Geoff_Tipps Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 I use to love the game and watch a lot be it Scottish, English or European, however these days I find it incredibly boring. The game has changed so much in the past few years and its completely lost its Appeal. I must stress my love for Aberdeen hasn't dwindled one bit, I still have my season card and make every effort to watch them every week and wouldn't change that for the world, however if it wasn't for the glorious Dons I think I'd be finished with the sport. What's caused it? Money? Teams persisting with one striker? Cheats? Poor Refs? Getting old? Probably all of the above, I suppose. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 8, 2016 Author Share Posted January 8, 2016 Shite. Wrong forum. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 It`s quite shite to me nowadays(you wouldn`t believe that going by some of my posts), passion for the game starting dwindling in the last 10 or so years.I very rarely watch a match now unless it`s Aberdeen or Tottenham playing. Edit : This is someone who has done roughly 1,250 games attending. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 I'm 34 and I haven't listened to much if any new music for the last 4 years or so. I still like the stuff I did before but as for new things - sounds the same to me. Same with football - still like what I liked before but don't really have a strong general interest anymore. Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 Get this shite oot o' here No boring fitba rubbish allowed in the pub.I used to like football chat in the pub, but these days? Meh. I struggle to name any player who doesn't play for the famous. Link to comment
Henry Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 Football not involving AFC has always been pish, glad you're realising this now. 1 Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 Outside of the dons, it's pish. It'll likely get pisher next year too when sevco arrive. Excuse for a carry on though. Link to comment
fifered Posted January 8, 2016 Share Posted January 8, 2016 Interest in the dons is as high as it's been since I was 19/20 and going to every game hone and away although I don't get to the away games much these days. As for other football, my interest is mainly around a minor obsession with fantasy football and I end up watching games relating to that. Other games, particular champions league are utterly mind numbing. Plenty epl games are complete dross as well. Watching Liverpool on man u just now is worse than dull. Plenty of it is to do with the fact that money had ruined most games as a contest. The group stages of the Champions league is just a money making procession for the richest teams. Games are rarely competitive. Can't see it changing though. The game is riddled with self interest. 1 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted January 9, 2016 Share Posted January 9, 2016 It's anarchy! Football posts in the Pub forum and music links?.........Madness I tell thee Someone will say sma soon 1 Link to comment
pwtredz Posted January 10, 2016 Share Posted January 10, 2016 it is after yesterdays debacle Link to comment
caledonia Posted January 10, 2016 Share Posted January 10, 2016 It started getting shite when sportscene was moved from saturday night to sunday to allow for blanket english shiteplus if its rotton to the core currupt including the cunts that run it Link to comment
boboisared Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Still love football. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 There is no doubt scottish football is in long term decline, which looks set to continue. Expensive prices for a poor product.Corrupt and incompetent governance.Cheating among the teams.A print media only interested in two teams and which primarily acts like fanzines of the same.Very little TV exposure - and what there is includes shite like play backs on BBC Alba.Attracts very little sponsorship money. Tbh I think the main thing keeping Scottish football afloat is the lack of a serious alternative for people (e.g. there are only two professional egg chasing teams in scotland). Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Someone will say sma soon Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 There is no doubt scottish football is in long term decline, which looks set to continue. Expensive prices for a poor product.Corrupt and incompetent governance.Cheating among the teams.A print media only interested in two teams and which primarily acts like fanzines of the same.Very little TV exposure - and what there is includes shite like play backs on BBC Alba.Attracts very little sponsorship money. Tbh I think the main thing keeping Scottish football afloat is the lack of a serious alternative for people (e.g. there are only two professional egg chasing teams in scotland). Club egg-chasing was never all that big in Scotland anyway, aside from the Borders and Edinburgh. The reason our game is crap entirely obvious: it’s because we are on England’s doorstep, and they have the #bestestleagueintheworldever. It’s not just our game which is being ruined; the farcical amounts of money now swirling around English football have created a monstrous situation in which the likes of Leicester, Palace and Stoke are now better (significantly better) than the likes of Ajax and Benfica. Take someone like Xherdan Shaqiri, brilliant wee player, on his day one of the finest attacking midfield talents in Europe, plays for Bayern and Inter Milan and then heads to… Stoke. Now, no disrespect to Stoke, but it’s a total nonsense, player like that at a club like them. Yet they can afford his £80k/wk wages, so suddenly they’re able to far outstrip the genuinely big clubs in other countries which don’t have access to the same Sky-inflated revenues. See also Cabaye at Palace, or Mahrez at Leicester, or fucking Bournemouth preparing to splash out £16m on a striker no-one has ever heard of. It affects us worst in Scotland because we’re closest, but the effects of the EPL Death Star are now being felt throughout Europe. 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Oh dear, Bluto's EPL-criticism spidey sense will be tingling. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Oh dear, Bluto's EPL-criticism spidey sense will be tingling. Oh dear, Bluto's EPL-criticism spidey sense will be tingling. Ah that tired old hackneyed gag. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 The Monstrous amounts of money circulating around the English game has killed Scottish Football. Simple. Oh and the SFA. And Rangers cheating. And Celtic. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Tbh I think the main thing keeping Scottish football afloat is the lack of a serious alternative for people (e.g. there are only two professional egg chasing teams in scotland). That's not a bad post, for you. Football v Rugby is mostly around class barriers though. We've got loads of tinks in Scotland, so football will always be a bigger sport.Would be interesting if Aberdeen had a professional rugby team how many would go there instead of going to see the famous. I'd suspect our shit attendances would get worse. Link to comment
boboisared Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 That's not a bad post, for you. Football v Rugby is mostly around class barriers though. We've got loads of tinks in Scotland, so football will always be a bigger sport.Would be interesting if Aberdeen had a professional rugby team how many would go there instead of going to see the famous. I'd suspect our shit attendances would get worse.Lots of rugby fans at my work. None of them from Aberdeen though. Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Isn't the Ruggers on Friday nights? The Tims at my work used to regularly head to the "Warriers" game on Friday nights, then watch Celtic on TV on the Saturday. I'd certainly happily go to both. And then see the Lynx at night. GO ABERDEEN. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Isn't the Ruggers on Friday nights? The Tims at my work used to regularly head to the "Warriers" game on Friday nights, then watch Celtic on TV on the Saturday. I'd certainly happily go to both. And then see the Lynx at night. GO ABERDEEN.You reemployed now, with this bulging social diary and all? Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 You reemployed now, with this bulging social diary and all?Nah, I'm still awaiting my P45. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 The Scottish Premiership will once again lose it's appeal once The Rangers are up. They will, like their Father before them, outspend everyone in the league (outside of Celtic), with money they likely won't have, and the league will once again be a two horse race. Many will say it is a one horse race currently, but at least it's a lot closer than it used to be when Rangers were alive and it was 20+ points gap every season. I might just start watching womans Netball, Hockey or tennis on a Saturday instead. Any sport where there are short skirts on display. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 You'd be better off watching porn. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 That's not a bad post, for you.Similarly, that one is head and shoulders above your usual efforts! Someone must have hacked your account! Its an interesting thought though - England has football, rugby union, rubgy league, cricket. Ireland has rugby union, hurling, gaelic football (they all love the EPL but football never took off originally as it was derided as the "garrison game"). I dont know if hurling and gaelic football are pro (doubt it) but they are both wildly popular. We in contrast have very little choice of sport (essentially none if you live outside the two main cities). Football v Rugby is mostly around class barriers though.Yes and its strange that. I know £££ public schools churn out rugger-buggers, but then we played plenty of rugby at my state school. Would be interesting if Aberdeen had a professional rugby team how many would go there instead of going to see the famous. I'd suspect our shit attendances would get worse. I think you would be right. My brother and law and his brother/dad etc go to see the Warriors. Its reasonably priced, they are actually quite a good team, they play teams from around europe (not the same few scottish teams over and over and over) and I think you can even have a pint at the ground. The appeal is obvious. I think Scottish football would struggle if they was any real choice for people. Monkey Tennis would give it a run for its money. I now live quite near the Glasgow Tigers speedway stadium, and sometimes i think "I wonder if thats any good?". I dont even know anything about Speedway (!) its just interesting because its something different which might not be shite. I have no memory of life without Aberdeen FC, and the club is as inherent a part of my life as my right arm, but its true that there is very little new, captivating or exciting about Scottish football. i cant help but wonder if the weans might not turn up their nose at it. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 Isn't the Ruggers on Friday nights? It can be on various days - I *think* Friday night games are televised by Sky and so its likely Sky which have dictated that some games will be on a Friday. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted January 11, 2016 Share Posted January 11, 2016 It can be on various days - I *think* Friday night games are televised by Sky and so its likely Sky which have dictated that some games will be on a Friday. The vast majority of the PRO12 games (i.e. the normal league, in which Edinburgh and Glasgow play against the pro sides from Italy, Ireland and Wales) are on Friday evenings. These are occasionally covered live by BBC Alba. European Cup games are played over the weekend, with the times staggered for live coverage on Sky Sports. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted February 12, 2016 Share Posted February 12, 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35557830 Oh the irony - Doncaster the cunt saying it's sinister, whilst doing his best to stifle all competition domestically. Arsehole.Mind you, I did nearly fall off my chair when he mentioned Aberdeen as a huge brand name! "I think this is a very sinister development. The likes of Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen, Ajax, Porto, these are huge brand names, huge clubs with great histories and great global fan bases. And there's the possibility that some may try and limit or remove their access to the Champions League." Link to comment