weapon Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Wife is adamant she's getting a mutt, any of you boys got a Frenchie, bulldog variety nae a hickey?? Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Wife is adamant she's getting a mutt, any of you boys got a Frenchie, bulldog variety nae a hickey??Think long and hard about the intelligence level of any dog you decide on...the French bulldog does not score highly so may be difficult to train...we got a Springer Spaniel last year who has amazed me in how quickly he picked things up...never any toilet accidents and if he starts to play up, a couple of stern words will be enough for him to fall back in line. Link to comment
weapon Posted July 15, 2015 Author Share Posted July 15, 2015 Think long and hard about the intelligence level of any dog you decide on...the French bulldog does not score highly so may be difficult to train...we got a Springer Spaniel last year who has amazed me in how quickly he picked things up...never any toilet accidents and if he starts to play up, a couple of stern words will be enough for him to fall back in line. Aye I've read that Frenchies can be stubborn, and I'm nae sure on their exercise levels, I want a dog I can take on long walks etc, nae a dog that is knackered running around the house. My granny had a springer spaniel, its lugs were absolutely honking, enough to put me off that breed for life!!! Link to comment
Down Under Sheep Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Good shout with the Spaniel. German Shepherds are also very quick for training purposes. Just leave hair everywhere Link to comment
DD1903 Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Aye I've read that Frenchies can be stubborn, and I'm nae sure on their exercise levels, I want a dog I can take on long walks etc, nae a dog that is knackered running around the house. My granny had a springer spaniel, its lugs were absolutely honking, enough to put me off that breed for life!!!I've got a working/show cocker mix. Despite being quite small, hes hyper if he doesn't get at least an hour walk a day, along with a couple of smaller ones if possible. Taken him out for fairly long jaunts regularly. Great nature and, like the springer, very clever. My mate has a springer and has him out for hours up the hills at a time. You'll not get that with the fren Link to comment
weapon Posted July 15, 2015 Author Share Posted July 15, 2015 I've got a working/show cocker mix. Despite being quite small, hes hyper if he doesn't get at least an hour walk a day, along with a couple of smaller ones if possible. Taken him out for fairly long jaunts regularly. Great nature and, like the springer, very clever. My mate has a springer and has him out for hours up the hills at a time. You'll not get that with the fren Aye I want a mutt that I can take away on hill walks etc, I dinna see the point in getting a dog that would rather sloth and lick its balls than go for a long walk. I had a lab before, she was good but prob too big for the house we're in now, an Alsatian would be quality, my pal has got one, big furry bear, but far too big. Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 I've always found the majority of dogs I've encountered are pretty accurate representations of those who have trained them, regardless of the breed. Some dogs will pick things up quicker than others of course, but if you take the time to train any dog properly from a puppy upwards you should have little problems. I'll probably get a dog one day when I've got a garden to let it run around in. Have friends and relatives who have/had german shephards, sheep dogs, labradors, retrievers, spaniels, and some furry thing that looked like a cleaning mop, all of which i'd consider Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Wife is adamant she's getting a mutt, any of you boys got a Frenchie, bulldog variety nae a hickey??Guess you must be Prince Charming. 1 Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Good shout with the Spaniel. German Shepherds are also very quick for training purposes. Just leave hair everywhereDon't get one that's too clever... Link to comment
weapon Posted July 15, 2015 Author Share Posted July 15, 2015 Get a pug Is that nae the same idea as a Frenchie, lazy as feck? Collies. Aye I would have a collie if I was out in the countryside or had some proper garden acres, nice looking dog and smart as they come Link to comment
minijc Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Is that nae the same idea as a Frenchie, lazy as feck? Aye I would have a collie if I was out in the countryside or had some proper garden acres, nice looking dog and smart as they comeDepends how you train it really, some take the easy option and let them get lazy and fat, my neighbours grandsons one is fairlhy active, still a pup mind. On the subject of dogs/pugs, here's a video of one sucking another one off https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1074797312530992&id=691496887527705&ref=m_notif¬if_t=mention Link to comment
minijc Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Pugs are just an easy option to be honest, I just want a black one so I can name him Leroy and dress him up like a rapper or basketball player every day of the week, in an ideal world if I had my own place and the time to look after a boxer or a Rhodesian Ridgeback then I'd get one of those, both cracking dogs, always loved boxers. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Rottweilers are one of the best types of dugs imo - handsome, energetic, well built, authoritative, intelligent (a good match for me obviously) - but many good breeds have been mentioned here. I like French Bulldogs and think they are more active than their English counterparts. Certainly they are not as heavy and cumbersome, though they still have the flat face which limits their breathing and makes them susceptible to heat. They are definitely more mobile, but I dont know about their stamina on eg a long walk. (apparently Frenchies were created by breeding English Bulldogs with local french dugs used for killing rats in Paris) Walking through Vondelpark over the weekend, I saw two elderly men (who may have been a couple) pushing the fattest English bulldog I have ever seen around in a pram. The poor dug couldnt do anything but sit there and look around - and it looked knackered from doing that. I hate irresponsible dog owners! Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 The hipster dog of just now the ol' pug. You'll see many birds walking around with a pug, because they use it as a fashion accessory. Nae for me. Springer Spaniel or a Schipperke would be my choice IF I was to ever get a dog.Springer is great...need a good bit of running around but as long as they get that they are well behaved in the house...just mind and keep the skins and puff well out of reach. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 The hipster dog of just now the ol' pug. You'll see many birds walking around with a pug, because they use it as a fashion accessory. Nae for me.Correct. Horrible looking fuckers as well. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 I'd have a brown and white springer or a collie given the choice, both intelligent dogs. Don't get a Jack Russell!! bark at their own shadows and they're mad. Link to comment
weapon Posted July 15, 2015 Author Share Posted July 15, 2015 I'd have a brown and white springer or a collie given the choice, both intelligent dogs. Don't get a Jack Russell!! bark at their own shadows and they're mad. Wouldna get a Jack Russell... got terrorised by one as a kid doing ma paper round.....little fecking ankle biter! Link to comment
Pash Posted July 15, 2015 Share Posted July 15, 2015 Got a Jack-a-Poo called Buddy, I had him whipped in to shape when I worked in Westhill as got home every lunchtime to walk/train him, now that job is left down to the missus as work in town now and he has started misbehaving, chewing the blinds and that. He still does tricks though, was sitting on command at 12 weeks old. Get a cat would be my advice. Link to comment
alscotoz Posted July 18, 2015 Share Posted July 18, 2015 Pugs are shite. I've got a kelpie/lab cross. Good dog but got the lab brain (and a appetite). Looks like a dingo. My folks have got a pet greyhound. Beautiful dog and the breed i will get after the aforementioned goes. Link to comment