Central Scotland

Geoff_Tipps

F'like

My fiancé and I are having to relocate from Aberdeen to central Scotland due to work. I will be working in Glasgow (west) and the bird is working in Edinburgh.

Ideally want to stay closer to Edinburgh, easy access to the M8.

Area's we are considering are East Calder or Bathgate. AnyOne got any experience of either of this places or got any other recommendations in that area?

If you both plan to drive, I'll recommend a wee place called Banknock (co-incidentally where I grew up). Right on M80/M876, 45mins to Edinburgh/20 mins to Glasgow. Or Larbert, where you have decent railway links to both. Or the newer parts of Bo'ness, or even Linlithgow where the times are pretty much reversed.

If you absolutely have to be in the M8 corridor, most places are shitholes. Though Caldercruix is okay I suppose.

BTW, getting to the West End of Glasgow is a nightmare from anywhere but the West End of Glasgow in terms of commuting.

F'like

My fiancé and I are having to relocate from Aberdeen to central Scotland due to work. I will be working in Glasgow (west) and the bird is working in Edinburgh.

Area's we are considering are East Calder or Bathgate. AnyOne got any experience of either of this places or got any other recommendations in that area?

No idea about East Calder.

Bathgate is nice, though I would identify its main flaw as being probably slightly closer to edinburgh than glasgow.

Livingston maybe?

Falkirk is nice, but then you are starting to get a bit north of the main east-west parallel.

I would strongly recommend you guys use trains for work travel, rather than attempt to drive. Driving from say bathgate to the west end of glasgow would be a total nightmare of a morning, unless you are coming in a 3am or something. (Depending on timings, you can hit stationary west-bound traffic as far out as provanmill / riddrie, and you still have to get off the motorway and then fight your way west).

But if you are pulling into queen st on a train, you can then just catch an adjacent underground to the west end - great western rd, byres rd, dumbarton rd, wherever.

If you partners work is easily accessible from edinburgh train stations, then I would advise in fact staying closer to Glasgow, but near the main east-west rail line. Say Bishopbriggs or Lenzie.

There, you have many trains to both cities, (inc express trains), but live a pleasant semi-rural environment (campsie fells as a backdrop) and close to M-ways, and yet (esp with Bishopbriggs) you can enjoy the added prestige of being only a handful of miles from the very bowels of Scotland's Premier City (sub 5 mins to Queen St, on train from Bishopbriggs)

If you both plan to drive, I'll recommend a wee place called Banknock (co-incidentally where I grew up). Right on M80/M876, 45mins to Edinburgh/20 mins to Glasgow. Or Larbert, where you have decent railway links to both. Or the newer parts of Bo'ness, or even Linlithgow where the times are pretty much reversed.

If you absolutely have to be in the M8 corridor, most places are shitholes. Though Caldercruix is okay I suppose.

BTW, getting to the West End of Glasgow is a nightmare from anywhere but the West End of Glasgow in terms of commuting.

This is good advice, esp regarding getting to the west end. Banknock is indeed nice - got to know all those places quite well, when commuting to grangemouth and staying off the main (choked solid) roads.

Thon Glenskirlie is a nice place to eat.

This is good advice, esp regarding getting to the west end. Banknock is indeed nice - got to know all those places quite well, when commuting to grangemouth and staying off the main (choked solid) roads.

Thon Glenskirlie is a nice place to eat.

Used to work in there many moons ago.

Was gonna post the same about what you said. The easiest commute is probably living in one city centre and then travelling by train to the other.

A large part of West Central Scotlands underrated as a place to stay, places like Dullatur, Condorrat, Lenzie, Milton of Campsie, Lennoxtown, and parts of Kirkintilloch and Kilsyth, are all decent places, with good links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh from Croy (though I wouldn't want to stay in Croy itself.

F'like

Stirling is a good bet for commuting to both

F'like

Razor beat me to it, but my condolences at his troubling time.

Oh jesus he's already talking like a weegie and dissing the North East of Scotland.

I'm not sure in what way these places are superior, apart from in the heads of their thick citizens.

Your new life sounds like hell and will probably quickly cause a split from your partner, you will both be having affairs as you will never see each other.

Aye, but don't trust people down there.

Let's look at it objectively... Your opening post indicates you and your wife are moving on, progressing with life.

To people of a NE upbringing this news would be acknowledged with a firm handshake to wish you all the best.

The central Scotland mindset will read your post and realise a house would be empty during the day while you're both at work and therefore ripe for a robbery.

Hence the reason these 'helpful' types are falling over themselves to guide you to places they know gangs operate, behind the guise of friendliness.

Trust me, I can read between the lines.

Haha.

I love the shire, some lovely wee towns out Deeside.

The issue being the city is overpriced, has very little in terms of things to do. We love our music and comedy, Aberdeen doesn't cater for that market. It's a depressing city stuck in its ways.

Folk from the north east are great people, however they don't like change and that is evident in the city.

Aye, but don't trust people down there.

Let's look at it objectively... Your opening post indicates you and your wife are moving on, progressing with life.

To people of a NE upbringing this news would be acknowledged with a firm handshake to wish you all the best.

The central Scotland mindset will read your post and realise a house would be empty during the day while you're both at work and therefore ripe for a robbery.

Hence the reason these 'helpful' types are falling over themselves to guide you to places they know gangs operate, behind the guise of friendliness.

Trust me, I can read between the lines.

Haha, I clearly have a lot to learn.

It really depends on your budget, if you think living in Aberdeen is shite and boring then you are going to be pretty disappointed with Bathgate on a night out.

I don't know anything about Glasgow but Edinburgh is a great city to live in, there are loads of different areas of Edinburgh you can live, the bus network is brilliant so you can travel all over the city easily. From a travelling perspective I would have thought Livingston would be place to be in terms of being between Glasgow and Edinburgh.

F'like

Weegie!

My mate is from Livingston. It's a bit 'new town hell'. Lots of roundabouts and new build estates. It is ideally placed for commutes to and from Glasgow and Edinburgh though.

I suppose it depends on what type of lifestyle you want...Livingston is very much the 'burbs. Or whether you want the 'urban' lifestyle that Edinburgh itself, or parts of Glasgow, would offer.