MikeyT83 Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Amongst all the recent talk of Graeme Shinnie, who I think everyone agrees is a great addition, I'd like to mention our other full back. Best of a bad lot last week, and great today. His recent form has shown him to be the best RB in red for a while. Keep it up lad, with you on the right and GS on the left next year + an Anderson replacement with Reynolds, our 1st choice defence for next year could be Scotlands best. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 What's wrong with Ash Taylor like? Also, wouldn't be surprised if GS played midfield. I agree Logan is playing well though. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 an Anderson replacement with Reynolds.Someone like Ash Taylor maybe...you appear to be a bit slow chief. Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 7, 2015 Author Share Posted February 7, 2015 Freeing up Andersons wage gives us an option for another CH, and I would like cover in there, in case we end up in a position like now. The Taylor/Reynolds combo is great, not so much the Considine/Reynolds - I'd like another right sided CH first team player next year. Anyway, whether it's Ash and Reynolds or someone else, I meant this thread as praise for Shay - not sure how that's being slow at all. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Freeing up Andersons wage gives us an option for another CH, and I would like cover in there, in case we end up in a position like now. The Taylor/Reynolds combo is great, not so much the Considine/Reynolds - I'd like another right sided CH first team player next year. Anyway, whether it's Ash and Reynolds or someone else, I meant this thread as praise for Shay - not sure how that's being slow at all.That would be Daniels I'm guessing... Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 I actually thought apart from his great goal that he was pish today. Wasting possession and some dreadful crosses. That's just today though. 4-0 win and a great goal... If that's him AFF it that says it all. Been a great addition the last year. Best right back since........................... When did we even last have a good right back? Mcnaughton! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Signing cover is a good idea... I reckon we should go in for a Willie Miller style youngster who will become World Class and we can sell for 15 miilion Pounds UK. I'm surprised the club hasn't thought to do this yet. Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 7, 2015 Author Share Posted February 7, 2015 Just been debating that question during our post match beers. I suggested McNaughton but was shouted down as he wasn't an out and out RB. Fucking pedants all over the shop! Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 7, 2015 Author Share Posted February 7, 2015 Daniels will be off a la Hector if he does well for us. A bit slow there chief Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Daniels will be off a la Hector if he does well for us. A bit slow there chiefObviously...you're streets ahead...what's your thinking...who should we be targeting? Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 7, 2015 Author Share Posted February 7, 2015 Nah mate, I'm far fae streets ahead - in fact half pished right now, I'm struggling to think. I'll leave that to Deek, he has a better track record. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Daniels will be off a la Hector if he does well for us. A bit slow there chiefPlayers like playing here. They seem to be happy enough to take less dough to be here and, going by what I've seen so far, hopefully Daniels will be one of those cases. We were unlucky with Hector in that Reading had a mass shortage of centre halfs. Hopefully this one turns out a wee bitty better and we can keep him and get some dosh once he turns out a star. Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 7, 2015 Author Share Posted February 7, 2015 I think that after seeing Daniels for about 110ish minutes since he's arrived I reckon he'll be a good fit with us in the SPFL. I like the cut o his jib. Who knows what's really going on in his head re:next season. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Just been debating that question during our post match beers. I suggested McNaughton but was shouted down as he wasn't an out and out RB. Fucking pedants all over the shop! Stuart Kennedy was our best right back. Ever.Closely followed by Jerel Ifil. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Shay played well um yes but hasnt been as good in 2015 as he was in 2014 been starting to make little mistakes. Chance for Joe to show what he can do yesterday - he is in the last chance saloon now Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 I dinna think Logan is that great a defender TBH.I think we could do better. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Our fans have short memories. Can you be mair specific? I dinna ken if you are agreeing with those that think he is good or those that think he's nae that great. Or is it nae related to Logan ata and just a general assertion. I do ken my memory is fucking woeful. Drink and age related obvs. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Seems a good lad Shay, decent player as well. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Sounds like a fucking moron, but who cares if he does the job on the pitch. For clarity, I mean as a footballer... Link to comment
caledonia Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Logan is doing the business on and off the park Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 We can always bring in better players, regardless of position, but at our level I think we're in pretty good shape in most areas of the pitch. Logan's in no need of replacing, and he's got the best goal celebration since McGhee's classic 'Belt round the pitch pointing furiously at nothing in particular' routine. Good control, gets forward to help the attack, smashing dancer.... Goodwillie doesn't score as many goals as I'd like, but his hold up and link up play is about the best at the club. I'd use him in a Jess-style role in the middle of the park, just behind Hans Klopek. Shaugnessy I think is underrated inna, btw. So that's what I think. Link to comment
mutant Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 If Anderson is finished , his wage should be used to bring in a quality keeper , Brown is not the answer , someone with a good pedigree , down the kjaer road Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Let's just sign Kjaer. Must be about 50 now but surely better than what we've had since! Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 15, 2015 Author Share Posted February 15, 2015 Not sure about the negatives from some folk about Logan this year - he had a wee dodgy spell, but the last three games in a row I've been too, and he's put in a shift in each one. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 Not sure about the negatives from some folk about Logan this year - he had a wee dodgy spell, but the last three games in a row I've been too, and he's put in a shift in each one.There's putting in a shift and there's pushing up forward so you then neglect your defensive duties and you loose your man and goals are conceded.He's great but he needs to concentrate more during a game and k keep an eye on his man. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 There's putting in a shift and there's pushing up forward so you then neglect your defensive duties and you loose your man and goals are conceded.He's great but he needs to concentrate more during a game and k keep an eye on his man.Attacking full backs are always going to be vulnerable to a few mistakes defensively (& the grief that comes from this) especially against fast opposite numbers as he was Today v Hendrie.That Hendrie lad is a decent player & a player I'd have liked us to take an interest in had we not secured Shinnie. Logan is a very good FB even though he is weaker defensively than attacking but he brings a lot to the team. Really looking forward to next season with him on one side & Shinnie on the other. Harsh for Considine given how good he's been (both defensively & attacking) at left back this season but it just means Shinnie will have to be at his best to keep out Considine. Could be a quiet Summer window for us. Possible replacement for Jack & a decent keeper being the MAIN signings I'd assume. All the rest will be luxury signings if at all. Good time to be sniffing out the young potential stars for the future from the lower levels, seen as the first team shouldn't need any major surgery for a while. Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 16, 2015 Author Share Posted February 16, 2015 Pretty much agree with all of this f and d, although in the summer, if Daniels goes back down the road I'd like experienced cover in the form of a right sided CH, in case we lose Ash or Mark to injury as is the case just now. Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 16, 2015 Author Share Posted February 16, 2015 Woops, those replies were meant to be as one /:-) - and thinking about it, if we lost Mark to injury rather than Ash, with Shinnie at LB, maybe Consi would slip into left side CH just fine. I always thought Consi played fine alongside Anderson in a CH pairing, just not so much with Reynolds. Despite the fact that Shinnie/Logan as full backs sounds jizztastic for next season, Consi has been fine at LB recently. Link to comment
MikeyT83 Posted February 16, 2015 Author Share Posted February 16, 2015 Yep Redstar, nae a bad shout (or reasoning!!), re:Consi for captain. Only concern is if Shinnie nicks his place next year, 1. I think it would be a real shame for Andy should he maintain current form, and 2. Could his potential backup status compromise his being chosen for captain? I know there are those on here who will say stick Shinnie in midfield, but for me, Shinnie's a fantastic LB (best in Scotland, arguably), and our midfield is already solid as fuck. Link to comment
Guest Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Has he played his last game for us or am I reading too much into him running over the South Stand after the Almaty game and giving someone his shirt (the only player to do so). Would somewhat stack up with his insipid performances so far this season (perhaps his mind is not on his current job).A right back also training with us? Put it this way, I wouldn't be surprised to see him sold. Link to comment