#badcock V Shankland

Goodwillie's on a contract that expires at the end of the season… Available on a pre contract soon… Virtually anonymous today, inconsistent at best.

Shankland has huge potential but not getting first team game time…

Personally, I don't think the Goodwillie experiment has been a failure, but I'm not sure he's worthy of an extended contract. I'd love to see Shankland getting his game time instead and a chance to develop a relationship with Rooney (that of course assumes that we might play 4-4-2 again).

What do you think ? #Badcock worthy of a contract extension or give Shankland the chance to shine ? DelBoy did what needed to be done with TFWTG, will he make the call on Lawro ?

I'm with Snoyl here - just watch Goodwillie off the ball...

We are allowed to have more than two good strikers at the club - I think may of us have become not used to it.

Remember the days of Shearer, Booth, Mixu, and Jess - did us no harm at all.

If we lose one to injury, we've got the strength in depth.

Shankland looks like a great spot by Derek - he tried to get Andrew Robertson at the same time, glad he got one!

If it came down to a decision between the 2 I'd go for Shankland.

Goodwillie has flattered to deceive and aside from Dundee goal at Dens he's struggling to get up to speed/fit in. Yes his movement off the ball is good, but his final ball is often poor.

Shankland deserves more than the odd 5 minute cameos he's getting at the moment.

That said, can't we have both?

Can't have too many good strikers

If McHunnes set the team up to play to the strengths of our forwards then we'd see a much better side to both Goodwillie and Rooney, at times today Goodwillie had his back to goal and no one close to him to pass to or flick it on to, he relies heavily on short sharp link up play but we don't set up for that, well we haven't for a few weeks now, Pawlett and Mcginn were far worse than Goodwillie today aswell.

There is a real case for saying that shankers displays and goals last season out on loan have warranted an extended run. But he is untried at this level, despite his point blank effort at Hamilton the other week.

As for goodwillie I was one of those that looked at his body language, the holding his cuffs between his palm and fingers, his looking down , shaking his head, always walking about, he looks disinterested, lethargic, lazy, uninterested, but I've spoken to those that know him and they say that's his common demeanour, it does him no favours.

But then I watch him and see he has ability far above our level, against st.mirren in the 2-2 draw he had piece of skill over beside the dugouts that left 4 st Mirren players totally bewildered, he has got that stroke of genius in him. Does he show it enough, probably not.

I'd be backing Shankland on this one...Goodwillie has never impressed me...great skills but lazy as fuck and lacking the killer touch...

Certainly not lazy. You are not all there on this one.

How much have people seen of Shankland?

I get that's kind of the point, but you can't argue that he should get regular starts based on fleeting appearances here and there.

I've not seen the under 20's at all this season so I can't really comment on Shankland and whether he should be starting or is ready to make the step up etc.

On Goodwillie I think he's quality and deserves the chance to continue to try and earn himself a new deal.

U20's record (especially of late) is unquestionable, the lad has been on fire. As for first team,,, the little we've seen of him he's been fine in my eyes. More than held his own physically & done EVERYTHING that has been asked of him. Especially v Partick. he was asked to come on & waste time. Hold onto the ball & run the clock down & for a young lad doing that he more than done his duty. Shanky is the future for us but I want BOTH him & DG to renew their deals.

Sorry to labour the point but I genuinely feel GW struggling isn't helped by having McGinn strolling about deep rather than beside him. Pawlett needs to get in much closer to him, a bit like he used to do with robson. Without going all Last of the Mohicans, the spare man needs to be running into the wide gaps and players of GW and pawlett's ability will find them. We're just not getting that movement on the right that Hayes gives us on the left.

Goodwillie was played as a lone striker for most of the game with Rooney playing deeper. It doesn't suit either player and it would have made more sense swapping them and using Goodwillies link up play between the midfield and Rooney.

He looks disinterested but it's just the way he is. If you watch him, he's alert as fuck to everything...the looking disinterested might work in his favour if the opposition think he's not not paying attention or whatever.

He doesn't score that many, but almost every goal in open play comes through him and his link up play is second to none.

Who would I keep? stupid question. Seasoned pro and a youngster? why would you not keep both.

edit - I'm embarrassed at the number of clichés I fitted in there. Surprised I never subconsciously slipped in a "game of two halves" comment.

Oh aye, in terms of the OP, if GW doesn't want to stay then it should be all effort to keep Shankland. I see enough in both to offer contracts, perhaps as someone said, shorter for GW and longer for Shankland. Game time for Shankland for a more thorough assessment would be good, but then we're back to system and personnel again and I think I've made my current feelings clear on that.

And again I highlight that I'll always defer opinion to the heroes that actually get to all the matches.

Watched the game on the telly and what is wrong with Niall Mcginns face. He looks as though he is gonny burst oot greetin when young SHANKS came on. Think GW is a great player when he wants to be. His body language sometimes can come across as very childlike.

Sign GW and give SHANKS to the PARS (well thats what my mate would love to happen) Its nae gonny though.