Sheeptastic Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Cracking interview on Red TV with Del talking about his first two years at Aberdeen, reflecting on our improvement thus far and what the future holds. It sounds like he plans on staying for a while yet. He mentions the essentiality of a training facility which ultimately there hasn't been any progress on but he said that they're working on it and it needs to be in place for the start of the season. Does anyone know what or where he means by that comment? Link to comment
Guest RosemountRed Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Just watched it, class act. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 If there's been no progress so far, it's hard to imagine it being ready for mid-July Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted April 22, 2015 Author Share Posted April 22, 2015 If there's been no progress so far, it's hard to imagine it being ready for mid-JulyIs there possibly a facility we have in mind and are in advanced negotiations about buying? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Is there possibly a facility we have in mind and are in advanced negotiations about buying? I would class that as progress... Link to comment
Tord31 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 I thot it was a new development at balgownie? Link to comment
360 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Are we allowed to mock the fools who said he was a failure even before he had taken over? Certain users on here were e-mailing the club to make AFC aware of their disgust, what a life they must lead. #TheLads consortium, consisting of me, Millertime and Bluto had it right from the start. Nothing new there. 1 Link to comment
Herouali0 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 He's done a great job - positivity and winning mentality. Got a great team around him. I admire that he has chopped and changed where required (see Zola and Wylde) Hopefully the GK dept is next! Makes a change from some of the pish we've endured over the years... "Top 6 is an achievement" No trophies "Aberdeen have no chance of challenging for the title" We've got our fingers oot, on and off the pitch! New stadium and training complex are a must to sustain this. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Makes a change from some of the pish we've endured over the years... "Top is an achievement" I would say top is certainly an achievement, high standards you've got there. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Are we allowed to mock the fools who said he was a failure even before he had taken over? Certain users on here were e-mailing the club to make AFC aware of their disgust, what a life they must lead. #TheLads consortium, consisting of me, Millertime and Bluto had it right from the start. Nothing new there.Well said bro.In today's modern day cut throat punditry world you have to think first before post I g on a forum.Things like DMs tenure have merely highlighted the gulf in class between your tips and your works class 360s and your bluto10s Link to comment
Herouali0 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 I would say top is certainly an achievement, high standards you've got there. Meant "Top 6" Link to comment
tup Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 My objection to McInnes was down to his sheer hunnery on the telly shortly before he got the job. He's managed to keep a lid on this aspect of his character so far in the hotseat, so fair play to him for that. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 My objection to McInnes was down to his sheer hunnery on the telly shortly before he got the job. He's managed to keep a lid on this aspect of his character so far in the hotseat, so fair play to him for that. you just went with your usual mantra of he'll be shite so you could say telt you so if he failed. Him being a hun gave you an angle, no more. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 "Aberdeen have no chance of challenging for the title" Not good to hear that but lets face it - it was true. Would McInnes have us this close to top of the league when Celtic spent millions and before Rangers, Hibs and Hearts shat themselves? Probably not. Day by day McInnes is starting to get us closer to the level King Jimmy had us at Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 That's not true at all. face it min, your predictions are like red or black on roulette. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Not good to hear that but lets face it - it was true. Would McInnes have us this close to top of the league when Celtic spent millions and before Rangers, Hibs and Hearts shat themselves? Probably not. Day by day McInnes is starting to get us closer to the level King Jimmy had us at It was true because the whole club had that attitude, an attitude sent from the board down and perpetuated by manager after manager. Hearts, while overspending, managed to push for 2nd with both in the league. If we'd had the manager, attitude and players back then that we do now then we'd have pushed them both hard as well. You didnt have to be as good as the ugly sisters to win the league, just better than the rest. The only thing Jimmy was king of was his lunch box. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Or in the case of McCall at Motherwell - red and black. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 McInnes has been wonderful, and the time has flown in. As well as the results on the pitch, his attitude has been very refreshing also. If he is concerned about the training situation, then the board must resolve that as a priority. Keeping him sweet is a must! Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 It was true because the whole club had that attitude, an attitude sent from the board down and perpetuated by manager after manager. Hearts, while overspending, managed to push for 2nd with both in the league. If we'd had the manager, attitude and players back then that we do now then we'd have pushed them both hard as well. You didnt have to be as good as the ugly sisters to win the league, just better than the rest. The only thing Jimmy was king of was his lunch box. My pal works with an ex Dons player who was with the club when Jimmy was manager. He was told on the final training session before away games, Zander and Jimmy would both pick a team for a kick about, which ever team lost then the guy who picked it had to get the carry out for the bus home. Compare that to now, where apparently Derek gets in the dominos* for the bus home and no alcohol is allowed. *Pizza is good for footballers after a match. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Well said bro.In today's modern day cut throat punditry world you have to think first before post I g on a forum.Things like DMs tenure have merely highlighted the gulf in class between your tips and your works class 360s and your bluto10sJesus. *posting*tups* world class. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Great to see you upping your game and taking a bit more care over your spelling Bluto min. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 It was true because the whole club had that attitude, an attitude sent from the board down and perpetuated by manager after manager. Hearts, while overspending, managed to push for 2nd with both in the league. If we'd had the manager, attitude and players back then that we do now then we'd have pushed them both hard as well. You didnt have to be as good as the ugly sisters to win the league, just better than the rest. The only thing Jimmy was king of was his lunch box. Hearts were spending 10s of thousands on wages. They even spent 800k on some Bosnian winger and never played him once. Compared to us sticking to a sensible level. The next season we finished ahead of them in the league to once again prove Jimmy Calderwood was and still is our best manager since McNeil. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Great to see you upping your game and taking a bit more care over your spelling Bluto min. Nre month new me harcus min. I'm more at ease with myself these days so will contribute in a more adult and intelligent fashion; in keeping with the other posters on here Link to comment
tup Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 McInnes has to watch he does not reach the end of his shelf life here. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Hearts were spending 10s of thousands on wages. They even spent 800k on some Bosnian winger and never played him once. Compared to us sticking to a sensible level. The next season we finished ahead of them in the league to once again prove Jimmy Calderwood was and still is our best manager since McNeil. Calderwood had plenty of money to spend. A lot more thanthe likes of Patterson and Uncle Ebbe before him.Calderwood had the 3rd and 4th largest budget in the league, year on year.Calderwood spent £250K on players a few timesCalderwood spent £125K on some hatchet prick from Englandshire, name escapes me now and cant be arsed looking it up. He played a few times, got sent off a few times and is now fitting carpets. Calderwood got papped out of several cups by lower league teams with the large budget and the spending. Calderwood was shite, still is, thats why he's packing shelves and getting interviewed about his times with Japp 'bigman' Stam, wee Barry and Coisty instead of doing what any decent manager would be doing, working with a fitba team and getting paid for it. Calderwood wouldnt know what McInnes notes were for even if they were drawn on Willies board in crayon and explained to him in words no larger than 3 syllables. 3 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 McInnes has to watch he does not reach the end of his shelf life here. Might want to write greenbeer in this post tup. Tat way, when you need to find it in 2, 3 or 4 years time its easy for you to pull up and say told you so. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 I wanted Hartley for the job at the time (he isnt looking too shabby either). McInnes has been amazing tbf. To think we are looking like being left a bit disappointed this season considering weve taken the league title to the month of May (I think it is mathematically impossible for them to win it in April - did they win it in March last season?) shows how much he has raised the expectations. The next things he needs to do is as discussed above sort out the goalkeeping situation (what a fucking team we would be if our best player was the keeper) and keep developing the squad. If we have to sell Jack for instance replacing him with a player who can become a better player than Jack. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Calderwood had plenty of money to spend. A lot more thanthe likes of Patterson and Uncle Ebbe before him.Calderwood had the 3rd and 4th largest budget in the league, year on year.Calderwood spent £250K on players a few timesCalderwood spent £125K on some hatchet prick from Englandshire, name escapes me now and cant be arsed looking it up. He played a few times, got sent off a few times and is now fitting carpets. Calderwood got papped out of several cups by lower league teams with the large budget and the spending. Calderwood was shite, still is, thats why he's packing shelves and getting interviewed about his times with Japp 'bigman' Stam, wee Barry and Coisty instead of doing what any decent manager would be doing, working with a fitba team and getting paid for it. Calderwood wouldnt know what McInnes notes were for even if they were drawn on Willies board in crayon and explained to him in words no larger than 3 syllables. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 23, 2015 Share Posted April 23, 2015 Well done getting that edit in nice and quickly Tord.. I was ready to pounce Link to comment