StandFree1982 Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Anyone else think that the internet is becoming worse and worse? Here are a few things that really fucks me off: News sites that you need to answer a question to see the badly written columnNews sites that you need to PAY to see the badly written columnWebsites that have adverts in between the text, so you have to trawl through them to view the rest of the article. Websites are now filled with intrusive adverts popping up and covering the contentsSites like RedTV that have the social icons along the left hand side which cover the text which doesn't go away unless you maximise the page. This is an issue when browsing on a mobile.Websites that have a top 50 or a list of things, like 100 best Novels of the 21st Century or something like that, and instead of just giving you the list, they give you 100 separate pages that you have to trawl through individually. Why not give me a fucking LIST so I can see them at a glance?!!Pretty much every page has "other news on the internet" section at the bottom filled with click bait taking you to another page with the exact same format and layout as the above.Websites that are clearly designed for a mobile device and not desktops with huge photos covering the screen. This mornings example was the Evening Express with Willo Floods puss glaring at me. What I should have done is put this list into 8 separate pages, with arrows for navigating back and forth with a huge image representing each point.... I'm all for change, but I am actually finding browsing most websites to be a chore. p.s. this isn't a badly written roid club membership form, just a few things that have pissed me off in the last few years that seem to have become the "norm" online. Link to comment
BWG Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Ad Block plus and Mozilla's reader view will be a revelation to you, good sir. Also another pro tip - can often use developer modes of browsers to select and delete the annoying "answer this question" overlays. Handy for illegal streams. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 The North and South divide in the League Cup. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 There are plenty decent websites for news out there SF1982. Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Personally I love the Internet. It weeds out the weak from the strong, the gullible from the sound mind. Don't be enticed by click bait. Use appropriate add blockers. Link to comment
zander Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Do gooders, the politically correct and fubar news. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Not being able to make racist statements on the internet without the cops showing up Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Facebook. Never got it Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Facebook. Never got it Why does it piss you off so much? Link to comment
thedandydon Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Do gooders, the politically correct and fubar news. This! Facebook seems to be a breeding ground for this type of behaviour. The latest 'aren't I a great person' trend is to dispense with the traditional sending of Christmas cards in favour of a donation to charity and then proclaiming said act to claim cyber back slaps from friends and family, mostly female in this instance.Agreee about the click bait sites, who creates those things?! top 27 photos of 'celebs' doing something amusing like stepping out their front door looking rough or some such. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Ads on youtube. Internet is getting more and more like real life each day - meaning companies trying to make a quid off it. Was better when it was mostly private enthusiasts. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted December 8, 2015 Author Share Posted December 8, 2015 Ads on youtube. Internet is getting more and more like real life each day - meaning companies trying to make a quid off it. Was better when it was mostly private enthusiasts.The ads at the beginning don't annoy me so much, but the ones that pop up at the bottom, covering part of the video, with the tiny x to close it.... Link to comment
buchanskii Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 you should probably start using adblock if you don't like adverts on youtube. On chrome it's just a wee extension that needs downloaded, then hey presto no more adverts on youtube. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Why does it piss you off so much?Full of look at me, look at us, look at little Cody, he's the best at everything, and his beautiful sister Skylana Snowflake can do no wrong pish. I don't need to know what a quine that went to school with my wife 20 years ago and hasn't seen since had for her supper last night, and that an ex junkie fae Peterheid can make a cheesecake with Philadelphia in less than 5 minutes. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 I think its great to keep in contact with friends. You can chose who you want to see what they're up to. If you don't like the cut of their jib, delete them. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Why does it piss you off so much? I also hate facebook. I hate it because everyone who is on it wants to arrange their / our whole lives in it, shunning traditional means of communication. When asked why I am not on it, I always reply "Because im not a teenage girl" Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 I think its great to keep in contact with friends. You can chose who you want to see what they're up to. If you don't like the cut of their jib, delete them. I dont want folk seeing what I am up to. I am a secretive person, the shadows are my domain. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Also, facebook is really just a big government database to monitor what everyone is doing. If the govt said "lets make a massive, detailed database and have everyones personal details, pictures, likes and dislikes, communications and even what they are doing in real time on it " Everyone would freak out about a police state. But, pitch it to people as a convenient way to "stay in touch with friends" and everyone rushes to reveal their secrets and share information on it! 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 I also hate facebook. I hate it because everyone who is on it wants to arrange their / our whole lives in it, shunning traditional means of communication. When asked why I am not on it, I always reply "Because im not a teenage girl" I dont want folk seeing what I am up to. I am a secretive person, the shadows are my domain. You don't have to post. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 I think its great to keep in contact with friends. You can chose who you want to see what they're up to. If you don't like the cut of their jib, delete them.Delete them from what? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted December 8, 2015 Author Share Posted December 8, 2015 Also, facebook is really just a big government database to monitor what everyone is doing. If the govt said "lets make a massive, detailed database and have everyones personal details, pictures, likes and dislikes, communications and even what they are doing in real time on it " Everyone would freak out about a police state. But, pitch it to people as a convenient way to "stay in touch with friends" and everyone rushes to reveal their secrets and share information on it!You worry about Facebook monitoring everything you do, but when God does it it's all "let's sing a song about him..." 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Delete them from what?Facebook. You don't need to be friends with anyone. Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted December 8, 2015 Share Posted December 8, 2015 Twitter. The constant 'twitter storms' about a load of bollocks drive me nuts. Even if you aren't on it you can't escape coz every news story on telly or the paper references what some halfwit on twitter thinks about it. The fact politicians use it makes me sick. It should just be for pop stars and their wee lassie fans. Just noticed the share on Twitter button underneath. Fuck! Link to comment