Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 23, 2014 Share Posted November 23, 2014 Amazing / shocking to think that it was quarter of a century ago that we signed Gillhaus....... Says he's always kept in touch with McLeish, who now lives close-by as he is manager of Genk. http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/hans-gillhaus-recalls-aberdeen-highlights-1-3613384 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Good piece. Pity we shafted him though & he has "some" bad feelings towards our club cos I will always only have awesome memories of him. Can only dream of having players of his quality with us again. Link to comment
Hewitt a the pies Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Remember both those games and can't believe that's 25 years ago!!Also remember the 5-0 defeat by St Johnstone!! Beginning of the end for the glory days! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 I like how Hans glosses over St Johnstonegate. He cant recall Jazzer calling him a homo or whatever happened. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Signing a Dutch international because he's lost his starting place to ROMARIO. Being born in 1987, shit like that just doesn't seem to make any sense. Signing a player who was half decent in Scotland but flopped in England... Now that's more like it 2 Link to comment
boboisared Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Signing a Dutch international because he's lost his starting place to ROMARIO. Being born in 1987, shit like that just doesn't seem to make any sense. Signing a player who was half decent in Scotland but flopped in England... Now that's more like it :hysterical: Link to comment
boboisared Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Used to play fitba with Bett. He denied this rumour!Sounds a bit ridiculous to me to be honest. We lost 5-0 because one player asked the other for a ride before the game? 1 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Sounds a bit ridiculous to me to be honest. We lost 5-0 because one player asked the other for a ride before the game?Stranger things have happened.Surely must happen all the time... Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 24, 2014 Author Share Posted November 24, 2014 Remember both those games and can't believe that's 25 years ago!!Also remember the 5-0 defeat by St Johnstone!! Beginning of the end for the glory days! I will take the feeling I had right after the St Johnstone drubbing to my grave. Even though weve had worse beastings since (eg to sellick etc) none have quite matched the horror of that day. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 I will take the feeling I had right after the St Johnstone drubbing to my grave. Even though weve had worse beastings since (eg to sellick etc) none have quite matched the horror of that day.I'd say it's about half way, on the one - Queen of the South scale personally. Link to comment
ABZ Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Sounds a bit ridiculous to me to be honest. We lost 5-0 because one player asked the other for a ride before the game? What is the actual rumour? I was always under the impression McLeish and Hans had a scrap, but Hans mentions he's good mates with McLeish in thon article... Heard various tall tales through the years. Hans brought his partner on the bus.The dutch guys knew about but nobody else did.Mass scrapping.Dutch lot ended up getting a taxi home post match. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Used to play fitba with Bett. He denied this rumour! Unless someone who was on the actual bus was lying to me, then Betty babes was telling you porkies. ABZ tells the tale correctly, if my source is to be believed. Link to comment
tup Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Was it not that McLeish caught Gilhaus making unwanted advances on Eoin Jess? Link to comment
ABZ Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Was it not that McLeish caught Gilhaus making unwanted advances on Eoin Jess? Both Jess and McLeish weren't even in the team that day. Link to comment
Hewitt a the pies Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 The article says he has 2 kids! This would surely negate the "Cackpipe Cosmonaut conspiracy theory" ? Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 You read that article and think thank god for Bosman. It's got more things right than wrong. Reprehensible shit to hold onto a players registration for a fee but not play him. Terrible. Especially bad given how bloody awesome he was. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 willie miller ran him out of pittodrie, cunt Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 The article says he has 2 kids! This would surely negate the "Cackpipe Cosmonaut conspiracy theory" ?Gregg Carroll Link to comment
boboisared Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 willie miller ran him out of pittodrie, cuntWhy? Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 He chose the moment to reveal his gay lover as an away trip on the Team Coach? If it's true......then he's not just a poofter but a daft one. Nope. It was common among the players but Bett wasn't too happy about him being on the bus. Link to comment
tup Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 I think Kick it Out need to be having a word with Jim Bett. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Gillhaus was probably the most naturally gifted player we've had aside from Willie Miller. Even the most Tim-minded, ignorant mate of mine admitted to his arse falling out every time Gillhaus ran at the Celtic defence... The only other players I can think of who matched Gilhaus in ability, playing in Scotland, are Miller, Laudrup, Gascoigne, and Larsson. Personally I don't believe the rumors, but even if he was the gayest of the gays, with a flaming crush on Jim Bett (and let's be honest, Gillhaus could have done a lot better than Jim Bett, who was average looking at best) , I wouldn't give a fuck. He accused Aberdonians of having a 'Village Mentality', which I didn't really understand until much later, but he was spot on in his analysis. Dutch Internationalist Dons Player... fuck me.. them were the days. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Yep, we look back on tbat season and the ibrox final day defeat as the day we lost the league but that day at mcdiarmid that Autumn afternoon proved to be costlier had we won that the final game would have been irrevelent.So may stories, the one I heard was that Gillhaus travelled down to Perth with his lover that day, and was late arriving, and when Smith said he would play him McLeish refused to play and Gregg Watson took his place, I heard the fighting took place on the way home on the bus, Also heard rumours that there was a club in town at the time, called go Dutch, and Hans was riding a dame from there. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 Oh and regarding the article, yes Hans you were there you started the game on the 29th September, 1990.although Craig Robertson appeared im not surprised he wants to forget the game Link to comment
LeDandy Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 The rumours were rife at the time and everyone had heard the same one that it all kicked off on the bus , Kelts jogged my memory too there and it's maybe a reason a lot of Aberdeen whiters flit to edinburgh , Village mentality and all that . Guillhaus was an absolute steal at 650k , if i remember rightly Paul wright who had struck up a brilliant partnership with nicholas had fucked off and needed replacing , enter Hans ............. Fucking brilliant player !! Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 I know a wifie who is an estate agent. She showed Gillhaus round some hooses. He was always accompanied by a male friend. Now while this may scream raging poofer to folk in Aberdeen, it's maybe common practice in Holland. Blurto? 1 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted November 25, 2014 Share Posted November 25, 2014 I'm sorry which part of throwing a confectionary packaging operative and his co worker off a bus, and auld grannies openly carrying in bunches of bananas to throw at mark Walters leads you to this fanciful notion of village mentality exactly? Link to comment