BillShankly Posted October 17, 2016 Share Posted October 17, 2016 Where's everyone heading for a drink before the game on Saturday?...From previous experience, the few pubs around Hampden will be so packed you can't get a drink. Anyone know of any pubs in city centre that open early doors?... Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 Where's everyone heading for a drink before the game on Saturday?...From previous experience, the few pubs around Hampden will be so packed you can't get a drink. Anyone know of any pubs in city centre that open early doors?... The Auctioneers in North Court would probably be your best bet, certainly was 9am opening in the past and used to be incredibly cheap, also a short stroll from Queen St station if you're coming in by train. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 We're going to some hotel near the church on the hill. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 We're going to some hotel near the church on the hill.The Ivory ? Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I'll be kicking about George Square before and after the game. Link to comment
BillyStarkDivinHeeder Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I'll be kicking about George Square before and after the game. How you getting doon min? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 McKinnons Bar, just off Trongate (on the gallowgate, next to where paddys market used to be) opens at 8am Mon-Sat and a somewhat tardy 11am on Sundays. It looks rather rough-n-ready from outside, as you might expect. I have never been in it, but it gets 4.2 / 5 on google reviews and 4.9 / 5 on facebook. Apparently you can get some toast with your beer at that time in the morning, as you chat with the tramps, football fans and others in search of an early drink :-) All you then need to do is walk (or bus or taxi) down saltmarket, over the river and down cathcart road to hampden. Simple. Edit - also has a reputation for being dirt cheap Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 How you getting doon min?Old man's driving. You going down on the train? Link to comment
BillyStarkDivinHeeder Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 Old man's driving. You going down on the train? Megabus! With the Slinkster and T-Bone. Be kicking about Queen St before and after. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 The Ivory ?Could be. Sounds vaguely familiar. Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I need a weegie bar on Saturday morning which will admit children. Any weegies got any suggestions? Church on the hill? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I need a weegie bar on Saturday morning which will admit children. Any weegies got any suggestions? Church on the hill? Come on, you might be short but surely you dont get mistaken for a child? Who has ever seen a baldy child? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I need a weegie bar on Saturday morning which will admit children. Any weegies got any suggestions? Church on the hill? See here Tup: http://www.clockworkbeercompany.co.uk/ Very close to hampden, but allows kids. Prob be busy but you could try to book a table. Failing that, there are wetherspoons pubs on rutherglen road, rutherglen (An Ruadh-Ghleann) and kilmarnock road, shawlands (Sir John Stirling Maxwell). I am sure wetherspoons allow children during the day, but both of those are a decent walk to hampden (maybe about a mile in each case). Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I can walk a mile no hassle. Cheers fatman. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I can walk a mile no hassle. Cheers fatman. Youre welcome! Try the clockwork beer place first - I dont know what time it opens though. if not then either wetherspoons are decent fall backs. Prob the shawlands one is best, in terms of getting back to city centre. Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 Megabus! With the Slinkster and T-Bone. Be kicking about Queen St before and after.I'll text you nearer the time and see where you're heading, catch you for a beer if you fancy. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 McKinnons Bar, just off Trongate (on the gallowgate, next to where paddys market used to be) opens at 8am Mon-Sat and a somewhat tardy 11am on Sundays. It looks rather rough-n-ready from outside, as you might expect. I have never been in it, but it gets 4.2 / 5 on google reviews and 4.9 / 5 on facebook. Apparently you can get some toast with your beer at that time in the morning, as you chat with the tramps, football fans and others in search of an early drink :-) All you then need to do is walk (or bus or taxi) down saltmarket, over the river and down cathcart road to hampden. Simple. Edit - also has a reputation for being dirt cheapIs that the place under the old train bridge, next to Barras walk of fame thingy ?Looks rough as, but probably ok Down on Friday night so probably just a refresher for the morning. Anyone else out in weedge on Friday night ? Link to comment
BillyStarkDivinHeeder Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 I'll text you nearer the time and see where you're heading, catch you for a beer if you fancy. Sounds good. Link to comment
mavv1903 Posted October 18, 2016 Share Posted October 18, 2016 were booked into some Snooker club 10 mins fae Hampden dunno name though...so no use to anyone Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 19, 2016 Share Posted October 19, 2016 Is that the place under the old train bridge, next to Barras walk of fame thingy ?Looks rough as, but probably ok Down on Friday night so probably just a refresher for the morning. Anyone else out in weedge on Friday night ? That's the very one! Edit - all the pubs in that locale look pretty rough, but the ones I have been in (Hielan Jessie, Saracen Head, Tollbooth) have all been alright. Never been stabbed yet lol Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted October 19, 2016 Share Posted October 19, 2016 were booked into some Snooker club 10 mins fae Hampden dunno name though...so no use to anyoneMinnesota Fatz Been there loads of times. Ideal place. Nae even 10 minutes from Hampden. Link to comment
herouali Posted October 19, 2016 Share Posted October 19, 2016 Clockwork is a good shout Ivory / Church on the hill also good options Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted October 19, 2016 Share Posted October 19, 2016 Minnesota Fatz Been there loads of times. Ideal place. Nae even 10 minutes from Hampden.Cockney shall be entering this establishment around 11.30. Been in there a couple of times before. Link to comment
mavv1903 Posted October 19, 2016 Share Posted October 19, 2016 Minnesota Fatz Been there loads of times. Ideal place. Nae even 10 minutes from Hampden. excellent.....bar not open till 11am though Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 20, 2016 Share Posted October 20, 2016 Cockney shall be entering this establishment around 11.30. Been in there a couple of times before.Will you have a collection of memes, gifs and youtube music videos with you so people know it's you and know to steer well clear of you. 1 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted October 22, 2016 Share Posted October 22, 2016 Touch & Go whether i'll make the snooker club now, train faaakin delayed 30mins, some cunt was asked to leave the train at stafford, almost threw him off myself, plod turned up handed and he shit it. Well into me liquids - 5 Large wellers and two mixers down. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted October 22, 2016 Share Posted October 22, 2016 Touch & Go whether i'll make the snooker club now, train faaakin delayed 30mins, some cunt was asked to leave the train at stafford, almost threw him off myself, plod turned up handed and he shit it. Well into me liquids - 5 Large wellers and two mixers down. 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted October 22, 2016 Share Posted October 22, 2016 Plenty of Bacon Rolls in the Iron Horse no doubt. Link to comment