Henry Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon (Celtic), David Marshall (Cardiff City), Allan McGregor (Hull City) Defenders: Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town), Craig Forsyth (Derby County), Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion), Alan Hutton (Aston Villa), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Mark Reynolds (Aberdeen), Andrew Robertson (Hull City), Steven Whittaker (Norwich City) Midfielders: Ikechi Anya (Watford), Barry Bannan (Bolton Wanderers), Scott Brown (Celtic), Darren Fletcher (West Bromwich Albion), James Forrest (Celtic), Shaun Maloney (Chicago Fire), James McArthur (Crystal Palace), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion), Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth), Johnny Russell (Derby County) Forwards: Steven Fletcher (Sunderland), Steven May (Sheffield Wednesday), Ross McCormack (Fulham), Steven Naismith (Everton), Jordan Rhodes (Blackburn Rovers). Non-Scot watch: 6 Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Can't see it posted elsewhere: Congrats to Mark Reynolds, but it begs the question, does Strachan actually watch Aberdeen? Over looked so often when he was flying, then finally called-up when struggling for form?!! Strachan has stuck with his other favourites though... Forrest has done nothing in ages (apart from that goal last night), while Anya hasn't been getting his game at Watford. No place for GMS, Armstrong or Jack either! Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Wrong section FFS 'AFC and Scottish Football' Link to comment
tup Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Can't see it posted elsewhere: Congrats to Mark Reynolds, but it begs the question, does Strachan actually watch Aberdeen? Over looked so often when he was flying, then finally called-up when struggling for form?!! Strachan has stuck with his other favourites though... Forrest has done nothing in ages (apart from that goal last night), while Anya hasn't been getting his game at Watford. No place for GMS, Armstrong or Jack either! I think a settled squad is a great idea at international level so I agree with Strachan on sticking with a core group. It's our best chance of qualifying. Reynolds should hopefully get a game this time. Link to comment
tup Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Wrong section FFS 'AFC and Scottish Football' Link to comment
ScottishAndDutch Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Mackay Steven and Jack deserves a call up. And when Martin O'neill calls up Rooney?? Link to comment
McPhee123 Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 At this point I'm happy enough - keep the group together and get the job done. If/when we qualify, that's the time to bring in some of the more exciting players and get the team ready for the tournament. No doubt Jack will be in the senior squad at some point obviously, can't wait for that day! Link to comment
Henry Posted March 16, 2015 Author Share Posted March 16, 2015 No doubt Jack will be in the senior squad at some point obviously, can't wait for that day! I'm off sleep thinking about it. Link to comment
oilcat Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 We play Dundee on the 23rd and the Ireland game is on the 25th?..........I hope tae feck that Scotland dinna expect Reynolds nae to play against Dundee Link to comment
zander Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Mackay Steven and Jack deserves a call up. And when Martin O'neill calls up Rooney??On current form he deserves to be in ahead of the likes of Doyle and Stokes. Link to comment
zander Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 We play Dundee on the 23rd and the Ireland game is on the 25th?..........I hope tae feck that Scotland dinna expect Reynolds nae to play against DundeeProbably why they called him up. Link to comment
tup Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Probably why they called him up. Perhaps said in jest but do not underestimate the level of corruption in Scottish football. This could well be true, with Strachan and McGhee conspiring with Deila to rob us of our captain for a crucial match. Link to comment
ebbe Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Surprised Reynolds has been called up. Think he's been poor for about 2 months. Although in saying that Gordon Greer's there. Link to comment
Poodler Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Who's Matt Ritchie, I've never even heard of him? Link to comment
tup Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Who's Matt Ritchie, I've never even heard of him? Come off it min, he's keeping Ryan Fraser out of the Bournemouth team. He must be brilliant. Link to comment
Henry Posted March 16, 2015 Author Share Posted March 16, 2015 Who's Matt Ritchie, I've never even heard of him? Resident English lower league expert super_al will be able to advise better than me. I think he used to be in Eastenders. Ritchie started his career at Portsmouth and also had loan spells with Dagenham & Redbridge, Notts County and Swindon Town before signing permanently for the Robins in 2011. Two years later, he switched to Bournemouth and this season has helped Eddie Howe's side to the top of the English Championship. He revealed Strachan informed him of the news a "few weeks ago" so that he could concentrate on his league form and that it was not a tough decision to choose between Scotland and England. "We've been doing great in the league and that was really kind of him [strachan] as it could have affected my performances," said Ritchie. "I really appreciated that and it allowed me to relax and gave me some confidence. "I see myself as English but I'm half Scottish, my dad is Scottish and I'm really looking forward to it." Ritchie continued: "My granddad was in the navy, which is what brought him down to Portsmouth but they [grandparents] were both from Edinburgh. They are not with us any more but they would be proud and my dad is also. "It's great and I'm really excited. When you grow up as a kid, you want to play at the highest level possible and the Scotland squad will be a great experience to play with top players, and Alan Hutton." Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Thought George Boyd may have been in squad , James Forrest has hardly kicked a ball for about 2 seasons , not a fan of Bannan either Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Cant complain given the job Strachan has done so far... James Forrest is awful though. Bannan and McArthur are good options but we know what they are about and they aren't going to get any better. Can we afford to have young player like Jack and Armstrong coming through and not put them in the squads at this point?? Hasn't done Germany any harm capping young players!! Stevie May not good enough for Scotland when banging them in for St J but worthy of a call up when he's on the bench for Wednesday.... Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 McGhee in anti Aberdeen biased shocker. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Mackay Steven and Jack deserves a call up. And when Martin O'neill calls up Rooney??Not sure what Jack has done to deserve a call up... Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Not sure what Jack has done to deserve a call up...Same could be said for Mackay-Steven imo. Link to comment
baconman Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Thought George Boyd may have been in squad , James Forrest has hardly kicked a ball for about 2 seasons , not a fan of Bannan eitherNot so sure about Boyd but I cannot understand by Scott Arfield at Burnley keeps getting ignored. He a regular starter and consistently plays well? Bannan always gets selected regardless if he's getting a game or not? Not surprised one bit Jack has been overlooked no player in Scotland gets a chance unless he's playing for OF. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 16, 2015 Share Posted March 16, 2015 Same could be said for Mackay-Steven imo.Jack is probably more unlikely to get in the squad given the players ahead of him that play the same role /style. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 17, 2015 Share Posted March 17, 2015 Gibraltar? Better off playing a pub team. Link to comment
tup Posted March 17, 2015 Share Posted March 17, 2015 Gibraltar should be playing the likes of Orkney and Shetland. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted March 17, 2015 Share Posted March 17, 2015 This squad has come just a wee bit too early for a resurgent Clangers. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 17, 2015 Share Posted March 17, 2015 This squad has come just a wee bit too early for a resurgent Clangers.Stop it... Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 17, 2015 Share Posted March 17, 2015 Hope Jordan Rhodes plays against Gibraltar. He'll probably become Scotland's record goal scorer in the space of 90 minutes Link to comment
zander Posted March 17, 2015 Share Posted March 17, 2015 Hope Jordan Rhodes plays against Gibraltar. He'll probably become Scotland's record goal scorer in the space of 90 minutesBetter option than Fletcher 7 goals in 2 seasons. Link to comment