phoenix Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 This jist in: THE WHITE HOOSE WASHINGTON Yesterday, after more than 50 years, we began to change America's relationship with the people of Cuba.We are recognizing the struggle and sacrifice of the Cuban people, both in the U.S. and in Cuba, and ending an outdated approach that has failed to advance U.S. interests for decades. In doing so, we will begin to normalize relations between our two countries.I was born in 1961, just over two years after Fidel Castro took power in Cuba, and just as the U.S. severed diplomatic relations with that country.Our complicated relationship with this nation played out over the course of my lifetime -- against the backdrop of the Cold War, with our steadfast opposition to communism in the foreground. Year after year, an ideological and economic barrier hardened between us.That previous approach failed to promote change, and it's failed to empower or engage the Cuban people. It's time to cut loose the shackles of the past and reach for a new and better future with this country.I want you to know exactly what our new approach will mean.First, I have instructed Secretary of State John Kerry to immediately begin discussions with Cuba to re-establish diplomatic relations that have been severed since 1961. Going forward, we will re-establish an embassy in Havana, and high-ranking officials will once again visit Cuba.Second, I have also instructed Secretary Kerry to review Cuba's designation as a State Sponsor of Terrorism -- a review guided by the facts and the law. At a time when we are focused on threats from ISIL and al Qaeda, a nation that meets our conditions and renounces terrorism should not face such a sanction.Third, we'll take steps to increase travel, commerce, and the flow of information to -- and from -- Cuba. These steps will make it easier for Americans to travel to Cuba. They will make it easier for Americans to conduct authorized trade with Cuba, including exports of food, medicine, and medical products to Cuba. And they will facilitate increased telecommunications connections between our two countries: American businesses will be able to sell goods that enable Cubans to communicate with the United States and other countries.Our country is cutting that burden loose to reach for a better future. Thank you,President Barack Obama Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Decent postal service there 'Nixx or did Barack DHL you the letter? Link to comment
phoenix Posted December 19, 2014 Author Share Posted December 19, 2014 Welcome back Phoenix. Cheers Pash , good to be back , lots to stimulate this aul' brain in here , lookin' forrit t'ilt ! Link to comment
phoenix Posted December 19, 2014 Author Share Posted December 19, 2014 Decent postal service there 'Nixx or did Barack DHL you the letter? Aye BEB , Barack's a close personal friend. Link to comment
Tommy Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Aye BEB , Barack's a close personal friend. Good to see you posting Phoenix - Stand Free bud. All very well having him as a close personal friend but do you know Buzz? Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Aye aye nixx. Keeping well? Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Take a Looooooooooooooooooooooook ! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NuMtZstnoT8 Link to comment
rumpus Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 I hope they make friends with Vietnam as well. When it comes to purchasing my beach bar and jet ski bizness, more tourists the better.. You are welcome for a free beer anytime Mr Phoenix. Link to comment