Reed or deed Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 So , as a reward for the latest catastrophic failure of our national squad and by demonstrating he is just another yes man for the SFA suits by not showing any initiative by picking new prospects or young exciting players with potential. The ginger chosen one has been rewarded with a new contract . Does anyone have any views on this , or what impact do you see this having along the line for the national team ? Link to comment
Pudgie Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 Rewarding failure. Pish. I'm done with Scotland. Link to comment
scoot Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 Cant stand the wee ginger prick and his squad selections. Not one fuck will be given for the Scottish national team. Cunts. Link to comment
swifty Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 How many of the players who withdrew from the Gibraltar game featured for their clubs today? If the players can't be fucked then neither can I. Link to comment
newcastlered Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 He's done badly but is there a better manager/coach that would take the job? Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted October 17, 2015 Site Sponsor Share Posted October 17, 2015 I thought when he was appointed he'd be a breath of fresh air and would move away from picking players just because they either play for or have played for the Manky Mob or the dead Huns. Sadly, he's just like all his predecessors and nothing has changed. It'll not be long before Lee fucking Wallace is given a shotty because he plays for a newly formed club that currently plays where the dead Huns used to play. The game against Gib was the ideal chance to clear out the dead wood shite and give youngsters a go but no, Hutton, Fletcher et al still get turned out. My interest in the national team stopped a long time ago. Same old same old..... Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 He's done badly but is there a better manager/coach that would take the job?. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 17, 2015 Author Share Posted October 17, 2015 He's done badly but is there a better manager/coach that would take the job?Can't answer that question definitively but I would like to think so.Time for a fresh approach as the old pals act with Scotland is a bit played out. I think it's an absolute national disgrace that he's been handed a new contract.It wouldn't even be so bad if he'd brought progress or a fresh approach. Fuck the SFA right in the motherfucking pussy. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 17, 2015 Author Share Posted October 17, 2015 I thought when he was appointed he'd be a breath of fresh air and would move away from picking players just because they either play for or have played for the Manky Mob or the dead Huns. Sadly, he's just like all his predecessors and nothing has changed. It'll not be long before Lee fucking Wallace is given a shotty because he plays for a newly formed club that currently plays where the dead Huns used to play. The game against Gib was the ideal chance to clear out the dead wood shite and give youngsters a go but no, Hutton, Fletcher et al still get turned out. My interest in the national team stopped a long time ago. Same old same old.....That line up against Gibraltar was the height of it alright.A national fucking disgrace. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 17, 2015 Share Posted October 17, 2015 That line up against Gibraltar was the height of it alright.A national fucking disgrace. Made no sense whatsoever. We'd already been eliminated, so this was the PERFECT game in which to throw in a bunch of U21 or fringe players, just to see how they performed in what should have been a practice match against an international pub team. The result was irrelevant, so he could have played any formation his little ginger heart desired, while trying out the likes of Jack and Shinnie. Instead he opted for more of the same. The Scottish international setup has gone backwards and continues to lose ground. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 17, 2015 Author Share Posted October 17, 2015 Made no sense whatsoever. We'd already been eliminated, so this was the PERFECT game in which to throw in a bunch of U21 or fringe players, just to see how they performed in what should have been a practice match against an international pub team. The result was irrelevant, so he could have played any formation his little ginger heart desired, while trying out the likes of Jack and Shinnie. Instead he opted for more of the same. The Scottish international setup has gone backwards and continues to lose ground.It was like it was some sort of sad tribute to the players that were regulars during the campaign.I'm not sure Strachan though he was going to be offered the chance to continue , likewise, fletcher, Maloney , brown , Greer , Hanley etc .So he gave them all a swan song. When is someone going to break the Scottish mould?Or maybe , more to the point. When is someone going to be allowed to break the mould by a the auld fuckers at the SFA and the media? Link to comment
dasm Posted October 19, 2015 Share Posted October 19, 2015 I thought when he was appointed he'd be a breath of fresh air and would move away from picking players just because they either play for or have played for the Manky Mob or the dead Huns. Sadly, he's just like all his predecessors and nothing has changed. It'll not be long before Lee fucking Wallace is given a shotty because he plays for a newly formed club that currently plays where the dead Huns used to play. The game against Gib was the ideal chance to clear out the dead wood shite and give youngsters a go but no, Hutton, Fletcher et al still get turned out. My interest in the national team stopped a long time ago. Same old same old..... Yeah, Ian Black getting a Scotland cap when playing in the third division certainly proved it was the same old mentality. Link to comment
tup Posted October 19, 2015 Share Posted October 19, 2015 We are still waiting on an explanation from him for the dismal failure we have just witnessed. Nobody is holding this arrogant little fucker to account. Failure is therefore inevitable. 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 19, 2015 Share Posted October 19, 2015 We are still waiting on an explanation from him for the dismal failure we have just witnessed. Nobody is holding this arrogant little fucker to account. Failure is therefore inevitable. The blinkered TA are delighted he's staying. Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 19, 2015 Share Posted October 19, 2015 Strachan is God. We would have won if it wasn't for that South African linesman. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted October 19, 2015 Share Posted October 19, 2015 Doesn't matter who manages us. They will always just be puppets. The suits & WCM are the problem at the SFA.Same as the pricks that run the SPFL really. Game's a bogey Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 28, 2015 Share Posted October 28, 2015 I'm not blind to his shortcomings - and team selections! - but as someone said above, who could we get that would actually take the job? Graeme Souness and Kenny Dalglish would be a step sideways at best. Walter Smith shouldn't even be considered, turncoat (and overrated) Hun minker that he is. Alex McLeish? More chance of him being the next AFC manager and that's a stretch! Eric Black? A great ASSISTANT, but limited experience as his own man. Billy Stark? Decent shout, might give youth a chance, BUT limited proven success. Guus Hiddink? PMSL, would he even give us a second thought? You know, back when they appointed Vogts, I was baffled, as I thought the best candidate was right under our noses - George Graham. His football wasn't always (if ever) pretty, but he was organised, methodical and knew how to marshall a squad and get the best out of players. I doubt he'd come out of retirement now, so that ship has sailed. So, I ask again - WHO can we get who will do a better job? If those calling for Strachan's head can come up with a better option, I will get behind it, otherwise you're pissing in the wind and I'll have to say opt for the status quo. As a few side notes: I can't help but wonder how fine that line is between perceived success and failure here... after all, we would have been in the play-offs had we beaten Georgia, where we'd be facing Bosnia (1st leg away, I believe) and thus in with a great shout of making the Euros. What would opinion of Strachan have become then? Upon further scrutiny, we were unbeaten in 4 games against Poland (both games we were unlucky not to win) and Eire (4 points well deserved) and didn't disgrace ourselves in either game against Germany. I think we were in a very tight group, with 2 countries who are about our level. Had Eire not performed so spectacularly against Germany (and who would ever have predicted that?!) and Poland not got that shock win over Germany in Warsaw, would we have seen a very different scenario? What if we'd been drawn in a group like Northern Ireland's? Or Albania's? Ultimately, I think with Strachan we've played to our level, no more and no less. I say unless we have a better option, we stick with him for the World Cup qualifiers. 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted October 28, 2015 Share Posted October 28, 2015 Maybe worth scrapping the national team.Their games just disrupt proper fitba. 1 Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 28, 2015 Share Posted October 28, 2015 Maybe worth scrapping the national team.Their games just disrupt proper fitba.Well, seeing as we're a country that doesn't want to be a country, I doubt half of the region would care. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 28, 2015 Share Posted October 28, 2015 Billy Stark a decent shout? Lay off the crack min. Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 28, 2015 Share Posted October 28, 2015 Billy Stark a decent shout? Lay off the crack min. Most successful Scotland manager of all time. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 29, 2015 Share Posted October 29, 2015 Most successful Scotland manager of all time. Capped Jordon Rhoades and he scored goals. Go figure. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted November 3, 2015 Share Posted November 3, 2015 Billy Stark a decent shout? Lay off the crack min. Typical. Of all the points I made, you pick up on (and misinterpret) only one tiny part of it. I acknowledged his lack of big time success and thus ruled him out. Try again - IS THERE A BETTER (REALISTIC) OPTION FOR SCOTLAND/NORTH BRITAIN MANAGER THAN GORDON STRACHAN? Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted November 3, 2015 Share Posted November 3, 2015 Alex McLeish. Would he take the job? Moreover, should he be offered it? Link to comment
The Hulk Posted November 3, 2015 Share Posted November 3, 2015 Scotland could get any manager in the world if they wanted them badly enough and therein lies the issue. Defeatist attitudes like "this is the best we can get" pervades throughout Scottish society and is the biggest single thing that holds us back. Remember when Barry Hearn spoke at that conference a few months back - say what you like about him but we need more with his attitude in this country. If the SFA are willing to deepen their pockets and roll out the red carpet they could get Pep Guardiola if they really really want to. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 3, 2015 Share Posted November 3, 2015 I preferred your last avatar Hulk, min.Better fashion. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted November 6, 2015 Share Posted November 6, 2015 IS THERE A BETTER (REALISTIC) OPTION FOR SCOTLAND/NORTH BRITAIN MANAGER THAN GORDON STRACHAN? YES. 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 6, 2015 Share Posted November 6, 2015 YES.Probably your best ever post. Link to comment