Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted September 29, 2014 Share Posted September 29, 2014 Petition for making the streets around were I live safer. Here on Sycamore Road/Way/Place is the only area in the Hill Of Banchory which doesn't seem to have speed bumps. We have a large number of families living here who have young children who play in and around our streets. These children are in danger from the few careless and reckless drivers who seem to think they are at Silverstone going up and down Sycamore Road. Let's not wait till there is a fatal accident before something gets done. It's better to be proactive than reactive. Please sign my petition to make our streets safer. Kind regards and stand free FAO the moderators- if this isn't allowed delete it.http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/speed-bumps-for-sycamore Link to comment
Poodler Posted September 29, 2014 Share Posted September 29, 2014 What's it like living at hill of Banchory? I hear it's a bit of a rough estate? Nae having a go, just heard the cooncil dumped a lot of rough families there? Link to comment
dave_min Posted September 29, 2014 Share Posted September 29, 2014 Speed bumps cause more accidents than they prevent. FACT. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 29, 2014 Share Posted September 29, 2014 Nae having a go like but I've heard where you live poodles is a bit rough. Just saying like, nae having a go or anything. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted September 29, 2014 Author Share Posted September 29, 2014 What's it like living at hill of Banchory? I hear it's a bit of a rough estate? Nae having a go, just heard the cooncil dumped a lot of rough families there?Parts of it were like that for a while. They didn't call it little Glasgow for no reason. Link to comment
beer gut Posted September 29, 2014 Share Posted September 29, 2014 I'm amazed i managed to survive childhood being as there were no speed humps around and we played kerbie on the road all the time. Link to comment
LeDandy Posted October 7, 2014 Share Posted October 7, 2014 The problem is bad parenting coupled with the disappearance of tufty , my brother was run over as a bairn , never did him ony harm , learned a lesson as a result , fucker never got run doon again I'll tell ye ! Link to comment
caledonia Posted October 7, 2014 Share Posted October 7, 2014 Speed bumps are a pain in the car especially if you are doing around 50MPH while trying to text someone (well that's what millertime told me)signed Link to comment
rumpus Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 There are quite a few other streets in hill of banchory which don't have speed bumps, not just Sycamore Road. What the council should do is cut those bushes back which come onto the road. This almost makes it a single track therefore restricting me from getting up to around 70mph due to oncoming vehicles. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 Speed bumps in Bucksburn ended the life of 3 of my suspension springs when I had an Astra, though the focus goes over them without any problem, people in my area campaigned for them on the hill that goes past the cloverleaf and down by the school after a girl was killed on it, as it was classed as an arterial route for emergency vehicles the council wouldn't do anything on the problem road, instead they littered all the roads next to it with masses of speed bumps, none of these were ever an issue. A waste of time and vehicle damagers, I'm no fan. Link to comment