fine-n-dandy Posted October 30, 2014 Share Posted October 30, 2014 Huns were real animals in this one. 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted October 30, 2014 Share Posted October 30, 2014 ` EASY EASY EASY EASY EASY ` Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 That was my second ever Dons game. Been hooked ever since. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 FnD Game 1 Game 2 Mind them both Millers defending, Weir's crossing, Macdougall and Black's finishing and lets not forget the slightly odd 'offside' with the hun on the goal line, and BFDJ's 'challenge' in the air either And just when it can't get any better...and here comes Aberdeen's substitute.....John Hewitt Link to comment
Patty Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 Speaking of this, RedTVs archive system is shite. Why aren't their tabs for different seasons? I have to go through 10s of pages to find a particular game. Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 Aberdeen 1 Rangers 0 (Glass Header) The game that ended 10 in a row Link to comment
360 Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 The game where Clark and Hutton snapped each other Think we won 2-0 Link to comment
tup Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 Aberdeen v Dundee United The Great Escape. One of the best atmospheres Pittodrie has ever ever seen.I was in attendance, had a front row seat in RDS upper, was immense Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 I was in attendance, had a front row seat in RDS upper, was immense The game v Celtic a couple of weeks prior was pretty fuckin good too. Brian Irvine with the touch and strike that Jess would of been proud of. Link to comment
tup Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 Aye I was a great admirer of the silky skills of Peter Hetherston that season. Halcyon days. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 good good memories.It has to be said that we were up and down in the 70's but it was fxckin great stuff, mostly.It just makes it so sad when folk say we canna compete.That was a 20 year period we were competing, with some not so good seasons along the way.Most of them were great though.Scottish cup final in 1970 beating Celtic in front of an official 108,000 crowd, magical. In the run in to the league 79 -80, I was away with work and went to watch Stoke v Liverpool I think it was, with a guy fae Inverness.That night we beat celtic 3-1 at Parkhead on the road to winning the league.Heard the result in this boys car and just aboot bounced through the roof.Well then the 80's just beyond wildest dreams.Those videos - Willie Miller, immense. Peter Weir or Davie Cooper, I know who I would pick. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 Real Madrid for the Cup Winners Cup. Wasn't at Gothenburg but saw it on the telly. I was 6. Canna get better than that. Us v the original huns, 2-1, The one with The Great Simmie Tackle. Was that 1987?Skol Cup Final 1989Scottish Cup Final 1990Has Guillhaus's debut gameThon Celtic game in the early 2000s when Regi Blinker scored the ultimate own goalThe motherwell game, when we realised we only needed to draw or beat the huns at Snake Mountain to win the leagueFirst playoff at pittodrie v Dunfermline Bayern Munich in the Europa, the bounce in the RDU when Walker score Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted October 31, 2014 Share Posted October 31, 2014 Us v the original huns, 2-1, The one with The Great Simmie Tackle. Was that 1987?1988 4mins 38 secs Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 Watching the first two games with Nicky Walker in goals loomed like clangers had been taken back in time all be needs now is the tracksuit bottoms to complete the fucking look . Link to comment
Localfitbafan Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 Bayern Munich in the 1983 CWC quarter final. Still bouncing from the equaliser to make it 2-2 and give us a chance and Hewitt scores a third. The opening 30 minutes of the Waterschei semi final we're also unbelievable. I also loved the game when Frank Mcdougall scored 4 against Celtic at Pittodrie, which unfortunately was during a tv camera men strike so it will never be seen again. You forget how good the players were back then, the like of Weir, McMaster, Bell, Cooper, Simpson, Hewitt, Rougvie, Black barely managed a handful of caps between them Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 Fit year was the ten in a row rangers one? I've forgotten that one. Tackles and mystical early 80's memories aside the triple skol cup header have to be up there for both quality and intensity. Happy days, even if losing twice was a bit of a cunt. Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 Fit year was the ten in a row rangers one? I've forgotten that one. Tackles and mystical early 80's memories aside the triple skol cup header have to be up there for both quality and intensity.Happy days, even if losing twice was a bit of a cunt.April 97 it was some atmosphere the huns were rabid after the game Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 Real Madrid for the Cup Winners Cup. Wasn't at Gothenburg but saw it on the telly. I was 6. Canna get better than that. Us v the original huns, 2-1, The one with The Great Simmie Tackle. Was that 1987? Tattie Cooper was to blame for everything that happened that day. Charging about like a spangleoid on speed Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 Bayern Munich in the 1983 CWC quarter final. Still bouncing from the equaliser to make it 2-2 and give us a chance and Hewitt scores a third.The opening 30 minutes of the Waterschei semi final we're also unbelievable.I also loved the game when Frank Mcdougall scored 4 against Celtic at Pittodrie, which unfortunately was during a tv camera men strike so it will never be seen again.You forget how good the players were back then, the like of Weir, McMaster, Bell, Cooper, Simpson, Hewitt, Rougvie, Black barely managed a handful of caps between themMcMaster, Cooper, bell, black ( unbelievably),Hewitt, none of them capped while at Aberdeen of them only black got caps, ironically after he left to go to metz, I still maintain that Ferguson being part of the coaching set up at the time held back Eric's international career, Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted November 1, 2014 Share Posted November 1, 2014 The Tim's cup final in 84 was nice. Football was nothing special - Aitken being a tit and McGhee's trademark superman goal celebration. Thing I remember was arriving in Glasgow and looking out at the green and white hordes and seeing genuine fear in their eyes. Not so much a footballing highlight, more a comfort blanket for cold nights in Dingwall. Link to comment
AndrewW Posted November 2, 2014 Share Posted November 2, 2014 The game where Clark and Hutton snapped each other Think we won 2-0 Was that not the game after Copenhagen and was 0-0? Could be wrong. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 3, 2014 Share Posted November 3, 2014 Thon Celtic game in the early 2000s when Regi Blinker scored the ultimate own goal I double dunted about half an hour before kick off. Was sitting / swaying / dancing in The Soother rushing off my coupon. Magic game. Think it was the pills more than the fitba. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 3, 2014 Share Posted November 3, 2014 "Let's speak with Alex Smith who's obviously delighted with the result". Cue Alex Smith looking and sounding like he just witnessed his family getting massacred 5 minutes previous. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted November 3, 2014 Share Posted November 3, 2014 Anyone spot Nicky butter fingers walker, dashing attire in the simmie game. I'll tell you I think he is on a par with Clangers. Link to comment
Poodler Posted November 3, 2014 Share Posted November 3, 2014 I double dunted about half an hour before kick off. Was sitting / swaying / dancing in The Soother rushing off my coupon. Magic game. Think it was the pills more than the fitba. [emoji23] superb! Link to comment