Sonoftherock Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Think yesterdays match was a good yard stick of where we're at as a team. I also think most supporters would agree unanimously that our current playing staff are the most talented group of footballers we've assembled in some years... particularly after putting up with years of watching Darren Mackies, Richie Byrnes and Richard Fosters! However, on reflection of yesterdays match, the main thing that struck me was how meekly we surrendered after going a goal down. We were completely rudderless. It was actually quite pathetic and what made me even more pissed off was that not a single player took responsibility for the situation. There were no leaders yesterday and Scott Brown was doing his usual, running around kicking/squaring up to players and just generally throwing his weight about. Again, we had nobody who'd stand up to him. As much as I like Reynolds as a player, he isn't a leader. Don't think there is anyone in the midfield who fits the bill either. Kenny McLean looks like a really tidy player and I think we'll see the best of him after a pre-season with the rest of the lads... however, I can't help but think the money could have been better spent. We already have plenty of good footballers, particularly in the midfield, but one thing we lack is an enforcer/leader or just a generally nasty piece of work. Someone who can drive us on when we're chasing the game, who'll get stuck-in or leave the boot in when the situation requires, while also being capable of standing up to the likes of Scott Brown and those of his ilk. Celtic just bullied us in the end - I hate to say it, but we looked like meek little schoolboys in comparison. As a team we are way too nice. Would it be worth sacrificing one of our ball players for a Scott Brown type player? I just think we lack a bit of balance in that respect. 5 Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Not sure I'd sacrifice Maclean (he will be a fantastic signing for us) but I agree we definitely need a midfield general, somebody to take the game and ram it down the oppositions throat then pull it back up and piss all over it. Think I saw a comment yesterday saying that Shinnie does this job well, so if thats the case we need a left back still as considine is no use there against better opposition Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 During the first half our midfield ran rings round thug brown, our issue was not taking our chances. They ran rings round us in the 2nd half after they got a goal against the run of play. If we'd raken our chances we would not have needed an enforcer. Hayes was a massive loss to us and possibly the turning point. So I do disagree with you SOTR, celtic needed a goal against the run of play to get on top. We are only a few signings away IMO and we've got one of them coming to us already, shinnie will strengthen our starting 11. On the subject of thug brown, he should once again have been booked earlier when he was, he gets off with murder, if an aberdeen player tried that they'd be off. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted March 2, 2015 Author Share Posted March 2, 2015 During the first half our midfield ran rings round thug brown, our issue was not taking our chances. They ran rings round us in the 2nd half after they got a goal against the run of play. If we'd raken our chances we would not have needed an enforcer. Hayes was a massive loss to us and possibly the turning point. So I do disagree with you SOTR, celtic needed a goal against the run of play to get on top. We are only a few signings away IMO and we've got one of them coming to us already, shinnie will strengthen our starting 11. On the subject of thug brown, he should once again have been booked earlier when he was, he gets off with murder, if an aberdeen player tried that they'd be off. That's the problem though VDA... from time to time we will lose goals against the run of play. We need to be able to respond to that. Yesterday we just bottled it. I'm advocating bringing in someone with a bit of character and guts, who can stand up for themselves and his team mates, when the chips are down. Yesterdays collapse,in the face of adversity, was just pathetic. As I said, the most worrying thing was that noone took responsibility. The players just accepted it. How can you just surrender the season so meekly? At least fight for it FFS! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 If Jack leaves then we'll have money to spend on a more experienced Midfielder who'll be able to take a game like that by the scruff of the neck. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Agree. To be clear, I don't want a Terry Hurlock or even a Scott Brown for that matter since they won't get the protection that the aforementioned does. Just someone with Macleans ability and Logans attitude to play the simple pass and make sure the ref knows there's two teams on the park. Pawlett would have to slip out (depending on the Jack situation/budget) and Taylor for Daniels/ Shinnie for Consi and there's a team there. In fact I said to a pal (admittedly at 2-0) that I was more depressed about the cup exit now, because the cunts are there for the taking. Maclean reminds me of Jim Bett. Plenty ability which will come good but quiet. Just regarding protection btw, did anyone see the Motherwell match? And the cunt protested about getting sent off tae! Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Flood never got booked early on for a tackle that could have easily brandished a card. Brown at this SPL level is the best at what he does. Totally lifts and drives on his team. He ain't no thug just an aggressive player of which I'd love his type at our club. I quite agree, Brown is a player I fucking detest. But I'd have him in my team any day of the fucking week. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 I've came to the conclusion that Reynolds is more of a 'lead by example' type. He is not a leader on the park. Someone is going to have to step up next season. McLean or Shinnie possibly... Either way, we are screaming out for a leader. Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Having met him at the Crieff Hydro enjoying a relaxing family getaway with his wife and kids I can confirm he is a thoroughly nice gentleman. This maybe so, but when he pulls on that strippit top and plays football he is an A1 Cunt But i'll accept he is a lovely guy away from the pitch Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 The thing is if we got a Scott Brown type in our team the refs would hammer him.Old story, play for the tims and you get away with so much.I really hoped that Jack would show more 'I'm fae Tilly' in his play.That aspect of his game stops him from being a midfield general. 2 Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Robson was that type of player last season. Elbows out never shirking a tackle shame he seems to have aged about 20 years in under a year. Like Benjamin button in reverse. Shinnie seems to be a leader on the field so its not all bad. Flood never shites it from brown its just a shame brown is a much better player. Brown is the kind of guy that would stand on a puppy's tail during a game. That is what we need. A footballer not afraid to hurt a puppy. Ps how shite a day will cockney don have had yesterday. Two teams two pumpings. Sorry mucker. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 This thread is as good as any to discuss captaincy. When Anderson announces his retirement are we going to appoint Reynolds as captain officially or should it be someone else? We've had a chance to see Reynolds as the captain more or less and it doesnt bring out a better player in him - is there a chance the captaincy would bring out a better player in any of our other players? Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 As elephantstone stated,a Barry Robson type would be ideal ,the Robson of 4-5 years ago would be immense. Reynolds is too quiet, by his own admission he prefers not to tackle (irony eh). I think Shinnie might be an option or big Ash Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 As elephantstone stated,a Barry Robson type would be ideal ,the Robson of 4-5 years ago would be immense. Reynolds is too quiet, by his own admission he prefers not to tackle (irony eh). I think Shinnie might be an option or big AshCorrect, contrast yesterday with the Cup game down there 12 months ago, Robson bossed that game, whilst also hacking his way through it and just doing enough to not get sent off for it. Even taking their recent scrap out the equation between them, it's obvious the chemistry ain't right between Flood and Jack. The former is a decent enough player but we need more quality in that position in the really big games, so a midfield enforcer alongside Jack for me is a priority (that a new goalie) If he's captain material, all the better. McInnes seems to like his pair of golden oldies; he has Duberry and Morris at St Johnstone, then he had Robson and Anderson here. If his midfield enforcer is another over 30, then I don't have an issue with that. Kari Arnesson, the first 6 months of him anyway, would do for me. That type anyway. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 As elephantstone stated,a Barry Robson type would be ideal ,the Robson of 4-5 years ago would be immense. Reynolds is too quiet, by his own admission he prefers not to tackle (irony eh). I think Shinnie might be an option or big AshAsh might be an option. Either way someone needs to make the step up. Link to comment
donjb Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 My mate and me were talking about this in the pub yesterday. We don't have a natural leader who is going to inspire team when they are behind. If we can get someone in like that who also fits in to footballing style then we'll improve even more. Shinnie might be the answer as we need someone to be more vocal. Flood is an ok player but he has his limitations and it would probably be best if he moved on in the summer. Great teams have more than one leader type figure though. They need to command respect of fellow players. McLean might be someone who once he settles in who could be another leader type figure. Link to comment
Poodler Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Do 'hard men' make good players though? I mean, who are the 'hard men' in Scottish football...Jim Goodwin and Scott Brown? And that idiot who plays for killie but used to play for Hearts, canna mind his name. Point is, has a hard man been effective since Roy Keane? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 You don't need a hardman, just someone who is brave enough to take the game by the scruff of the neck and won't shirk from a tackle. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 For all this talk of leadership etc, and it is a very valid point, all that was required yesterday was someone to stand all oer Griffiths taes when he was obstructing the keeper.Nae rocket science, an amateur defender will do that any game.It might also help if the keeper used his physique a bitty better of course.Weak as dishwater! Link to comment
AFCaketin Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Jack should be the enforcer, he should be bullying the opposition and the referee. I would prefer if he added that to his game instead of goals. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Do 'hard men' make good players though? I mean, who are the 'hard men' in Scottish football...Jim Goodwin and Scott Brown? And that idiot who plays for killie but used to play for Hearts, canna mind his name. Point is, has a hard man been effective since Roy Keane? Maybe 'hard man' is the wrong term but we certainly need a leader. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Maybe 'hard man' is the wrong term but we certainly need a leader.Maybe someone like Paul Gadd? Link to comment
Queensferry COYR Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Paul Gadd a bit sick, all we need is a central defender hard man as captain, central midfield hardman and how bloody difficult is it to get a decent goalkeeper. Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Paul Gadd a bit sick, all we need is a central defender hard man as captain, central midfield hardman and how bloody difficult is it to get a decent goalkeeper.He is? What's wrong with him? I'll be sure to send him a get well soon tweet. I recon we could get a better leader though. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Do 'hard men' make good players though? I mean, who are the 'hard men' in Scottish football...Jim Goodwin and Scott Brown? And that idiot who plays for killie but used to play for Hearts, canna mind his name. Point is, has a hard man been effective since Roy Keane?Hard men don't exist in football poodley woodley min.Its not that sort of game.The closest you get are a few centre backs who'll put their nose in the way of anything and maybe a few tacklers who'll challenge for a 60/40. Scott brown isn't hard. He's just a loudmout. Who runs around a lot looking minky. Vast difference. Link to comment
ebbe Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Opened this thread expecting it to be @@RAZOR after one for the Ullevi bus. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Opened this thread expecting it to be @@RAZOR after one for the Ullevi bus. Link to comment
lukas989 Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 As elephantstone stated,a Barry Robson type would be ideal ,the Robson of 4-5 years ago would be immense. Reynolds is too quiet, by his own admission he prefers not to tackle (irony eh). I think Shinnie might be an option or big Ash Trying to imagine Ash as capn... 'Focken cmon lichee!! Get ih op the focken pahk! Do ih then why don yeh?? Do ih!!! Fochin ell lichee...' You'd shit yourself, but most likely not know why. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 2, 2015 Share Posted March 2, 2015 Shinnie will be captain next season and we will have a first rate keeper between the sticks...we'll just have muddle on as best we can till then... Link to comment