bruceg1978 Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Looking to take the Mrs away for a long weekend in November and the shortlist is Berlin, Prague or Munich. What's everyone's recommendations? I've done them all before for staggers and football but apart from staying in a hole of a hotel and spending majority of time in around 2 bars I seen very little in any of these cities. I was swaying towards Berlin for the Xmas markets etc. Any advice? Thanks Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Munich wins for me, I've been about a dozen times and absolutely love the place. Stay in the Intercity Hotel (owned by Deutsche Bahn, there's one in every major German city) - it's right next to the main railway station, the rooms are decent and your stay includes a free travel ticket which gets you unlimited use of the buses, trams and U-Bahn trains for the duration of your stay. Good breakfast too. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Munich for me also.Didnt think much about berlin at all. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Berlin is Nae great for Xmas markets.Cologne much better for those. If you're going to Germany I'd say Oktoberfest is the best thing you can do in the country. Prague's good but I do enjoy Germany more than the CR. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 The blutonian is right - Cologne is where is at for the Chrimbo markets. I proposed to my now-wife in Cologne in early winter 2011. But of the 3 cities you mention, Id go to Berlin. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 If you're willing to think out of the box I'd recommend Bluto's home town of Delft for a long weekend. Beautiful little place, Rotterdam and Den Haag 20 minutes either way for shopping, Den Haag is a great wee place to wonder round the shops and I hear the trains are really comfy, you'll get a wee nap between stops. Link to comment
zander Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 If you're willing to think out of the box I'd recommend Bluto's home town of Delft for a long weekend. Beautiful little place, Rotterdam and Den Haag 20 minutes either way for shopping, Den Haag is a great wee place to wonder round the shops and I hear the trains are really comfy, you'll get a wee nap between stops. Apparently a poor selection of wheat beers and micro breweries there? Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 There's a lad on FB asking exactly the same.You don't want to end up in same place as him. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 You born in 1978 Bruce min? Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Can you let us know which weekend you are going away as Amateur football will no doubt halt to a stop without your Draconian rule. Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted March 18, 2015 Author Share Posted March 18, 2015 You born in 1978 Bruce min?Sure am, tough paper roond like. Looks like I was born in 1948 Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted March 18, 2015 Author Share Posted March 18, 2015 Can you let us know which weekend you are going away as Amateur football will no doubt halt to a stop without your Draconian rule. Dinna you worry about that min. You will be playing 3rd or 4th tier in the Amateurs to be concerned about me, Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Dinna you worry about that min. You will be playing 3rd or 4th tier in the Amateurs to be concerned about me, Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 There's a lad on FB asking exactly the same.You don't want to end up in same place as him.There's a lad on the TAMB in exactly the same boat too. The 3 of them should go on a triple-date in Berlin for sure. Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 There's a lad on the TAMB in exactly the same boat too.The 3 of them should go on a triple-date in Berlin for sure.Good idea.Their wives could then go and have a good time without them. Link to comment
daytripping Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Is this the Sportsman cheat? I was going to write a helpful post but won't bother if it is. Link to comment
Localfitbafan Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Thought Frankfurt was the place for the Christmas markets and there is direct flights from Aberdeen Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Thought Frankfurt was the place for the Christmas markets and there is direct flights from Aberdeen Biggest German Xmas market in the world is in Birmingham. Direct flights from Aberdeen too. Frankfurt is a shithole. Visit Mainz. Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 18, 2015 Share Posted March 18, 2015 Go to Rome. Which road leads there? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 Some road that wasn't built in a day. The road to Rome may well have been built in one day. Rome wasn't. Nobody even mentions the road to it. I'd advice to ignore the advice of when in Rome do what the Romans do as it'd land you in hot water. Literally. Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 Rome is full of thieving gypsies IMO. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 Lazio are a monkey club epitomised by their 4m+£ signing of gazza. The city however is one of Europe delights. Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 I rest my case in the matter young Tup. If you ever fancy a city break then Rome seriously has to go to the top of the list, just an incredible city and the people are superb.I prefer to form my opinions on places I've never been to based on ignorance and prejudice. 2 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 Never been, no.Take her puck from Italy min.Rome.Florence.Venice.The lakes.Tuscany.Amalfi coast. Surely no other country can match that. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 My city break this year is Amsterdam for 4 days end of May/June. Going to see Fleetwood Mac on the Monday when away, the rest of the time will be spent sipping beers and watching pro's. Hopefully @@Bluto10 is floating around that weekend so I can buy him a coffee.Im big in the Amsterdam cafe bar scene Roberto min. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 Take her puck from Italy min.Rome.Florence.Venice.The lakes.Tuscany.Amalfi coast. Surely no other country can match that. I would think not given they are all in Italy. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 I'll be across to the Dam morning of the 30th May and leave 2nd June. I'll be sure to give you a shout incase you're passing by and fancy some biscuits and a coffee. I'll pack the rich teas. Make sure it's before 7pm. Link to comment
Poodler Posted March 19, 2015 Share Posted March 19, 2015 I'll be across to the Dam morning of the 30th May and leave 2nd June. I'll be sure to give you a shout incase you're passing by and fancy some biscuits and a coffee. I'll pack the rich teas.Glad you're cutting down on the chocolate ones. Your bmi is scandalous and you are definitely at risk of diabetes Link to comment