the team at the moment for these first round of games. Fingers crossed we can be ahead of the game after the first 'quarter'. I will update this thread as we move through the season. I believe 80 points is achievable and if our luck is in and we truly believe that it is possible then we will do it just like 1985 - Aberdeen FC, Scottish Champions. 1 Link to comment
fifered Posted August 8, 2014 Share Posted August 8, 2014 When you look at that list of teams its entirely possible. Every single game is perfectly winnable. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 9, 2014 Share Posted August 9, 2014 Celtic won it with only 79 points just 2 years ago as well... Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 9, 2014 Share Posted August 9, 2014 The target should be 69 points. 1 more than last season. Rome wasn't built by rocket science. Link to comment
CalgaryDon Posted August 10, 2014 Share Posted August 10, 2014 I'm delighted to see the belief the fans have in the team that Derek McInnes has installed. To believe we have an outside chance of winning the league is Unfamiliar territory going into a new season after the period we had under McGhee and Brown. Long may the great sense of optimism flowing through our club continue. I certainly believe we can better last years points tally. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 13, 2014 Author Share Posted August 13, 2014 First 11 Matches - TARGET - 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses - 23 points United (H) 0-3 LOSEKillie (A) 2-0 WIN TARGET - 6 wins, 2 draws and 1 loss - 20 points St Johnstone (A)Partick (H)Celtic (A)County (H)Caley (H)Dundee (A)Hamilton (A)Motherwell (H)St Mirren - to be rescheduled (H) Link to comment
RUL Posted August 13, 2014 Share Posted August 13, 2014 They'll reschedule st mirren in middle of winter or something fucking crazy. Link to comment
Thor Steinar Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 Good thread, keep it going throughout the season please, so we aren't randomly looking at games we hope Celtic and other teams can drop points. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 They'll reschedule st mirren in middle of winter or something fucking crazy. Why was the Saints game cancelled anyway? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 out of the games you've quoted tord I think the only ones we may look at dropping points are st j and celtic.we've already dropped three against United. Hopefully just a blip though, United were shite and only got going after we gifted them a couple of goals and had to go for broke and try and get goals. Link to comment
AFCaketin Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 First 11 Matches - TARGET - 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses - 23 points United (H) 0-3 LOSEKillie (A) 2-0 WIN TARGET - 6 wins, 2 draws and 1 loss - 20 points St Johnstone (A)Partick (H)Celtic (A)County (H)Caley (H)Dundee (A)Hamilton (A)Motherwell (H)St Mirren - to be rescheduled (H) 20 points is a fair and realistic expectation points target from these games...even with a couple of injuries or suspensions, this should still be achievable. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 First 11 Matches - TARGET - 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses - 23 points United (H) 0-3 LOSEKillie (A) 2-0 WIN TARGET - 6 wins, 2 draws and 1 loss - 20 points St Johnstone (A) D Partick (H) W Celtic (A) L County (H) W Caley (H) WDundee (A) W Hamilton (A) W Motherwell (H) DSt Mirren - to be rescheduled (H) WThe above "results" are more than achievable, it's all about consistency which I'm not sure if we've got in us yet. I can see us getting a point against the Tims as well, but breaking down the likes of Dundee, Hamilton and St Mirren might prove tricky! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 I haven't done the maths on this but if Celtic won the league with 79 point in a season with no real challenge then I'd suggest in a season where a team really pushes them and takes some point off them, then the total needed would be less. Something like 75-77 points maybe even. However that would probably only be the case if we beat them twice. Of course the big problem is that while this might look simple on paper, the fact is there are lots of teams in this league capable of beating each other, including beating us. ie on their day all of St J, Motherwell, Dundee Utd can easily beat us while ICT and Ross County are always worth a few bigger team scalps. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 14, 2014 Author Share Posted August 14, 2014 Yes we have the mini target of being neutral points in the Celtic head-to-heads. 80 points would be a title challenege if not actually winning the title - we can't ask for more than that. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 Interesting possibilities you highlight Tord. I think ra sellick will struggle this season, particularly in the first half. I also think we will most likely improve on last years points total. I think what will be key is that if we (or someone else) is still challenging them around christmas, then they will attempt to spend their way out of trouble in the january window. Link to comment
True_Don Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 improve on our home record from last season and continue away form and we will be there. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 14, 2014 Share Posted August 14, 2014 Anything less than 20 pts from these games & Clangers should agree to leave the club for good. Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 In 2012-13 we finished 8th with 48 points. (41 goals for, 43 goals against) -2 Before 2013-14 started I said that scoring 60 goals would see us finish second. We ended up scoring 53 goals last year, but things as simple as (say) converted penalties against either Hearts or Partick would have probably seen us comfortably finish ahead of Motherwell. Last season's huge improvement in our goal difference went a long way to us finishing third last season by translating into a 20 point improvement. In 2013-14 we finished with 68 points. (53 goals for, 38 goals against) +15 I agree with McInnes that PeePaw should be looking to get into double figures this season. And if McGinn and Rooney can duplicate what they have previously then those three players could contribute at least 30 goals toward improving on last year's total. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 We ended up scoring 53 goals last year, but things as simple as (say) converted penalties against either Hearts or Partick would have probably seen us comfortably finish ahead of Motherwell. Last season's huge improvement in our goal difference went a long way to us finishing third last season by translating into a 20 point improvement. In 2013-14 we finished with 68 points. (53 goals for, 38 goals against) +15 We need to start scoring goals at home.Out of those 53 goals only 20 were at home, as opposed to 33 away.That appears to be the wrang wie roond. We have also started this season in the same vein... Link to comment
lukas989 Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 We need to start scoring goals at home.Out of those 53 goals only 20 were at home, as opposed to 33 away.That appears to be the wrang wie roond. We have also started this season in the same vein... Only Hibs scored less at home. That means St Mirren scored more than us. Holy fuckballs. Link to comment
AFCaketin Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 Need to change our formation for home games. When the likes of hamilton, st mirren, ross county etc come to pittodrie, play 3 at the back and 2 up front. When we go 2-0 up change it back to the usual set-up. Link to comment
lukas989 Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 Need to change our formation for home games. When the likes of hamilton, st mirren, ross county etc come to pittodrie, play 3 at the back and 2 up front. When we go 2-0 up change it back to the usual set-up. Less patience, more pummeling. Link to comment
AFCaketin Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 I have no respect for those diddy teams. It's time we stopped showing them any and just bang the goals in and send them home in tears fearing their next trip to Aberdeen. That's how you win leagues. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 Two words… "Fortress Pittodrie"… 4-4-2… Get in tae them… Heid first… Link to comment
rumpus Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 Two words… "Fortress Pittodrie"… 4-4-2… Get in tae them… Heid first… That's actually 8 words and 3 numbers. Hun. 4 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted August 17, 2014 Share Posted August 17, 2014 We definitely need a different system when playing at home. Goodwillie & Rooney partnership up top! Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 19, 2014 Share Posted August 19, 2014 Quite like the idea of 3-5-2 at home. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 30, 2014 Author Share Posted August 30, 2014 First 11 Matches - TARGET - 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses - 23 pointsUnited (H) 0-3 LOSEKillie (A) 2-0 WINSt Johnstone (A) 0-1 LOSEPartick (H) 2-0 WINTARGET - 5 wins and 2 draws - 17 pointsCeltic (A)County (H)Caley (H)Dundee (A)Hamilton (A)Motherwell (H)St Mirren - to be rescheduled (H) Basically if we want a title challenge its time for a seven (well eight after today) game unbeaten run. Ready? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 21, 2014 Author Share Posted September 21, 2014 First 11 Matches - TARGET - 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses - 23 pointsUnited (H) 0-3 LOSEKillie (A) 2-0 WINSt Johnstone (A) 0-1 LOSEPartick (H) 2-0 WINCeltic (A) 1-2 LOSECounty (H) 3-0 WINTARGET - 5 wins - 15 pointsCaley (H)St Mirren (H)Dundee (A)Hamilton (A)Motherwell (H) Tough ask but need to be going on a serious winning run now. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 21, 2014 Share Posted September 21, 2014 Tough ask based on our start but we have the players for it Link to comment