Celtic Fans' Lack Of Respect

Nothing surprises you with these scum but they truly are lowlife not to respect our war dead. Lawwell tries to get out of it by donating to PoppyScotland,.Of course, this is just a pre-planned token gesture to take the flak off the disgusting behavior of their terrorist supporting fans. The Celtic board are to blame even more, as they should insist on the staff wearing poppies like all other decent clubs in England and Scotland. Only one team in Britain shows no respect, Celtic Fc...they are truly shameless.

Nothing will change, no point in raising the blood pressure over it. The bankers will fuck us, the politicians will lie, the old firm will bring bigotry to football and people who have never had their arsehole tongued will say it's disgusting. That's entertainment, as Weller once said.

James Maclean also taking stand.

Rightly so. No one should be forced to wear a poppy but everyone playing should have the opportunity to wear one. For the whole squad not to wear one and for the disgracing of the minutes silence is where it irks me. Nobody was forced to enter the ground and those that didn't want to respect the victims of war did not have to be in the stadium for it.

A mutual friend who I'm sure TwoStars will know was defending it, saying that we're clinging to having a pop at Celtic FC, we see this as a cheap insult to have a go at them so it can take the pain of the defeat and the manner of how we played.

I couldn't believe what I was reading.

I don't think them being scum during the silence is what bothers me the most, it's the amount of Celtic fans who defend it.

Yes, was also a tad disbelieved reading that nonsense.

Would be focusing on it had we won though? Would this thread even exist?

I said last week that I didn't think the silence was necessary, not out of any lack of respect for it by me, but simply that the knobs in both supports would latch onto it to make some petty point which definitely has no place in sport. I accepted then and do now the argument that someone somewhere has taken the decision that on remembrance weekend all large public gatherings, i.e. football matches should mark it, and that's fine by me.

Also, Sky have the option to hit the mute button since there will always be some tit who wants to make a statement, political or otherwise (otherwise being because he thinks wrongly that its funny) during a silence so I get that but too.

Having said that, that the silence was deliberately ignored by a large section of their fans is just disrespectful shite. Ignore the poppy pish that's just a political toy to be played with. The minutes silence is a chance to reflect on whatever poor cunt from one side has been ordered to go out and stick a bayonet through some other poor cunt on the other side. And that's it. Period. No politics. No one mans terror ya de fucking da, just shut the fuck up and make your point after the silence.

The point being can the fans of clubs now decide which silences they do and don't respect? When good old jim, life servant to our opposition club passes away the night before we visit can we just take it upon ourselves to say you know what, good and old he might have been, but he was fuck all to my club so I'll just continue to sing thank you very much?

Of course not.

I see on another site its being alleged police went in and arrested singers? Any soothers care to comment. Can't say I was aware of any intervention, but then I was in the posh seats.

I'm in RDS lower at the south stand side. Couldnt really make out the culprits but it seemed to be up the back as alot of the Celtic fans down the front were turned looking up at them. most telling them to shut it to be fair.

The cops steamed in after the minute whistle and went up towards the back but couldnt really see who got lifted. A real sickening sight. If it was any other club they would be wiping the floor with them.

This is why i said previously that we should keep non-football stuff away from football.

I am tired of football fans - who would do or say anyting to wind up the opposition - behaving like shocked Victorian Gentlemen / "Outraged of Turnbridge Wells" etc, whenever the opposition succeed in winding them up in return.

A football match is the last place on earth I would expect respect or decorum to be shown - for anything.

And about "offensive songs" etc in general - whatever happened to freedom of speech?

I either think we need to have more common sense as to what happens at the football, or some people need thicker skin.

This is why i said previously that we should keep non-football stuff away from football.

I am tired of football fans - who would do or say anyting to wind up the opposition - behaving like shocked Victorian Gentlemen / "Outraged of Turnbridge Wells" etc, whenever the opposition succeed in winding them up in return.

A football match is the last place on earth I would expect respect or decorum to be shown - for anything.

And about "offensive songs" etc in general - whatever happened to freedom of speech?

I either think we need to have more common sense as to what happens at the football, or some people need thicker skin.

Oh fuck off. Footballers died. That point's been made. You're wrong. Shut up if you've nothing sensible to say. In fact, more Celtic players died during the Great War than Aberdeen players iirc and seen as it was 100 years since, they could have chosen to respect them rather than ruin the whole clubs, albeit rather tarnished, reputation.

In short, footballers died, if you don't want to respect them then fuck off outside until it's over.

A minute silence at the Cenotaph or at Pittodrie can both be easily disrupted if you have arseholes present. Fuck me we've had poppy sellers attacked in the streets.

Just because some fucking morons can't have some decency to sit quiet for 1 minute then why should we stop it? Isn't that what these idiots want us to do.

Aberdeen fans have sang during a minute silence at Ibrox before. Every support has a fair amount of mongs resided in them.

I remember one boy shouting early thinking the whistle had gone, I can never remember singing through one though.

EDIT: Never mind, it was in '97, nae fucking wonder I canna mine it! The silence was for a Rangers player and for the Ibrox disaster, a bitty different but scummy nonetheless.

It is the point though, as I said earlier. As soon as you allow clubs and /or their fans to decide which minutes silence they do and don't want to observe you're on thin ice. Yes there's a responsibility on the part of the authorities to use a bit of sense. I don't expect to hear a call for a minutes silence when a member of One fucking Direction carks it no doubt drug fuelled and jammed up a 15year old's tradesman's. I'm not even huge on it for great servants to Scottish football per se if they have no connection to a particular club or worse a destructive connection (Walter Smith would be an example that springs to mind, for illustrative purposes and duly acknowledging the fact of course that is, he's no deid!).

If its a silence, shut the fuck up. Spend the next 90 minutes winding them up if you must.