RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Made a huge mistake of buying a Tesco steak the other week. After the bland taste I thought it about time I visited the butchers. Have not looked back. Tomorrow I make my weekly visit to Aberdeenshire Larder. Chicken stuffed with oatmeal, beef olives stuffed with sausage meat, gammon steaks, probs a pie. Will see what else is kicking about. Anyone else a regular at the butchers? What's your tipple? Link to comment
tup Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Beef olives are shit hot. I'm a butcher regular. They do oak smoked bacon in my local and I love smoked bacon. Best bacon I've ever had. I'm a huge fan of black pudding as I've said in a previous thread. In fact there is very little available from the butchers that I dinna like. You get great tatties as well. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Beef olives are shit hot. .They'd be shitter cold. 7 Link to comment
tup Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 They are doing kangaroo and antelope just now in the local butcher. I've not tried it I must admit. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 They are doing kangaroo and antelope just now in the local butcher. I've not tried it I must admit.Have had a kangaroo burger in London. Was actually really fine. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 Beef olives are shit hot. I'm a butcher regular. They do oak smoked bacon in my local and I love smoked bacon. Best bacon I've ever had. I'm a huge fan of black pudding as I've said in a previous thread. In fact there is very little available from the butchers that I dinna like. You get great tatties as well.The larder does Stornaway black pudding. Fine as. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 I regularly used supermarket diced chicken in a curry. What a fool I was. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 I regularly used supermarket diced chicken in a curry. What a fool I was.Many would say you still are. 4 Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Aye, Andrew Gordon is really good. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 For a steak pie I recommend Harry Milne in Bucksburn.For meat, I recommend the butcher in Inverurie (Davidsons) but for even finer meat and selection, go to Andrew Gordon on Chattan Place In Aberdeen.If you haven't been to those 3 places then you are missing out.I'm a big fan of the chicken and ham pies. Never been overly keen on steak pies but > mince. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 Many would say you still are.I'll batter you like a fish on Saturday old man. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 I'll batter you like a fish on Saturday old man.Name the plaice. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 For a steak pie I recommend Harry Milne in Bucksburn.For meat, I recommend the butcher in Inverurie (Davidsons) but for even finer meat and selection, go to Andrew Gordon on Chattan Place In Aberdeen.If you haven't been to those 3 places then you are missing out.I used to work at Harry Milnes, the pies are great, the pastry is added by Chalmers across the road from the butcher, quality product. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 Name the plaice.The Butchers Arms, strong place. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 The Butchers Arms, strong place.You'll hae Thalidomide arms by the time I've dealt with you. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 I used to work at Harry Milnes, the pies are great, the pastry is added by Chalmers across the road from the butcher, quality product.Shows signs of a quality establishment. May visit. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Tomorrow I make my weekly visit to Aberdeenshire Larder.Do they not de liver? 2 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Just use the butcher in BOD, nae the cheapest but it's all decent enough. Apart fae the fact he puts hair bands on his beef olives to keep them together. Always meant to go to the Tilly butcher seems to be advertising a lot of different things on Facebook, anyone been? Been to Andrew Gordon once, pre ordered some shank on the bone but sliced. Got it unsliced with the biggest fucking bone going in it taking up half the weight, nae been since. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Herds in Rosemount do cracking pies...steak , mince and mealie and chicken and mealie...in that order... Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Just use the butcher in BOD, nae the cheapest but it's all decent enough. Apart fae the fact he puts hair bands on his beef olives to keep them together. Always meant to go to the Tilly butcher seems to be advertising a lot of different things on Facebook, anyone been? Been to Andrew Gordon once, pre ordered some shank on the bone but sliced. Got it unsliced with the biggest fucking bone going in it taking up half the weight, nae been since.Not sure there was one in it https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwpouzNli8A Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Do they not de liver?The wok would do you good. 1 Link to comment
360 Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 R.I.P. to the butchers in Torphins. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 The wok would do you good. offal pun min Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 Just use the butcher in BOD, nae the cheapest but it's all decent enough. Apart fae the fact he puts hair bands on his beef olives to keep them together. Always meant to go to the Tilly butcher seems to be advertising a lot of different things on Facebook, anyone been? Been to Andrew Gordon once, pre ordered some shank on the bone but sliced. Got it unsliced with the biggest fucking bone going in it taking up half the weight, nae been since. Lead to believe the butcher in Tilly does burgers with cheese impreganted into the patty. What an absolute bounce! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 5, 2015 Author Share Posted February 5, 2015 Before you go home from work one day go in past Harry Milne in Bucksburn (the butcher on Inverurie road rather than the one closest to Four Mile) and I have genuine belief you'll change your mind on steak pies. It's unreal. Pastry is just class as well. If you don't like it (which won't be the case) then send me the bill for it. I'm that confident. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 6, 2015 Share Posted February 6, 2015 Beef olives are shit hot. I'm a butcher regular. They do oak smoked bacon in my local and I love smoked bacon. Best bacon I've ever had. I'm a huge fan of black pudding as I've said in a previous thread. In fact there is very little available from the butchers that I dinna like. You get great tatties as well. You like their pies a bit too much if you ask me. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted February 6, 2015 Share Posted February 6, 2015 I'm make quite a lovely Steak Pie.It's all about the slow cook and this is where I utilize the Slow Cooker.Half a tin of stout in about it for extra depth, a gentlemans shake of Worcester and some chopped carrot. Eight hours later a reduced meaty delight.Nice! Use booze in the recipe and scoof the rest, always the best chuffing skill! Supermarket meat is pish, it's produced to look a nice red colour which is attractive to look at but in the end is a bit bowff and not as nice as you thought.......... sh**e, just described most of the wimmin I've pulled Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted February 6, 2015 Share Posted February 6, 2015 That should say cheffing, but still reads ok Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 6, 2015 Author Share Posted February 6, 2015 Not long now. http://www.aberdeenshirelarder.co.uk/products/ Link to comment