Clydeside_Sheep Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 Recently, I have been watching the secular news with even more curiosity than usual. To contrast two recent high-profile stories, there seems to be stark double-standards and/or muddled thinking in our modern, secular democracies. (This is nothing new, but it seems to be reaching ever new lows). Now, I appreciate that I am but a simple bronze age superstitious person, so I would be grateful if anyone could enlighten me regarding these complicated modern ways which are obviously a bit over my head. You see, I am stuck dealing with "reality", "truth" and "science" but increasingly it seems that secular society has no requirement for these crude, outmoded outlooks. Here is the contrast I am talking about: Why is it that Bruce Jenner (a man) is allowed to pretend to be a woman, and is roundly praised for this nonsense, yet Rachel Dolezal (a white woman) isnt allowed to pretend to be black? Jenner has been praised variously as a "hero", "courageous" and "brave". Yet Dolezal has been damned as "delusional", "pretending" and - my favourite - "dishonest and deceptive with her identity". Why the difference? I mean, surely we should either tolerate idiotic bullshit or we should not? It doesnt seem fair that some peoples mental Illness uh, "real identity" is accepted and encouraged, but others criticised and damned. What gives? I know that trannys are the latest thing being heavily promoted by secular society, now that the novelty of sodomy has worn off a bit, but you would think it would have helped their cause to be consistent, no? Is this sexist, given it seems to be Ok for a man to pretend but not a woman? Or is it racist, given the problem only seems to appear if black identity is part of the fraud? Or should we just file this under "hilarious but tragic bullshit"? For my money, Dolezal makes a far more convincing black woman than does Bruce make a convincing woman. (if you get a chance, watch the video where "black" Dolezal is confronted over actually being white in an interview - awkward - she claims not to understand the question ) http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/32976649/caitlyn-jenner-transformation-from-bruce-trailer-released http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-33121145 http://edition.cnn.com/2015/06/13/us/washington-rachel-dolezal-adopted-brother/ Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 i saw that interview the other day. it's all a bit odd. unfortunately, Dolezal has managed to pretend she's black to her financial/career advantage (including a full scholarship to Howard University), though arguably, she's apparently done a lot of good during her tenure at the NAACP. a case of being trapped in the wrong race? or an instance of using what she could to get ahead? at whatever expense? including appearing in "black face" in the most real sense? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 i saw that interview the other day. it's all a bit odd. unfortunately, Dolezal has managed to pretend she's black to her financial/career advantage (including a full scholarship to Howard University), though arguably, she's apparently done a lot of good during her tenure at the NAACP. a case of being trapped in the wrong race? or an instance of using what she could to get ahead? at whatever expense? including appearing in "black face" in the most real sense? You could say the same thing about Caitlyn Jenner too! He/She stands to make an absolute fortune from her gender reassignment. ... just playing Devils Advocate here. I couldn't really give a shit about either of them. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 You could say the same thing about Caitlyn Jenner too! He/She stands to make an absolute fortune from her gender reassignment. ... just playing Devils Advocate here. I couldn't really give a shit about either of them. very true. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 You see, I am stuck dealing with "reality", "truth" and "science" lol 7 Link to comment
robbojunior Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 Recently, I have been watching the secular news with even more curiosity than usual. To contrast two recent high-profile stories, there seems to be stark double-standards and/or muddled thinking in our modern, secular democracies. (This is nothing new, but it seems to be reaching ever new lows). Now, I appreciate that I am but a simple bronze age superstitious person, so I would be grateful if anyone could enlighten me regarding these complicated modern ways which are obviously a bit over my head. You see, I am stuck dealing with "reality", "truth" and "science" but increasingly it seems that secular society has no requirement for these crude, outmoded outlooks. Here is the contrast I am talking about: Why is it that Bruce Jenner (a man) is allowed to pretend to be a woman, and is roundly praised for this nonsense, yet Rachel Dolezal (a white woman) isnt allowed to pretend to be black? Jenner has been praised variously as a "hero", "courageous" and "brave". Yet Dolezal has been damned as "delusional", "pretending" and - my favourite - "dishonest and deceptive with her identity". Why the difference? I mean, surely we should either tolerate idiotic bullshit or we should not? It doesnt seem fair that some peoples mental Illness uh, "real identity" is accepted and encouraged, but others criticised and damned. What gives? I know that trannys are the latest thing being heavily promoted by secular society, now that the novelty of sodomy has worn off a bit, but you would think it would have helped their cause to be consistent, no? Is this sexist, given it seems to be Ok for a man to pretend but not a woman? Or is it racist, given the problem only seems to appear if black identity is part of the fraud? Or should we just file this under "hilarious but tragic bullshit"? For my money, Dolezal makes a far more convincing black woman than does Bruce make a convincing woman. (if you get a chance, watch the video where "black" Dolezal is confronted over actually being white in an interview - awkward - she claims not to understand the question ) http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/32976649/caitlyn-jenner-transformation-from-bruce-trailer-released http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-33121145 http://edition.cnn.com/2015/06/13/us/washington-rachel-dolezal-adopted-brother/ For once, and once only, I agree with you Clydeside.A man having operations to become a woman is fucking ridiculous. Equally as ridiculous as a white woman pretending to be black. Both signs of mental illness in my opinion and neither should be praised as brave or any other such pish.EDIT - What this has to do with 'secular' society I have no idea. Quite why religious people just blame anything that seems fucked up to them, on an absence of religion is beyond me. 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 no matter how fucked up they are they are all gods creatures, are they not? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 no matter how fucked up they are they are all gods creatures, are they not? Creatures is a very apt word to use for whats his/her/its face. I think it's just a very extreme (and expensive) way of getting to look at boobs in the ladies changing rooms. He's not a woman, he's just a pervert. 2 Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 To be fair there is something darkie about her, maybe the hair, I say leave her be, if she wants to pretend she's another colour then fair play, Jacko tried to be white. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 To be fair there is something darkie about her, maybe the hair, I say leave her be, if she wants to pretend she's another colour then fair play, Jacko tried to be white.He dabbled in being white and fiddling with kids. Neither worked out well for him. Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 15, 2015 Share Posted June 15, 2015 He dabbled in being white and fiddling with kids. Neither worked out well for him. Can't help but think Catholic priesthood was his real calling, pity he could sing. 1 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 If Bruce Jenner had trannied up and become the new Germaine Greer or something then the cases would be comparable. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 I'm with you CS. I think the whole transgender stuff is nonsense. Actually watched a good Louis Theroux documentary a little while back where parents were pushing their kids towards surgery at quite a young age because they were boys playing with dolls. Scary. Obviously I know it's not quite as simple as that but when you see the Bruce Jenner stuff and similarly this white nut job pretending to be black, you start to wonder what the heck is actually going on with humanity. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 Recently, I have been watching the secular news with even more curiosity than usual. To contrast two recent high-profile stories, there seems to be stark double-standards and/or muddled thinking in our modern, secular democracies. (This is nothing new, but it seems to be reaching ever new lows). Now, I appreciate that I am but a simple bronze age superstitious person, so I would be grateful if anyone could enlighten me regarding these complicated modern ways which are obviously a bit over my head. You see, I am stuck dealing with "reality", "truth" and "science" but increasingly it seems that secular society has no requirement for these crude, outmoded outlooks. Here is the contrast I am talking about: Why is it that Bruce Jenner (a man) is allowed to pretend to be a woman, and is roundly praised for this nonsense, yet Rachel Dolezal (a white woman) isnt allowed to pretend to be black? Jenner has been praised variously as a "hero", "courageous" and "brave". Yet Dolezal has been damned as "delusional", "pretending" and - my favourite - "dishonest and deceptive with her identity". Why the difference? I mean, surely we should either tolerate idiotic bullshit or we should not? It doesnt seem fair that some peoples mental Illness uh, "real identity" is accepted and encouraged, but others criticised and damned. What gives? I know that trannys are the latest thing being heavily promoted by secular society, now that the novelty of sodomy has worn off a bit, but you would think it would have helped their cause to be consistent, no? Is this sexist, given it seems to be Ok for a man to pretend but not a woman? Or is it racist, given the problem only seems to appear if black identity is part of the fraud? Or should we just file this under "hilarious but tragic bullshit"? For my money, Dolezal makes a far more convincing black woman than does Bruce make a convincing woman. (if you get a chance, watch the video where "black" Dolezal is confronted over actually being white in an interview - awkward - she claims not to understand the question ) http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/32976649/caitlyn-jenner-transformation-from-bruce-trailer-released http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-33121145 http://edition.cnn.com/2015/06/13/us/washington-rachel-dolezal-adopted-brother/ You watch far too much telly min. Clear your head of all that shit, I'm sure it does your health no favours worrying about pish in far off places that you canna change. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 Aye bit on a serious note what would it take for you to bang Bruce Jenner... Link to comment
caledonia Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 They are all weirdos does not matter what colour or sex why cant they just stick with what they gotthat is all 1 Link to comment
caledonia Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 He dabbled in being white and fiddling with kids. Neither worked out well for him. It was the dabbling in drugs that killed him though Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 It is called Gender Dysphoria. It's a genuine condition. Not sure what is up with the white/black woman. It's the Apotemnophiles who are the real weirdos. None of this has anything to do with secularism of course. It's not like any of these people are going to enrage anyone's imaginary friend enough to cause an earthquake. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 Not sure what is up with the white/black woman.Politically motivated I would guess. She was a civil rights activist, suited her agenda. Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 Politically motivated I would guess. She was a civil rights activist, suited her agenda. I don't see why a white person couldn't work for a civil rights organisation. She shouldn't have to pretend to be black though. I suspect there is some mental issue there. Doesn't bother me. Some people actually believe in a God. Lol out loud. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 It is called Gender Dysphoria. It's a genuine condition. Not sure what is up with the white/black woman. It's the Apotemnophiles who are the real weirdos. None of this has anything to do with secularism of course. It's not like any of these people are going to enrage anyone's imaginary friend enough to cause an earthquake. When you say its a genuine condition, I assume you would agree it is a psychological condition? ie a mental health issue. 1 Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 When you say its a genuine condition, I assume you would agree it is a psychological condition? ie a mental health issue. Yes and if curing that condition is to indulge the sufferer with gender reassignment then why not. We used to lock people up for a lot less and pump them full all kinds of drugs. Do you think we should go back to that? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 I'm all for being whatever colour, religion, gender, sexual orientation, or having different flavors of crisps. None of that matters a fuck so long as people aren't dicks to each other. Moral... just don't be dicks. Link to comment
caledonia Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 This could end up fatjims kind of thread we just need to slip in dead people along with the wierdos and freaks and the colour changers + any form of sexual substitutions anywhere on the body.. 1 Link to comment
fatjim Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 This could end up fatjims kind of thread we just need to slip in dead people along with the wierdos and freaks and the colour changers + any form of sexual substitutions anywhere on the body.. I have read quite a bit about paraphilias. Mainly for research but yet to incorporate any jokes about them. Apotemnophilia had potential but turned out not to have any legs in the long run. ha ha ha I did it. YESSSSSSS Link to comment
robbojunior Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 Yes and if curing that condition is to indulge the sufferer with gender reassignment then why not. We used to lock people up for a lot less and pump them full all kinds of drugs. Do you think we should go back to that? Im nae suggesting a cure one way or the other. If there is medical evidence to suggest that gender reassignment is the cure to this particular mental condition then so be it. How you could assess the success of this, fuck knows, and even if you could, I'd be surprised if that put the mental issues to bed, but that's beside the point. My objection is to the suggestion that gender reassignment is brave and admirable and heroic on the basis that someone is being true to themselves or some such pish. If the public were gushing with praise for Bruce Jenner saying 'well done Bruce you've overcome your mental illness by getting a boob job' then maybe... Link to comment
tup Posted June 16, 2015 Share Posted June 16, 2015 They're all freaks these folk. I'd cross the street to avoid the likes of them. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted June 17, 2015 Author Share Posted June 17, 2015 You see, I am stuck dealing with "reality", "truth" and "science" lol Whaddya mean "lol" ?!? Its this stuff, folk pretending to be stuff they are not, which should get the lols! Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted June 17, 2015 Author Share Posted June 17, 2015 For once, and once only, I agree with you Clydeside. Hurrah! This means a lot, coming from you What this has to do with 'secular' society I have no idea. Quite why religious people just blame anything that seems fucked up to them, on an absence of religion is beyond me. I wasnt 'blaming' secular society for this, I was just pointing out - isnt it weird how the prevailing narrative says that religion talks rubbish, yet look at this utter pish from the secular world. (well, its not really weird, its wholly contrived by the powers that be as they shape and inform peopels opinions). Nobody (or very few people) attack nonsense like "caitlin jenner", and are often called bigots if they do. Yet the whole affair is a mockery of science, not to mention downright creepy. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted June 17, 2015 Author Share Posted June 17, 2015 no matter how fucked up they are they are all gods creatures, are they not? Yes they are, but God doesnt like it when folk mutilate the lovely bodies he gave them, or indulge in deceit. (he told me over a pint at the weekend) Link to comment