Referees In The Stands

17 members have voted

1. 1. Refs in the stand.

• Good Idea?
    • Bad idea?

Not one for TV but a guy at work with no real interest in football came up with a good point. Why not stick a referee, who's mic'd up, on the half way line to watch the game? Gives him a whole view of the pitch and things like Johansen's kicks at the semi final would no longer go unnoticed. Sometimes I feel for referees as they can't see every single little thing, and surely an extra pair of eyes wouldn't hurt. It also takes in the vast majority of professional and semi professional teams because nearly everyone has a stand on the touchline.

A fourth official would be a great idea.

Good thinking.

:clangers2:

• Upvote 12

He's still nae exactly in the best position is he? I'm pretty sure he isn't mic'd up either. Anyone know what the 4th official is there to do? Nae smart arse answers of "officiate" please.

I've seen a referee on various occasions run 40-50 yards to have a word with someone on a bench, so I can only assume that is on the back of being told something by the fourth official over a mic...

FIFA Laws of the Game 2015-16

Introduction

• A fourth official may be appointed under the competition rules and officiates if any of the three match officials is unable to continue, unless a reserve assistant referee is appointed. He assists the referee at all times
  • Prior to the start of the competition, the organiser states clearly whether, if the referee is unable to continue, the fourth official takes over as the referee or whether the senior assistant referee takes over as referee with the fourth official becoming an assistant referee
  • The fourth official assists with any administrative duties before, during and after the match, as required by the referee
  • He is responsible for assisting with substitution procedures during the match
  • He has the authority to check the equipment of substitutes before they enter the field of play. If their equipment does not comply with the Laws of the Game, he informs the referee
  • He supervises the replacement balls, where required. If the match ball has to be replaced during a match, he provides another ball, on the instruction of the referee, thus keeping the delay to a minimum
  • He assists the referee to control the match in accordance with the Laws of the Game. The referee, however, retains the authority to decide on all points connected with play.
  • After the match, the fourth official must submit a report to the appropriate authorities on any misconduct or other incident that occurred out of the view of the referee and the assistant referees. The fourth official must advise the referee and his assistants of any report being made - He has the authority to inform the referee of irresponsible behaviour by any occupant of the technical area
  • A reserve assistant referee may also be appointed under competition rules. His only duty shall be to replace an assistant referee who is unable to continue or to replace the fourth official, as required

One thing I forgot to mention was the ability to use old cunt referees who wouldn't be able to take over if the referee was injured. Seems to be a remit for the 4th official so rules them out for that job.

Even sitting in the stands they would miss things and would be a good distance away to see things properly.

Things like that stamp could easily have been resolved using TV within a minute by someone re-watching that incident. Or failing that, for things like diving, stamping, two footed challenges they should be able to ban/ fine players after the game. I think diving should definitely be looked at after the game and players given large banning orders to phase it out of the game.

The fourth official should be moved from trackside to a TV suite in the stand.

He should be replaced at trackside by a simple 'Bouncer'.

In his TV suite, the 4th official could be called on (via radio) by the ref to watch replays and advise on decisions such as:

- was the ball fully over the goal line or not

- off the ball incidents

- especially bad fouls

- was a foul outside or within the penalty box

I dont accept the argument that TV evidence would slow the game up. It works an absolute treat in rugby and means there are far less refereeing bloopers / injustices.

Even if it takes 1-2 minutes to review an incident via TV replay, thats much shorter time delay than all the arguing / pushing / shoving etc which normally accompanies a controversial incident.

TV evidence would also curtail the influence of the crowd, meaning refs could no longer just take the easy option of defering to what sellick or orcish fans expect.

In his TV suite, the 4th official could be called on (via radio) by the ref to watch replays and advise on decisions such as:

- off the ball incidents

- especially bad fouls

I dont accept the argument that TV evidence would slow the game up. It works an absolute treat in rugby and means there are far less refereeing bloopers / injustices.

Even if it takes 1-2 minutes to review an incident via TV replay, thats much shorter time delay than all the arguing / pushing / shoving etc which normally accompanies a controversial incident.

TV evidence would also curtail the influence of the crowd, meaning refs could no longer just take the easy option of defering to what sellick or orcish fans expect.

Didn't watch the Scotland Australia QF? You still get bloopers and injustices in rugby and it doesn't work an absolute treat. The game become over officiated where every single incident is seemingly gone over just so a mistake is avoided, it's become a big talking point. The game is slowed down pretty considerably with the players standing around for a minute or two waiting on a decision.

I don't necessarily buy the ref is cheating. He was the one who allowed Josh Meekings to stop a clear goal bound shot with his hand against Celtic in the SCSF last year. Sounds like a tim conspiracies after that game. He's just not a very good referee.

Didn't watch the Scotland Australia QF? You still get bloopers and injustices in rugby and it doesn't work an absolute treat. The game become over officiated where every single incident is seemingly gone over just so a mistake is avoided, it's become a big talking point. The game is slowed down pretty considerably with the players standing around for a minute or two waiting on a decision.

I did see the QF but dont remember any particular TV incident - my memory isnt great! - but in my experience in rugby its usually just for questionable trys they defer to the TV replay, if there are so many people lying in a heap the ref cant see where the ball is. Usually only takes seconds for the play to be checked and a decision confirmed.

I agree we dont want the game to become over-officiated, that why I identified just 4 scenarios where you might go to the TV ref - ones which can unjustly affect the outcome of a game and ruin fans enjoyment. We neednt re-examine every shy, for example.

The only downside I can see is that it would rob the fans of the great pleasure of benefiting from a scandalous decision.

I did see the QF but dont remember any particular TV incident - my memory isnt great! - but in my experience in rugby its usually just for questionable trys they defer to the TV replay, if there are so many people lying in a heap the ref cant see where the ball is. Usually only takes seconds for the play to be checked and a decision confirmed.

I agree we dont want the game to become over-officiated, that why I identified just 4 scenarios where you might go to the TV ref - ones which can unjustly affect the outcome of a game and ruin fans enjoyment. We neednt re-examine every shy, for example.

The only downside I can see is that it would rob the fans of the great pleasure of benefiting from a scandalous decision.

The last minute penalty for Australia. Granted the cheating cunt of a South African referee never used the technology to check but you must remember the end to the game FFS. :clangers2:

Aye I remember that bit alright, but for me the take away wasnt the ref or his decision, but rather that we lacked the maturity and gamesmanship (is that a word?) to safely keep possession and see out a game we were winning, with only seconds left.

Gamesmanship is a word but means having a wee word in someone's ear to try and make them do something stupid so not really applicable.

I don't think a TMO is necessary in football, I don't mind refereeing mistakes as they make discussing the game more interesting.

Gamesmanship is a word but means having a wee word in someone's ear to try and make them do something stupid so not really applicable.

I knew I should have just left it at "maturity" :laughing:

I don't think a TMO is necessary in football, I don't mind refereeing mistakes as they make discussing the game more interesting.

Fair doos. I know whatcha mean about the decisions etc can makle the aftermath more interesting, but surely it would be better if the standard of play, tactics etc dominated the analysis.

Instant video replay available to the officials would remove the temporary blindness that plagues Scottish officials when it comes to cheating, dangerous play by Celtic.

If there had been video replay this week, the referee would have been forced to make calls that he deliberately refused to make, meaning by the 90th minute Celtic would have been down to 7 or 8 men and we'd have been 3-0 up.

A fourth official is effectively there to verify the bias of the official on the pitch... it's completely pointless.

Video evidence means the referee is forced to make honest calls.

Unfortunately it might delay the game by 60 seconds when it comes to a critical decision, like the stonewall penalty on Rooney... so probably not worth it for the sake of such a huge delay in play.

Instant video replay available to the officials would remove the temporary blindness that plagues Scottish officials when it comes to cheating, dangerous play by Celtic.

If there had been video replay this week, the referee would have been forced to make calls that he deliberately refused to make, meaning by the 90th minute Celtic would have been down to 7 or 8 men and we'd have been 3-0 up.

A fourth official is effectively there to verify the bias of the official on the pitch... it's completely pointless.

Unfortunately it might delay the game by 60 seconds when it comes to a critical decision, like the stonewall penalty on Rooney... so probably not worth it for the sake of such a huge delay in play.

I'm sure it'll really bum you out the next time you're at Pittodrie if it comes in!

- off the ball incidents

- especially bad fouls

Did the SFA not just not long ago say that we are going to be trialing this in next seasons league cup?

Yeah but sketchy refereeing decisions have played a huge part in Celtic losing big games like cup semi finals against Ross County and ICT. You can make the argument referees make too many mistakes and it should be introduced to stop that but I don't actually think there's a refereeing conspiracy.

Also if there was a video replay it would've been a free kick not a penalty for Rooney.