Food Heaven / Food Hell

What is your idea of food heaven and food hell?

For me:

Heaven- Rare sirloin steak, accompanied with steak-cut chips, fried mushrooms, a fried egg, half a tomato, and an onion-less salad. English mustard too.

Hell- Anything with tuna and onions.

Edit to add mustard to the heavenly meal.

This is a tough one. Mainly on the heaven front, as I am not overly fussy with food.

I do like a steak, rare, still bloody. Probably a T-Bone steak. Usual accompaniments, chips (thick cut), mushroom. Would also definitely like broccoli with it. No sauce, mustard. That said, I think my food heaven would need something with a bit of spice to it. Decent curry, preferably lamb, or if making myself, just use a steak. Final alternate would probably be a seafood paella, containing one of swordfish/monkfish, and plenty prawns, mussels, squid etc.

On the hell, I don't really like jelly. Or licquorice. So probably licquorice jelly...

Don't like jelly either. Don't trust the way it moves.

It's all about environment. You dinna want a ten course meal from moma after a night out. But a decent kebab or city restaurant cheeseburger supper hits the spot. Similarly on a night out with the lads you dinna head to the nearest raw food restaurant either

If you like curry CS min you need a night out in Manchester.

Head to rusholme 's curry mile

Never been to Manchester but will be sure to check it out if I ever visit.

Glasgow is UK Heavyweight for curry - though this year Bradford overtook us for the number of times its won "Curry Capital of Britain". Their win puts them on 5 titles, we have 4.

http://www.fedrest.com/aboutus.htm

I suspect Bradford is using underhand tactics (financial bribes, sex etc) to rob Glasgow of her rightful title!

A big fuck off piece of Aberdeen Angus steak, cooked straight on hot as fuck charcoal, with a light sprinkling of a home made rub (rosemary, thyme, a little brown sugar, black pepper, sea salt, tiny wee bit of cumin.). Medium rare with some Chimuchurri sauce and some crusty freshly baked warm white bread rolls to mop up all the juices.

Food hell - My ma's early 90s tagliatelle, fuck knows what was in it but I wasn't fan. It was also the only food other than liquorice I remember disliking in my entire childhood.

I'd have a Chinese meal before an Indian any day.

Last time in Glasgow went to the one which was voted best in Britain. It wasn't as good as the one in the round building opposite the Garden Hilton beside SECC.

I went to that one after a day at the commonwealth games - though the place was a bit grubby, wasn't impressed, but then could have been stowed with games-goers all day.

The round building is the North Rotunda, it has a Southern counterpart - they were originally entrances to descend to tunnels under the Clyde. They had a pedestrian tunnel and one for horses and carts, later motor vehicles, which would be lowered down / raised up on lifts.

Aye I struggle to choose between a fine chinky and an Indian.

Great on on Byers rd just opposite tinderbox.

For high end chinese check out:

http://www.ho-wong.com/

http://www.chinatownglasgow.com/welcome.html

These places are always full of Chinese diners, a good litmus test.

Asia Style was a cracking pan-asian joint, (also full of asian diners), and 'down to earth' venue and prices too, but its now changed and I havent been to the new incarnation (bet its not as good).

Never been to Manchester but will be sure to check it out if I ever visit.

Glasgow is UK Heavyweight for curry - though this year Bradford overtook us for the number of times its won "Curry Capital of Britain". Their win puts them on 5 titles, we have 4.

http://www.fedrest.com/aboutus.htm

I suspect Bradford is using underhand tactics (financial bribes, sex etc) to rob Glasgow of her rightful title!

The dhabba in merchant city is my favourite Indian. Been?