Geoff_Tipps Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Why the fuck does everyone in Ireland say this instead of thank you? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Hurling... what the fuck's that all about? Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted December 19, 2014 Author Share Posted December 19, 2014 We call it spewing in the UK Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 I think that Irish people try to avoid using the /th/ phoneme as a word initial phoneme. They often can't pronounce it well: thanks =tanks. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Why the fuck does everyone in Ireland say this instead of thank you?1 million is the cardinal number from 1000 x 1000. It's a religious thing. 1000 in Irish is "mile" You'd walk a mile to see a Cardinal and get his blessing then a mile home. So mile x mile translates as 1000 x 1000. In other words you'd get a million for a blessing or thank you. Thanks a million. You're welcome. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Hurling... what the fuck's that all about?Is it not a sporting cousin of Shinty? Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted December 19, 2014 Author Share Posted December 19, 2014 1 million is the cardinal number from 1000 x 1000. It's a religious thing. 1000 in Irish is "mile" You'd walk a mile to see a Cardinal and get his blessing then a mile home. So mile x mile translates as 1000 x 1000. In other words you'd get a million for a blessing or thank you. Thanks a million. You're welcome. Thanks a million. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Thanks a million.Fuck off you tim bastard. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 You'd walk a mile to see a Cardinal and get his blessing then a mile home. Everyone lived in an exactly 1 mile radius of their local cardinal? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Everyone lived in an exactly 1 mile radius of their local cardinal?No idea. I made that bit up. Sounds plausible though. The Cardinal living on top on a big hill a mile away from the parish fucking children left right and centre. Link to comment
daytripping Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 What about top of the morning too yeh. What's that all about, what's wrong with the middle and the bottom of the morning. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 What about top of the morning too yeh. What's that all about, what's wrong with the middle and the bottom of the morning. Don't mind if I do http://youtu.be/BWDrTwq5K-4 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Was waiting for that.Goof work Kelt Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 At the top of the morning = nearly mid day so brightness & sunshine to you, I would've thought. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 19, 2014 Share Posted December 19, 2014 Was any of House of Pain Irish ? Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted December 20, 2014 Share Posted December 20, 2014 I fucking hate the Irish. Dropick Murphys are good but then again they arent even Irish. Fake Irish cunts. Link to comment
tup Posted December 20, 2014 Share Posted December 20, 2014 See my 'what do you think of Irish people' thread for the full lowdown on them. It caused widespread outrage I was even accused of being racist to Johnny Hayes. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 20, 2014 Share Posted December 20, 2014 No it didnt baldy. Calm diwn Stop getting excited. 5 Link to comment
tup Posted December 20, 2014 Share Posted December 20, 2014 I canna be arsed starting threads on here anymore and the popularity of the site has gone through the floor as a result. I can start again for a fee. 1 Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 I canna be arsed starting threads on here anymore and the popularity of the site has gone through the floor as a result. I can start again for a feel of Boof's wife. Everyone else gets too. Link to comment
tup Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 I've never met boofons wife, I suspect she will be posh, so we probably wouldna get on. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 Nae able to mix with superior folk like tup? Makes sense like, I seem to get your back up without trying. Dinna worry though I dinna hold your lowly social standing against you. Link to comment
tup Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 No, you try very hard to rile me constantly. You should be banned for it. The mods are getting the board they deserve by tolerating it. I dinna get along with posh folk. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 Right,... Let's put our sensible caps on. Why can't you get on with posh folk?Whatever 'posh' means. On the face of that it's just (inverted) snobbery, is it not. To me, that says more about you and your social skills than it does about 'posh' folk.Inferiority complex? Im nae posh in the sense I think you mean but I'm educated and experienced enough to hold my own in any social setting g with anyone Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 Am posh as Fuck is that why a cunt hates me? Link to comment
tup Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 Right,... Let's put our sensible caps on.Why can't you get on with posh folk?Whatever 'posh' means.On the face of that it's just (inverted) snobbery, is it not.To me, that says more about you and your social skills than it does about 'posh' folk.Inferiority complex?Im nae posh in the sense I think you mean but I'm educated and experienced enough to hold my own in any social setting g with anyoneNever really looked into it much. To me, the true posh hate football. They love rugby. I prefer to mix with the working class. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 Brought up in more rugby playing g schools, I guess. Hardly a crime. Some idiots even prefer golf to football.Weirdos. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted December 21, 2014 Share Posted December 21, 2014 So by your own definition, Tup, why would you suppose Mrs Boofon is posh then? Since it's very often the case women like neither of those sport? And on the side of being non-posh, she's married to a man that likes football. So wouldn't you assume you'd get on with her rather than not, if and until proven otherwise? And a Merry Christmas, Tup to you and yours! LGIR x 1 Link to comment