Out Of Date Food

tup

If you had something that was 'use by' 22 March 2015, would you still eat it today?

I'm awful for not checking dates when I buy stuff, but I'm also loath to chuck away what might be perfectly good food.

it depends on what the item is.

what is it you're referring to?

had it been previously opened and just stored in the fridge/pantry?

If you had something that was 'use by' 22 March 2015, would you still eat it today?

I'm awful for not checking dates when I buy stuff, but I'm also loath to chuck away what might be perfectly good food.

If it's frozen food, then yes.

If it's raw meat you've left sitting next to a radiator, then no.

use by dates are bit more finicky than best before ones.

but dave_min's probably correct in that it doesn't contain much dairy product anyway.

i'd suggest if it's been in the fridge all this time, and it's been unopened, it's probably fine and only a few days past.

give it a sniff before you heat it up.

if you're at all uncertain at that point still, toss it. and order in. food poisoning wouldn't be fun.

I make my mac and cheese fresh. Absolute doddle to make it yourself. Never touch the pre-made shite, there's so many chemicals and preservatives in it.

Melt butter in a pan, throw in flour until you have a thick pasty ball, start adding milk until you have the consitency you want for the cheese sauce. Add salt,pepper, and rosemary, add grated cheese, bung in your boiled and strained pasta... Mac and Cheese.

The mac and cheese oot the box smells like feet.

:nono:

he doesn't have much spare time, Kelt min. he's too busy to fuck around in the kitchen.

The food industry poisons us, the health industry (in America) profits off the fallout of people eating food soaked in dangerous chemicals.

Not saying I never eat processed food, I just don't eat it very often. I have major adverse reactions to things like artificial sweeteners and food colorings. Aspartame literally makes my legs bleed.

Takes no time at all to throw some meat and vegetables into a slow cooker in the morning, and at night your dinner is ready to throw onto a plate.

Some people can likely throw a cocktail of preservatives, artificial sweeteners, and carcinogens into their bodies and live to be 100, but the chances are most of us can't.

Aye min, Things Dinna just deteriorate over night. There's rosemary in my fridge from 10th March, (my rosemary bush died, new one is growing) it's still perfectly fine. Use your senses, nae what sainsburys etc tell you to do. They would have you in buying new food everyday if they could

The food industry poisons us, the health industry (in America) profits off the fallout of people eating food soaked in dangerous chemicals.

Not saying I never eat processed food, I just don't eat it very often. I have major adverse reactions to things like artificial sweeteners and food colorings. Aspartame literally makes my legs bleed.

Takes no time at all to throw some meat and vegetables into a slow cooker in the morning, and at night your dinner is ready to throw onto a plate.

Some people can likely throw a cocktail of preservatives, artificial sweeteners, and carcinogens into their bodies and live to be 100, but the chances are most of us can't.

Strangest sounding macaroni cheese dish I've heard of.