StandFree1982 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 As per the title, and going on from the "strikers era" thread, where do you think our current team compare with those of days gone by? We've definitely got the best starting 11 we've had since the early 90s, where we had the likes of Shearer, Jess, Booth, Big Eck etc. I think our current crop would give that team a run for it's money, we are very good going forward and, usually, strong at the back. We were obviously very very strong during the 80s, I'm not old enough to really remember watching Aberdeen back then so i'm relying on clips, other fans memories and the like. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 GK 1 Michael Watt DF 2 Stewart McKimmie DF 3 Stephen Glass MF 4 Brian Grant DF 5 John Inglis DF 6 Gary Smith MF 7 Joe Miller 79' FW 8 Duncan Shearer MF 9 Paul Bernard FW 10 Billy Dodds MF 11 Eoin Jess 85' Substitutes: MF ? Peter Hetherston 85' MF ? Hugh Robertson Looking at the league cup winning team from last time around......... I reckon that would easily take care of the current crop. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 We're close to having the full package. Still a few links in the chain missing thats costing us from making the step up to th enxt level. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 13, 2015 Author Share Posted February 13, 2015 GK 1 Michael Watt DF 2 Stewart McKimmie DF 3 Stephen Glass MF 4 Brian Grant DF 5 John Inglis DF 6 Gary Smith MF 7 Joe Miller 79' FW 8 Duncan Shearer MF 9 Paul Bernard FW 10 Billy Dodds MF 11 Eoin Jess 85' Substitutes: MF ? Peter Hetherston 85' MF ? Hugh Robertson Looking at the league cup winning team from last time around......... I reckon that would easily take care of the current crop. The key areas to look at would be: Shearer v Rooney - I loved Shearer growing up, but I think Rooney is close. Watt v Brown - I don't remember that much about Watt, he was second fiddle to the mighty Theo so didn't see that much of him. Draw!Bernard v Jack - I think Jack wins this. Dodds v Goodwillie - Tough won, Goodwillie is by far a better all round footballer, but Dodds scored a good few goals for us.Glass v Considine - Not a difficult one! Glass v Shinnie however.....Smith v Reynolds - Reynolds on his game is one of the best defenders in Scotland. Think he wins this one, plus he never scored an OG against Rangers in a cup final.....Miller v Hayes - Hayes every day of the week. Jess v Mcginn/Pawlett/McLean - Jess is a hero of mine growing up as well, he will win this regardless. However, we have three of the best attacking midfielders in Scotland right now. McKimmie v Logan - Tough one. McKimmie is a better defender, but Logan offers a lot more with his pace down the wing. I'm going Logan. It would be closer than you think. Especially when you compare the most important element of us now: McInnes v Aitken - McInnes is winning this by a long way. Both have won a League Cup, but McInnes is building a very very good squad that is challenging at the right end of the table. Aitken almost got us relegated with the squad above.... Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 The key areas to look at would be: Shearer v Rooney - I loved Shearer growing up, but I think Rooney is close. Watt v Brown - I don't remember that much about Watt, he was second fiddle to the mighty Theo so didn't see that much of him. Draw!Bernard v Jack - I think Jack wins this. Dodds v Goodwillie - Tough won, Goodwillie is by far a better all round footballer, but Dodds scored a good few goals for us.Glass v Considine - Not a difficult one! Glass v Shinnie however.....Smith v Reynolds - Reynolds on his game is one of the best defenders in Scotland. Think he wins this one, plus he never scored an OG against Rangers in a cup final.....Miller v Hayes - Hayes every day of the week. Jess v Mcginn/Pawlett/McLean - Jess is a hero of mine growing up as well, he will win this regardless. However, we have three of the best attacking midfielders in Scotland right now. McKimmie v Logan - Tough one. McKimmie is a better defender, but Logan offers a lot more with his pace down the wing. I'm going Logan. It would be closer than you think. Especially when you compare the most important element of us now: McInnes v Aitken - McInnes is winning this by a long way. Both have won a League Cup, but McInnes is building a very very good squad that is challenging at the right end of the table. Aitken almost got us relegated with the squad above.... Your looking at that completely the wrong way. What you need to be doing is Shearer / Dodds / Jess / Glass v Logan, Considine, Reynolds, Taylor.......... as much as i like our current defence there is no chance that they are keeping that front line out. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 To say the same as Stoney but different. Dodds built his career on the concept if you give him 10 chances in a match then he'll surely to Christ take one of them probably off his erse. I would have faith in that team to create ten chances against our current defence although I haven't had the viewing pleasure of Deveron Don or whatever the feck he's called. One you missed out. Ash Taylor pre injury versus John Inglis. Ash became a massive player for us. Clearly a confidence dude. The last three matches he'd have matched Inglis no worries. Never shagged Murray's bird right enough! Tell you what. Jess in place of McGinn makes me moist. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Aye jess in this team and we'd be serious contenders. Link to comment
Herouali0 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Football is a different game now - hard to compare! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Players back in the day had bags more skill, but didn't have the sports science of modern players. The Gilhaus - Nicholas era team would shit on the current team, though, of that there's no doubt. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 I'm coming back to this thread when I'm off my phone. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 @StandFree1982, Dodds > Goodwillie all day long. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Today's team would fuck the 1995 gypes up the arse. Brutally. A team that months earlier had been almost relegated... easily the worst AFC team for minimum 20 years.AgainstA team 11 league games unbeaten, 9 wins, 2 draws, within touching distance of top.Easily best team for over 20 years. FFS.Think aboot it. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Today's team would fuck the 1995 gypes up the arse. Brutally. A team that months earlier had been almost relegated... easily the worst AFC team for minimum 20 years.AgainstA team 11 league games unbeaten, 9 wins, 2 draws, within touching distance of top.Easily best team for over 20 years. FFS.Think aboot it. The current league is a shadow of the league in the 90s, though.Accomplishments in the two eras isn't comparing like to like. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Goodwillie and Logan better than Dodds and McKimmie?? What the fuck! Hahaha Worth remembering the standard of Scottish football is well on the decline and we have been assisted by 3 rival teams completely shitting themselves Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Beating Real Madrid in a European Final...signing "Name" Striker's from Arsenal...there really is no comparison to the present day...building a team around Paddy nearly rans and hoping for the best...it is where we are though... Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 I'm putting this in here too.If you compare this fine team, which it is against another fine team in my eyes then it's very close. Snelders>BrownWright>Logan, Mcleish>Taylor, Reynolds>Irvine, Mckimmie>ConsidineJack=Grant, Richardson>Flood, Bett>McLeanHayes>Mason, Jess>McGinnShearer>RooneySubs:Watt>Langfield, Considine>Smith, Connor>Robson, Booth>Goodwillie, Smith>Kane, Paatelainen>Shankland, Pawlett>Roddie The old squad just shades it in my eyes, even if they did win fuck all.Loved watching the 92/93 team. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Our current team are not very good when compared to teams of old, the league is no where near the level it once was and our mediocre team of today couldn't have lived in earlier era's. That's what I think anyway. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 For as much as I like Logan, for anyone to say he is better than McKimmie then they are simply off their fucking trolley Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 For as much as I like Logan, for anyone to say he is better than McKimmie then they are simply off their fucking trolleyAye. @StandFree1982 please come back and back up your absolutely ridiculous statement. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 For as much as I like Logan, for anyone to say he is better than McKimmie then they are simply off their fucking trolley I thought that but didn't want to say. Couple other dubious choices as well on top of that. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 For as much as I like Logan, for anyone to say he is better than McKimmie then they are simply off their fucking trolleyHun filth Stephen Wright was better than Logan. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 For as much as I like Logan, for anyone to say he is better than McKimmie then they are simply off their fucking trolleyTo be fair...Logan seems like a decent chap...where as McKimmie...come on chief...you're better than that. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 To be fair...Logan seems like a decent chap...where as McKimmie...come on chief...you're better than that.Didn't realise we were picking the decent chap 11. My mistake. Fuck off McKimmie Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Didn't realise we were picking the decent chap 11. My mistake.Fuck off McKimmie ...joking aside...is there a bigger prick of an ex-AFC player than McKimmie? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Wright and McKimmie both better than Logan... but Logan is the better dancer. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 McKimmie > Wright > Logan Should go without saying really. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 For as much as I like Logan, for anyone to say he is better than McKimmie then they are simply off their fucking trolley Even towards the end of his career McKimmie was still class. I think opinions on him are generally effected by the fact he is a massive bellend Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 I would like to see the current squad with the addition of Paul Mason, and Bobby Connor, if we were to add them we would be title contenders, Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 ...joking aside...is there a bigger prick of an ex-AFC player than McKimmie?Leighton's a preck. Nae personality about him at all. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 And he's a dour cunt, but give him his due, he was a dab hand at smearing shite on holiday cottage walls. Link to comment