BillShankly Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Deserves a thread of his own. Absolutely hopeless. Truly awful. Incompetent and embarassing display. Lowlights included: Failing to play a clear advantage when we were through on goal instead giving us a free kick on the halfway line. Denying us a stonewall penalty. I didn't even shout because I was just waiting for him to point at the spot. Stopping the game so that a County player could tie his laces. Adding 1 minute stoppage time at the end of the game despite there being 5 subs made in the second half. Feel free to add any I missed. I appreciate that refs have a hard job but they don't do themselves any favours, failing to get even the basics right. The standard is beyond a joke. Link to comment
Guest Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Deserves a thread of his own. Absolutely hopeless. Truly awful. Incompetent and embarassing display. Lowlights included: Failing to play a clear advantage when we were through on goal instead giving us a free kick on the halfway line. Denying us a stonewall penalty. I didn't even shout because I was just waiting for him to point at the spot. Stopping the game so that a County player could tie his laces. Adding 1 minute stoppage time at the end of the game despite there being 5 subs made in the second half. Feel free to add any I missed. I appreciate that refs have a hard job but they don't do themselves any favours, failing to get even the basics right. The standard is beyond a joke. There were only 3 subs... 2 came on at half time before the game commenced. But sure, there was more than just 1 minute - not that it mattered anyway. He never stopped the game for the County lad putting his boot back on, the ball was out of play for a throw in and he held it until he replaced his boot. Not sure what the rules are regarding that sort of thing...... however.... he was rank without a doubt. Was a pen all day long. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 The saddest thing is as bad as he is, he is probably the best referee we have. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 The saddest thing is as bad as he is, he is probably the best referee we have.I really can't think of a good one. Pish: Andrew DallasCraig ThomsonDick ColumnSteve McLeanCallum MurrayAlan MuirJohn Beaton Decent: None Was it alan Muir that bottled coming out in the second half one game and subbed himself? Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 I must be missing something here...we won 4-0 and we're moaning about the ref...get a fucking grip...ffs Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 I must be missing something here...we won 4-0 and we're moaning about the ref...get a fucking grip...ffsYou really must be. He was absolutely fucking terrible. These weren't little things that you look for in a game if you want to scrutinise the ref, these were massive, glaring mistakes that really held us back. Just because we won doesn't mean the ref was acceptable. To call the game back like he has twice in a week is just unforgivable. 2 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 I really can't think of a good one. Pish: Andrew DallasCraig ThomsonDick ColumnSteve McLeanCallum MurrayAlan MuirJohn Beaton Decent: None Was it alan Muir that bottled coming out in the second half one game and subbed himself?You forgot about our mate Madden Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 You forgot about our mate MaddenAptly named Boaby Link to comment
RUL Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 You really must be. He was absolutely fucking terrible. These weren't little things that you look for in a game if you want to scrutinise the ref, these were massive, glaring mistakes that really held us back. Just because we won doesn't mean the ref was acceptable. To call the game back like he has twice in a week is just unforgivable. Who cares though? If referees were good it would make the game boring. What we wanting, Rugby situations where the game goes on for hours and you have nothing to talk about? Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 Who cares though? If referees were good it would make the game boring. What we wanting, Rugby situations where the game goes on for hours and you have nothing to talk about? Certainly nae us getting the game called back when we're through on goal and denied what looked at the time like a stonewall penalty. I know that ref's can't be perfect and we even discussed that there's some decisions that referees just can't get right with 100% certainty. We really don't want the game stopped every minute or so, but we really have to be getting these decisions right more often. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 7, 2015 Share Posted February 7, 2015 This is why there needs to be instant replays available to the officials. Imagine what a leveller that would be when Celtic comes to town. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted February 8, 2015 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 8, 2015 Actually burst out laughing when he denied us the advantage in the first half (almost a carbon copy his decision in the scum semi last week) then played on for them second half.Always looks so chuffed with himself when he makes a decision too, he's a weird cunt.Said that during the game today too. Struts about the park like he's Airchie yet he's fecking useless. Shocking display again from supposedly our "top" referee Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 He's the soundest ginger Steven Pressley lookalike I know. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Who cares though? If referees were good it would make the game boring. What we wanting, Rugby situations where the game goes on for hours and you have nothing to talk about?As kelt has alluded to already, if we had the advantage of video replays in certain situations we'd have beaten celtic at home this season because that cunt brown would have been sent off earlier than he was and the fouls they committed prior to our goals may not have been committed or they would at least have been caught. There was also the off the ball incident where pawlett took an elbow to the face from that cunt Johannson. I like the rugby and the replays dont really cause that many delays, sometimes it adds to the excitement. I'd rather the right decision is made instead of the likes of celtic getting off with murder because the officials are afraid of him Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 Fuck that. Terrible idea and anything that breaks up the game even more than it already is should be shot down in my eyes. Sitting in the freezing cold watching a 3rd replay of who gets a throw in at Kilmarnock isn't my idea of entertainment. Plain and simple, the refs just need to start doing their jobs properly and not make such glaring and obvious mistakes. Any advancements need to be instantaneous like the goal line technology that's being used. That's an incredible piece of kit that will make the game a lot fairer and still keeps the flow of the game. 1 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 The penalty decision was terrible - but you can see that he might have thought it was a bit of a tangle rather than a foul. The McLean/Jack advantage incident was disgraceful. He actually waited for the advantage then blew for a foul when Jack was clean away in a 2 on 1. Abysmal refereeing. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted February 8, 2015 Share Posted February 8, 2015 As kelt has alluded to already, if we had the advantage of video replays in certain situations we'd have beaten celtic at home this season because that cunt brown would have been sent off earlier than he was and the fouls they committed prior to our goals may not have been committed or they would at least have been caught. There was also the off the ball incident where pawlett took an elbow to the face from that cunt Johannson.I like the rugby and the replays dont really cause that many delays, sometimes it adds to the excitement. I'd rather the right decision is made instead of the likes of celtic getting off with murder because the officials are afraid of himAgree. Don't need replays for every decision just when the ball is already out of play. Give each team a max of 3 challenges to ref's original decision. Play some music while the replay is shown on a big screen. Big neon lights saying CORNER or GOAL KICK. We will all boo. Or cheer. It will be brilliant. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 Fuck that. Terrible idea and anything that breaks up the game even more than it already is should be shot down in my eyes. Sitting in the freezing cold watching a 3rd replay of who gets a throw in at Kilmarnock isn't my idea of entertainment. Plain and simple, the refs just need to start doing their jobs properly and not make such glaring and obvious mistakes. Any advancements need to be instantaneous like the goal line technology that's being used. That's an incredible piece of kit that will make the game a lot fairer and still keeps the flow of the game.I didn't say anything about throw in decisions, it's really naive to think that refs should just start doing their job properly, refs are human and will make mistakes like we all do. Today more than ever they are under scrutiny because we all have the benefit of multiple camera angles and can sit here and criticise. We've reached the point where I think the refs need the help of technology and video replays. There will have to be limits as to what video replays can be used for because it'd be pretty fucking retarded to use it for every decision. Unfortunately I don't think anything will change, due to the the nature of fans and players we'd be screaming for a replay on every decision because we will always try to gain that advantage by claiming for everything, it's part of the game now. We will just have to accept that we are stuck with fitba the way it is and when we take on the likes of celtic and sevco that we wI'll lose the majority of decisions......... Our last home match against celtic being the prime example Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 I didn't say anything about throw in decisions, it's really naive to think that refs should just start doing their job properly, refs are human and will make mistakes like we all do. Today more than ever they are under scrutiny because we all have the benefit of multiple camera angles and can sit here and criticise. We've reached the point where I think the refs need the help of technology and video replays. There will have to be limits as to what video replays can be used for because it'd be pretty fucking retarded to use it for every decision. Unfortunately I don't think anything will change, due to the the nature of fans and players we'd be screaming for a replay on every decision because we will always try to gain that advantage by claiming for everything, it's part of the game now. We will just have to accept that we are stuck with fitba the way it is and when we take on the likes of celtic and sevco that we wI'll lose the majority of decisions......... Our last home match against celtic being the prime example3 points with this one. How do you define what is and isn't a major decision? There's been plenty times that a throw in to the wrong team or a free kick that should have went the other way in the middle of the park has led to a goal. What sensible way can you have to make the game flow and have video ref's work effectively? I don't think challenges would work as managers would use them tactically to take the momentum away from the opposing team. I don't think it's naive to expect Thompson to do better in both the advantage decisions. To make an arse of it that badly two games in a row is absolutely criminal. If that was Sunday League football it's still an absolutely honking decision. I think the reason Celtic get most of the decisions is because they have the ball more often. They've got more tackles going in against them, which means more free kicks, usually more corners and a large fanbase influencing the officials decisions. Oh, and an added point. Why against Sevco? I think the games against Celtic and Dundee United have shown how much of a gulf in class there is between them and there's no chance in hell that they'd have the same possession in a game against us. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 3 points with this one. How do you define what is and isn't a major decision? There's been plenty times that a throw in to the wrong team or a free kick that should have went the other way in the middle of the park has led to a goal. What sensible way can you have to make the game flow and have video ref's work effectively? I don't think challenges would work as managers would use them tactically to take the momentum away from the opposing team. I don't think it's naive to expect Thompson to do better in both the advantage decisions. To make an arse of it that badly two games in a row is absolutely criminal. If that was Sunday League football it's still an absolutely honking decision. I think the reason Celtic get most of the decisions is because they have the ball more often. They've got more tackles going in against them, which means more free kicks, usually more corners and a large fanbase influencing the officials decisions. Oh, and an added point. Why against Sevco? I think the games against Celtic and Dundee United have shown how much of a gulf in class there is between them and there's no chance in hell that they'd have the same possession in a game against us. This is why football will never introduce video replays, we can't decide on when to use them. You said that refs should just do their job properly, you didn't specify that you were referring only to Thomson, I meant refereeing in general as that's what you said. Of course Thomson made an arse of those decisions and they were major fuck ups, there will always be fuck ups, in that instance where Thomson did not play advantage a video reply would not have helped as play had already stopped. however as you were generalising about refs I did the same and I stand by what I said. It's naive to say they should just do their job properly, these guys are human beings and will make mistakes admittedly some are sub standard and should be doing better. Celtic having more possession or more of the ball had nothing to do wth the decisions that costs us at home. Johannson elbowed pawlett in the face when pawlett would have been free in the box had he not been elbowed, I think it was McGinn that was fouled prior to their first goal as was another player before they got a corner which wasn't theirs to have....... Which led to their second goal. None of these had anything to do with celtic having possession or more of the ball. We had more possession than Dundee Utd last week yet we copped the worst of the refereeing decisions (Rooneys goal and the Turkish boy being offside) so having more of the ball is no argument. I mention sevco because clearly the SFA and refs are still afraid of them and their support, case in point being lee elbows McCulloch yesterday. The gulf in class between us and them is obvious but I reckon we'd still be up against the ref if we played them, especially in glasgow 1 Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 Craig Thomson was absolutely pathetic at the weekend. Denied us 2 clear goalscoring opportunities with Jack's advantage he called back and the pen. However I would say was completely useless both ways, he made countless wrong decisions for niggly fouls, jumping into defenders for a header etc. We were laughing at one of his decisions where Brown tipped the ball round the post and he gave a goal kick, we were a good 60-70 yards from the incident and it was clear as day there. If I performed that poorly at my work, i'd be hauled up in front of my boss to explain myself. He'll no doubt be rewarded the next high profile game that comes along instead Pisses me off that these useless fucks keep saying they deserve pay rises and whatnot. Fuck off you don't even deserve the money you get currently Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 This is why football will never introduce video replays, we can't decide on when to use them. You said that refs should just do their job properly, you didn't specify that you were referring only to Thomson, I meant refereeing in general as that's what you said. Of course Thomson made an arse of those decisions and they were major fuck ups, there will always be fuck ups, in that instance where Thomson did not play advantage a video reply would not have helped as play had already stopped. however as you were generalising about refs I did the same and I stand by what I said. It's naive to say they should just do their job properly, these guys are human beings and will make mistakes admittedly some are sub standard and should be doing better. Celtic having more possession or more of the ball had nothing to do wth the decisions that costs us at home. Johannson elbowed pawlett in the face when pawlett would have been free in the box had he not been elbowed, I think it was McGinn that was fouled prior to their first goal as was another player before they got a corner which wasn't theirs to have....... Which led to their second goal. None of these had anything to do with celtic having possession or more of the ball. We had more possession than Dundee Utd last week yet we copped the worst of the refereeing decisions (Rooneys goal and the Turkish boy being offside) so having more of the ball is no argument. I mention sevco because clearly the SFA and refs are still afraid of them and their support, case in point being lee elbows McCulloch yesterday. The gulf in class between us and them is obvious but I reckon we'd still be up against the ref if we played them, especially in glasgow The first point I can totally agree with. Well, it shouldn't ever be introduced, but god knows what Blatter is going to cook up next. My exact quote was the refs just need to start doing their jobs properly and not make such glaring and obvious mistakes. I wasn't just alluding to Thompson as he isn't the only ref to make obvious mistakes, much like Steven McLean did in the semi with Rooney's goal that wasn't that you alluded to. These aren't mistakes, they're errors that shouldn't be made and are glaringly obvious. To say that these should not be happening as commonly as they are isn't naive. Like I said, in any game of football that's a bad decision, never mind a professional. I haven't made my possession point at all well enough. Bloody work getting in the way and nae letting me concentrate They have more of the ball and more chances meaning that when referees do make slight errors, chances are they'll go in Celtic's favour. I don't think the referees are biased per se, although questions must be asked about Steven McLean's brother playing for 'Well and Dundee United where decisions have gone against us, I just think that the referees are so poor that it gives a very strong impression of a bias with them having so many mistakes given their way. There's been games that I've laughed at things going our way, even against the old Old Firm. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 He's the soundest ginger Steven Pressley lookalike I know. Any one with a name Craig Thomson is bound to be a cock anyways... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 Any one with a name Craig Thomson is bound to be a cock anyways...Absolutely correct. The paedo for Hearts and some dickhead baker in Asda immediately spring to mind. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted February 9, 2015 Share Posted February 9, 2015 Ref was a shambles on Saturday but I dont tend to get myself in a state about it. Grown mannies beside us about having a heart attack over the boy doing up his laces. Funny to watch these guys about kill themselves over something so pathetic. 2 Bad decisions. Not allowing advantage when clean through and the Logan foul in the box. Luckily neither had a deciding factor in the result. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 10, 2015 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 10, 2015 I must be missing something here...we won 4-0 and we're moaning about the ref...get a fucking grip...ffsYou are. Cunt of a ref cost us in semi final the week before. All incompetent performances need to be highlighted. 1 Link to comment
gypsymuffin Posted February 10, 2015 Share Posted February 10, 2015 After watching the highlights, I think he got the penalty decision correct. Tangle of legs, no foul. Not playing advantage when McLean was fouled was a terrible decision. He should of let play go on and booked the Ross County player the next time the ball went out of play. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 10, 2015 Share Posted February 10, 2015 After watching the highlights, I think he got the penalty decision correct. Tangle of legs, no foul. Not playing advantage when McLean was fouled was a terrible decision. He should of let play go on and booked the Ross County player the next time the ball went out of play.Is a tangle of legs not a foul? Surely you've still taken down the man whether there was intent or not if you use your body to impede his progress. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 10, 2015 Share Posted February 10, 2015 After watching the highlights, I think he got the penalty decision correct. Tangle of legs, no foul. Not playing advantage when McLean was fouled was a terrible decision. He should of let play go on and booked the Ross County player the next time the ball went out of play.Wow Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 10, 2015 Share Posted February 10, 2015 After watching the highlights, I think he got the penalty decision correct. Tangle of legs, no foul. Not playing advantage when McLean was fouled was a terrible decision. He should of let play go on and booked the Ross County player the next time the ball went out of play. Wow It certainly wasn't as clear cut as it looked at the time but still very much a penalty. Link to comment