Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 for me I don't think you can beat Manchester or Newcastle.They have everything a lively fun city should have.History, architecture, trendy bars, old man bars and brilliant beer gardens.Also like a city that has separate areas, each with different characteristics and styles. On the continent the German cities are always fun but I think Amsterdam trumps then as its more scenic. You, what do you think? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Londons a good shout. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 LondonDusseldorfEdinburgh Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Edinburgh. I see a more civilized, almost cultured, side of Mobby coming out these days.Commenting on food threads and enjoying nights out in Bourgeois Edinburgh. ;-) I loved it there.Tore it up for nearly a decade. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 for me I don't think you can beat Manchester or Newcastle.They have everything a lively fun city should have.History, architecture, trendy bars, old man bars and brilliant beer gardens.Also like a city that has separate areas, each with different characteristics and styles. On the continent the German cities are always fun but I think Amsterdam trumps then as its more scenic. You, what do you think? For once I agree with you, on Manc and Newc. London on a summers day is hard to beat. Outside the UK honourable mentions to Cologne, Dusseldorf and Melbourne. I was also in Dublin and Belfast for the first time over xmas... it's a cliche, but both were a superb afternoon/evening night out! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 For once I agree with you, on Manc and Newc. London on a summers day is hard to beat. Outside the UK honourable mentions to Cologne, Dusseldorf and Melbourne. I was also in Dublin and Belfast for the first time over xmas... it's a cliche, but both were a superb afternoon/evening night out!Heard many a good thing about Melbourne. Why the two shouts for Dussledorf?Reminds me of AWP. Link to comment
360 Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Edinburgh DublinManchesterNewcastle is pretty good too. Not Middlesbrough. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Edinburghs coming out as a popular destination. Lacks beer gardens though I'd say.Or even just terrace drinking.Scotland's rubbish for that. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Munich, and not just during the O-fest. Edinburgh, ironically at any time of year other than now when the city is positively overrun with bloody tourists. Cologne is fun too, as someone else has said. Pretty much anywhere in Germany, in fact. Great country. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Beer gardens are shitThey don't have jukers.Think out of the box Mobby min. We normally slap the iPhone on the table and play music from it. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Munich, and not just during the O-fest. Edinburgh, ironically at any time of year other than now when the city is positively overrun with bloody tourists. Cologne is fun too, as someone else has said. Pretty much anywhere in Germany, in fact. Great country. I thought Oxford was pretty decent too. Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Glasgow Newcastle London - Soho. Some crazy shit Link to comment
minijc Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Berlin, London and Liverpool, was surprised at how good Liverpool was for a spin around, Belrin speaks for itself, fantastic place where you have allsorts going on and London has some fine boozers. 1 Link to comment
zander Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Agree with Bluto Manc is a great city. Northern Quater being the best area. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 I thought Oxford was pretty decent too. Been back a few times. Actually not that much fun if you're not a student; the bars close at 11pm on the dot (always hated that about drinking down south) and on Friday and Saturday nights the city centre can turn a bit wild-westy. Great fun if you ARE a student though, as you can do a bar-crawl of all the college bars. There's, like, 30 of them, and being student places, they're all dead cheap. Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Maybe just familiarity breeding contempt but I find Edinburgh shit for pubs. London and Munich for me. Had a stag in Leeds which was amazing but think that was as much the occasion as the actual boozers. Not really a city but the East Neuk has some great wee pubs dotted through it and is my favourite place in the world. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 NQ, aye it's good. Quite like Deansgate for the boozers and beer gardens Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Maybe just familiarity breeding contempt but I find Edinburgh shit for pubs. London and Munich for me. Had a stag in Leeds which was amazing but think that was as much the occasion as the actual boozers. Not really a city but the East Neuk has some great wee pubs dotted through it and is my favourite place in the world. I lived in Crail for five years, and I endorse this statement. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Bars don't close at 11pm in England TOD min. It's Nae 1986. Link to comment
woohoo Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 the woohoo backs up Melbourne, the city's got it all drinks wise. New York, London, Newcastle. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Bars don't close at 11pm in England TOD min. It's Nae 1986. Erm... I was back in Oxford four weeks ago! Chucky-oot time at 11pm on the dot! Same in Stratford back in March when I was staying there for the Cheltenham Festival. "If you want to keep drinking go back to your hotel and ask them to keep the bar open" - literally what we were told. Maybe I was just unlucky, but it did seem that most of the bars were emptying around that time. Bit of a shocker when you live in Edinburgh and are used to being able to take a leisurely time over it until well after 1am. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Not the sameAye, but it can be A giggle when yourea bit boozy. Jukeboxes are ace. Luckily one of my locals does it himself.Neil Young, golden earring and others on regularly. Canna stand 'Spoons pubs with zero music and atmos. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Erm... I was back in Oxford four weeks ago! Chucky-oot time at 11pm on the dot! Same in Stratford back in March when I was staying there for the Cheltenham Festival. "If you want to keep drinking go back to your hotel and ask them to keep the bar open" - literally what we were told. Maybe I was just unlucky, but it did seem that most of the bars were emptying around that time. Bit of a shocker when you live in Edinburgh and are used to being able to take a leisurely time over it until well after 1am. Think it's more up to the individual premise these days. Been to hunners of pubs that serve long after 11, as recently as last weekend. Agreed though, it's frustrating as fuck when a good boozer shuts early. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 Think it's more up to the individual premise these days. Been to hunners of pubs that serve long after 11, as recently as last weekend. Agreed though, it's frustrating as fuck when a good boozer shuts early. Aye indeed. Especially in a place like Stratford - beautiful wee historic pubs, great atmosphere, plenty of good local beers on tap... and then the dreaded fucking bell at 10.50pm. Rage. Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 I lived in Crail for five years, and I endorse this statement. I love Crail. Used to stay in the East Neuk Hotel a lot before it closed. It's open again though and had a facelift. Seafood platter is the bollocks. Link to comment
zander Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 NQ, aye it's good.Quite like Deansgate for the boozers and beer gardensWas at Deansgate Locks pre roses. Belmont Street type places but nice on a fine day next to the canal. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Under the arches?Or ground level to the canal? Was there couple of weekends ago with the crew.Ace fun.Photos galore. Link to comment