Abramdon Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Hello I'm Abramdon. My first thread didn't generate much interest so I'm starting this one. People at work accuse me of glory seeking. I first began following the Dons in October 1982. I went up to Aberdeen to study Economics. I didn't go up there to join Fergie's bandwagon. I have always loved playing football but didn't support a team. When I was about 8 my Mum bought me a Rangers strip so that I knew I was Protestant. Even at that tender age I knew there was something dodgy and disgusting about the Huns and I didn't take to it. When I went to Aberdeen Uni in 1982, I went to a few games, liked what I saw and became a Dons supporter. I thought winning two trophies a year was normal back then. These were the days!I lost interest for years but began supporting the Dons again in 2013. The first game I went to was the first away game of 2013/14 against Motherwell, 3 1 win for us. Now while they looked much better than under Pa Brown they didn't exactly look like they were going to set the heather on fire. Especially with donkey dick playing up front. So I'm not a glory hunter. I was there while we were still shit.Anyway what's wrong with a bit of glory seeking? I seek that AFC will win the title and get a bit of well deserved glory, Don't we all?Anyway glory seekers buy match tickets and replica shirts. Does the club not need their money? What are we using to buy the next Kenny Mcclean?Attendences are up. If we are nice to them we might turn some of these glory seekers into die hard Dons fans.Just a thought. Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 You talk funny, i think a spell in the deviants corner would sort you right out. You also seem a tad anally retentive for this site min, loosen up let yourself go, let the words flow we all love each other on here (apart from tuppence) PS, We call them Glory hunters Your welcome Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 You're. a cock Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Difficult start on the forum for you. 2 honking threads so far I agree, a spell in the deviants corner will see you right Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Aligning yourself tO the Thought of the Day thread of the What Are You Having For Lunch thread would greatly boost your forum presence. As for glory hunters, fuck em. I've sat on a mini bus going to Paisley/Motherwell/Kilmarnock ready to endure a midweek trip in the snow or hail. Those that turn up for 3 or 4 home games or a trip to Tannadice now and again piss me off. "Oh I'm a massive Aberdeen fan". Fuck off, you enjoy a piss up and a sing song now and again. Totally different kettle of fish if you have reasons why you can't attend though i.e. Cash, work, family etc. the people that just can't be bothered are who the above rant is aimed at. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Aligning yourself tO the Thought of the Day thread of the What Are You Having For Lunch thread would greatly boost your forum presence. As for glory hunters, fuck em. I've sat on a mini bus going to Paisley/Motherwell/Kilmarnock ready to endure a midweek trip in the snow or hail. Those that turn up for 3 or 4 home games or a trip to Tannadice now and again piss me off. "Oh I'm a massive Aberdeen fan". Fuck off, you enjoy a piss up and a sing song now and again. Totally different kettle of fish if you have reasons why you can't attend though i.e. Cash, work, family etc. the people that just can't be bothered are who the above rant is aimed at.That's gloryhunting you utter babboon. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 That's gloryhunting you utter babboon. Nae if he goes for the Thought of the Day it's nae Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Nae if he goes for the Thought of the Day it's nae Good man. Link to comment
lukas989 Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 a cock Touche young man Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Nothing wrong as such with glory hunters but they should be treated with caution. They cannot be replied upon and once success disappears they will be off. They are like sycophants creating hubris around a millionaire or a popstar or a millionaire popstar. Once the money or the hits dry up they bugger off. I console myself with the thought that whilst the glory hunter can easily shake off a poor result they will not feel the same sense euphoric joy at a victory. Link to comment
lukas989 Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 The Irish are the worst glory hunter naysayers. Anyone alludes to a bit of Irishness, and its immediately ' Yor not focken oirsh', as if only they are allowed to be so. Doesnt stop them flooding out of the place to gypo it up in New York or wherever. Arrogant tink cunts. 1 Link to comment
Merkie84 Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 I have met a number of people recently who are mad keen to watch football when it's on in the pub but when you ask them who they support say things like " oh I don't follow any particular team, I just like watching the big games" Wtf is the point in that? 1 Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 The title of this thread meant it was doomed before anyone even posted. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 I have met a number of people recently who are mad keen to watch football when it's on in the pub but when you ask them who they support say things like " oh I don't follow any particular team, I just like watching the big games" Wtf is the point in that?I totally get that. Enjoying football but not supporting a team makes perfect sense. It's like enjoying watching any other sport but not following one player or team. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 I have met a number of people recently who are mad keen to watch football when it's on in the pub but when you ask them who they support say things like " oh I don't follow any particular team, I just like watching the big games" Wtf is the point in that?Probably huns but won't admit it. I've met a lot more "football" fans lately that (as you say) "don't follow any particular teams". Aye a hell of a lot more than I've ever noticed & you can just tell they are "The team formerly known as Rangers" fans. Also you get a lot of fans over past couple of seasons that say they follow some wee diddy first/second div team (or lower) & nae interest in any top flight teams but seem to take an awful lot of interest in the top flight & (more importantly) how bad it is & how it's gone backwards. Again. Obviously R.I.P fc fans Link to comment
Merkie84 Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 I get the analogy with it being like other other sports, but football isn't like other sports.As previously pointed out, if a glory hunter gets less enjoyment following his team on the telly than a real fan does attending games, how can you get as much enjoyment if you don't follow any team at all? I love watching the world cup, euros etc as a neutral, but that is nothing compared to watching the dons score or win. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 28, 2015 Share Posted February 28, 2015 Not so much nowadays but in the past the shorts used to be a lot tighter. Edit.. & shorter Link to comment
Abramdon Posted March 1, 2015 Author Share Posted March 1, 2015 I've re read my original post. What a load of bollocks. I must of been pissed or on drugs when I wrote it. I try to defend glory seekers (what the the hell are glory seekers anyway) after trying to convince you I'm not one myself. Lets draw a line under this right here. Moderators, feel free to delete this thread. In my defence there's a valid point in there somewhere, I just don't know where it is. Link to comment