caledonia Posted October 28, 2016 Share Posted October 28, 2016 motherwell are now owned by the fansdo you think this will be a good thinghttp://www.thewellsociety.co.uk/2016/10/28/well-society-statement-a-new-era/http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2016/10/28/club-statement-a-new-era/ Link to comment
jassb Posted October 28, 2016 Share Posted October 28, 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37804898Sold for a pound. Where have we seen that before?Good luck to them. Link to comment
tiktak Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Will ultimately be seen as a disaster. I say this as they have a crappy wee support. They have two choices: stay within budget and hope they have a decent enough manager to keep them up year on year, or spend too much and go into freefall when the debt piles up. Already down in 11th currently, they've picked a swell moment to take over the club. Link to comment
RUL Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 They've been trying for years. It'll end in disaster Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Tam Cowan leading the charge nae doubt. Link to comment
tup Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 They now have the opportunity to sack McGhee. I'd gleefully take it if I were them. Link to comment
Oregon Red Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Good luck to them...in a bigger club like Aberdeen it might work well Link to comment
Guest zoltan_viagra Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 I'm not sure of exactly how this works but does this rely on fans essentially signing up to a direct debit type arrangement rather than a one off payment? The idea sounds nice but I'm not sure how it can be managed. At least with a traditional board/owner you have a level of accountability and in most cases someone wealthy to fallback on if it all goes to crap. What happens when boaby in Motherwell loses his job or has his benefits cut and can no longer pay into the club? Can he walk away? Do others that still pay in have to pick up the tab? What are the actual perceived benefits of 'fan ownership' anyway? Why is it any better than a single wealthy fan owning the club? Not saying it's a bad thing I just genuinely don't understand how this works, the benefits and how it's all managed? All I hear is 'fan ownership' being mentioned as a cliche/sound bite people mention as being a good thing all the time. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 I'm not sure of exactly how this works but does this rely on fans essentially signing up to a direct debit type arrangement rather than a one off payment? The idea sounds nice but I'm not sure how it can be managed. At least with a traditional board/owner you have a level of accountability and in most cases someone wealthy to fallback on if it all goes to crap. What happens when boaby in Motherwell loses his job or has his benefits cut and can no longer pay into the club? Can he walk away? Do others that still pay in have to pick up the tab? What are the actual perceived benefits of 'fan ownership' anyway? Why is it any better than a single wealthy fan owning the club? Not saying it's a bad thing I just genuinely don't understand how this works, the benefits and how it's all managed? All I hear is 'fan ownership' being mentioned as a cliche/sound bite people mention as being a good thing all the time. Yeah the Well Society collect direct debits monthly I believe. Could work fine but despite being a small fanbase - as long as they have enough loyal fans to pay the subs and they run the club within its means which they've been doing lately anyway. The real problem IMO is that as soon as some fans are appointed to be representive of the Well Society and they start to have some influence within the club and feel the perks of being involved in the club then it becomes a power trip and their focus is on retaining their cushy position not necessarily whats best for the club and fans. Thats pretty much the problem with any of these fan ownership schemes IMO, someone has to be given power along the way and rarely do they NOT let that go to their head. Link to comment
Guest zoltan_viagra Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Exactly, at least with a traditional owner if they are being a dick they are at least dicking around with, largely, their own investment. If the fan representative (however that is decided?) is being a dick there's a good chance of other fans just stopping paying into it. Though arguably that threat could also provide the accountability for the fan representative to not act like a dick... Either way it still sounds a risky set up and that's before even taking into consideration the fact supporters rarely agree on how things should be done. Link to comment
StandFreeSills Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Can't see it working like but not bothered reading about it yet. Surely it would only be clowns interested in fan ownership of motherwell. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Heard Tam begging folk to join on Off the Ball last night. Bit of unfair publicity that. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Well to go down in the next few years. Too small a fan base to remain competitive, a shit season or two and folk cancelling their DD's and they'll be in big trouble.Not to say that the fan owned thing is necessarily wrong but big risk involved for a small club. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 £10 direct debit every month Cowan was saying yesterday. They've surely done the math to sustain it at very least.... They can't be going into this blind. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 £10 direct debit every month Cowan was saying yesterday. They've surely done the math to sustain it at very least.... They can't be going into this blind.Cringe. It's maths FFS. One for the Pet Hates thread. On topic good on them for giving it a go but I hope they get relegated. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Doesn't look sustainable. Would be brilliant if they ended up in the seaside leagues. It's 2016 and these tinpot shitholes have no place in the top division. Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Heard Tam begging folk to join on Off the Ball last night. Bit of unfair publicity that. To be fair, and I'm a fan of the show - they gave St. Mirren a hell of a lot of free publicity when they were doing the same thing. Think they'd do the same for any smaller club trying to attempt something like this. Link to comment
caledonia Posted October 30, 2016 Author Share Posted October 30, 2016 If you click on pledge first link i posted it says you can pledge £5 £10 £15 £20 and so on up to £500 Who in their right mind would pledge £500 per month Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 If you click on pledge first link i posted it says you can pledge £5 £10 £15 £20 and so on up to £500 Who in their right mind would pledge £500 per monthWho in Motherwell would have £500 to spare should be the question your asking. Bloody Thatcher Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Craig Whyte? Is Tam Cowans Mrs not a Director or something? Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 I've still not won the Euromillions......as soon as I do, I buy AFC and put it under Hat control, except for at least one season I'm playing up front or taking pens like thon Russian mannie Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 I've still not won the Euromillions......as soon as I do, I buy AFC and put it under Hat control, except for at least one season I'm playing up front or taking pens like thon Russian mannieDon't let DelMonte anywhere near the team selection whatever you do 1 1 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted October 30, 2016 Share Posted October 30, 2016 Don't let DelMonte anywhere near the team selection whatever you doI'll maybe give everyone a shot, Shooftamoofta's week will be fun Link to comment
DelMonte Posted October 31, 2016 Share Posted October 31, 2016 Don't let DelMonte anywhere near the team selection whatever you doI liked Chewies idea of him playing up front and taking pens. At least it means Rooney won't be on the pitch 1 Link to comment
BWG Posted October 31, 2016 Share Posted October 31, 2016 Weegies can't be trusted with anything. They'll fuck this up royally. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted October 31, 2016 Share Posted October 31, 2016 Chewie, can I be commissionaire at the front door ?Always wanted that sort of power, would get a velvet rope set up and everything. 1 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted November 1, 2016 Share Posted November 1, 2016 Chewie, can I be commissionaire at the front door ?Always wanted that sort of power, would get a velvet rope set up and everything.Deal. Velvet rope, red carpet you have to wear a funcy outfit though with white gloves Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 1, 2016 Share Posted November 1, 2016 Lets see them chant "sack the board" now! Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted November 1, 2016 Share Posted November 1, 2016 If i win the lottery i would like to help motherwell in their cause. I would pledge 5p every five years to help. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted November 1, 2016 Share Posted November 1, 2016 Lets see them chant "sack the board" now!Haha, how about "sack the fans representative on the board, he/she's useless" Link to comment