B international

glasgow sheep

Today's P&J reporting that Langfield "blotted his copybook by conceding a soft equaliser to unmarked Finnish forward Juho Makela in the closing stages when the Scots had looked poised to win."

This is the verdict of my mate who was at the game;

Langfield wasn't too much to blame I wouldn't say. Did lose the header at the near post, but would more blame the defender who forgot you were meant to jump to challenge for a ball in the air. Pretty pathetic (not sure who it was - probably that complete nobody Darren Barr
He also thought that

No-one really boosted their chances of 1st team call up for Georgia. Maloney, Brown, Hutton (yes, Hutton), all did quite well. Pearo not bad, other than that not much worth mentioning. I though Thomson was very disappointing, but seemed to get a few good reviews.

And also;

Clark and Greer actually both did ok (Greer saved Broadfoot on more than one occasion and Clark was quite lively), but they're 2 guys like what you are saying - will never get a full cap.

Was at the game, and felt the same as chunk's mate for their 2nd goal - seemed to be poor defending rather than a Langfield blunder.

Craigy Broon made a few good points on Radio Scotland after the game, that this was a "real chance" for those knocking on the door of the first team but none on them really took it. Brown looked fairly disinterested, Maloney was pretty gash, but I thought Pearson did OK. Hutton actually looked fairly solid. :ThumbsDown:

I too was at the game, and don't agree that it was a poor result. Looking at the teams that started, the Finland team had i believe the best part of 300 odd full caps between, the scotland team had less than 20, with Gallacher having almost half of them I think.

Of the three Dons on display, thought Clark did alright, and although he knocked the ball about a bit in the first half, definitely looked more comfortable on the right in the second half. Langfield, I didn't think had a lot to do, and tend to agree that he wasn't necessarily at fault with their second goal... more a case of poor defending. Mackie, didn't get very long, and didn't contribute too much, although didn't appear afraid to mix it with their defenders.

Had a chance to have a very quick chat with two of our contingent, Langfield & Mackie, and thanks to them for taking the time to come over and sign my boys programme and chat.

Of the Scotland team, though best perfomances came from Hutton, Pearson & Beattie.

Beattie in particular is an aggressive f*ck*r, and doesn't hold back. Reckon givem a run in a team in the SPL [ nae necessarily Celtic ] he'd score a right few goals.

Was sat beside the 20 odd Finnish fans, and banter was superb

Only real downer of the night was the leg break incident in the first half.

Clark got whole game and described by Smiffy as "impressive" in P&J.

Mackie getting 20 odd minutes and Langfield gatting 45.

Anyone at the game or got an opinion on how they all played?

I was at the game last night and here is my view on how the Dons players did:

Clark-Started in centre midfield and was very quiet for first 20 mins or so, with the game just passing him by. Then he started to get more involved and ended the 1st half linking up well with his fellow midfielders. Thought he might have been subbed at half time. but i was well chuffed to see him come back out for the second half. It was also good to see him playing out on the wing which i think is his best position. When he got the ball he made a few good runs and put in a few good crosses. He almost put wee Maloney through on goal, when he split the finnish defence with a cute pass but it just had a little too much pace and was collected by the keeper. Over all thought he did well.

Langfield- Came on for the 2nd half, didn't have a lot to do but commanded the box well when it was called for, i did have to look away a few times though when he took a 'Kick out', but i'm glad to say there were no howlers. I missed the finnish 2nd goal cos i was away for wiz, but the lads i was with said he wasn't at fault. Over all not bad 45 mins.

Mackie- Came on for Beatie with 30 mins remaining, and did what he does well, didn't stop running, chasing the ball and harrasing defenders. However he really only had one sniff of a chance in front of goal and i thought (from where i was sitting) if he had hit it first time it might of went in, but he took a touch and lost the goal scoring opportunity, with a bit more confidence i think he would have a had a stab at it. Over all not a bad 30 mins.

Hope this is of some use to my fellow Dandies, it has been a long time since i was at a Scotland game and three Aberdeen players were on the pitch at the same time, it was good to see, hopefully it will be something we will see more often wae Big Eck in charge of the National team.

STAND FREE!!!![/i]

I was at the game last night and here is my view on how the Dons players did:

Clark-Started in centre midfield and was very quiet for first 20 mins or so, with the game just passing him by. Then he started to get more involved and ended the 1st half linking up well with his fellow midfielders. Thought he might have been subbed at half time. but i was well chuffed to see him come back out for the second half. It was also good to see him playing out on the wing which i think is his best position. When he got the ball he made a few good runs and put in a few good crosses. He almost put wee Maloney through on goal, when he split the finnish defence with a cute pass but it just had a little too much pace and was collected by the keeper. Over all thought he did well.

Langfield- Came on for the 2nd half, didn't have a lot to do but commanded the box well when it was called for, i did have to look away a few times though when he took a 'Kick out', but i'm glad to say there were no howlers. I missed the finnish 2nd goal cos i was away for wiz, but the lads i was with said he wasn't at fault. Over all not bad 45 mins.

Mackie- Came on for Beatie with 30 mins remaining, and did what he does well, didn't stop running, chasing the ball and harrasing defenders. However he really only had one sniff of a chance in front of goal and i thought (from where i was sitting) if he had hit it first time it might of went in, but he took a touch and lost the goal scoring opportunity, with a bit more confidence i think he would have a had a stab at it. Over all not a bad 30 mins.

Hope this is of some use to my fellow Dandies, it has been a long time since i was at a Scotland game and three Aberdeen players were on the pitch at the same time, it was good to see, hopefully it will be something we will see more often wae Big Eck in charge of the National team.

STAND FREE!!!![/i]

Pretty much fit I said in the other thread mate.... just in mare detail :ThumbsDown:

I too was at the game, and don't agree that it was a poor result. Looking at the teams that started, the Finland team had i believe the best part of 300 odd full caps between, the scotland team had less than 20, with Gallacher having almost half of them I think.

Of the three Dons on display, thought Clark did alright, and although he knocked the ball about a bit in the first half, definitely looked more comfortable on the right in the second half. Langfield, I didn't think had a lot to do, and tend to agree that he wasn't necessarily at fault with their second goal... more a case of poor defending. Mackie, didn't get very long, and didn't contribute too much, although didn't appear afraid to mix it with their defenders.

Had a chance to have a very quick chat with two of our contingent, Langfield & Mackie, and thanks to them for taking the time to come over and sign my boys programme and chat.

Of the Scotland team, though best perfomances came from Hutton, Pearson & Beattie.

Beattie in particular is an aggressive f*ck*r, and doesn't hold back. Reckon givem a run in a team in the SPL [ nae necessarily Celtic ] he'd score a right few goals.

Was sat beside the 20 odd Finnish fans, and banter was superb

Only real downer of the night was the leg break incident in the first half.

Ah BigAl was the Dandy down the front, we were in the tier behind, noising up the Finnish fans who apparently come from a "Small part of Russia"..

We noticed Makie and then Langfield come over and sign the stuff for your wee boy and reckoned it had to be an Aberdeen fan.....

It wasnt half cold though!

My opinion was Clark was better than Thomson and Brown, although Brown struggled in the first half but looked better when he moved more forward in the second..... Clark was the one who released the run forwrd for Maloney's goal and then when he moved to the wing in the second half he linked welll with Hutton on the overlap...

Mackie did Ok, chased everything....think he may have injured himself though as he wasn't running freely towards the end and was spoken to by the bench to check he was OK on at least one occaision...he was also guilty of not jumping for the header for their equaliser although he was the free man and the guy marking the finnish boy was more culpable...

Langfield.....not much to do swept up everything at the back and had no chance with the goal...

In all great to see three aberdeen players on the field at the same time and I think AFC had the most number of players there yesterday!

Ah BigAl was the Dandy down the front, we were in the tier behind, noising up the Finnish fans who apparently come from a "Small part of Russia"..

We noticed Makie and then Langfield come over and sign the stuff for your wee boy and reckoned it had to be an Aberdeen fan.....

It wasnt half cold though!

My opinion was Clark was better than Thomson and Brown, although Brown struggled in the first half but looked better when he moved more forward in the second..... Clark was the one who released the run forwrd for Maloney's goal and then when he moved to the wing in the second half he linked welll with Hutton on the overlap...

Mackie did Ok, chased everything....think he may have injured himself though as he wasn't running freely towards the end and was spoken to by the bench to check he was OK on at least one occaision...he was also guilty of not jumping for the header for their equaliser although he was the free man and the guy marking the finnish boy was more culpable...

Langfield.....not much to do swept up everything at the back and had no chance with the goal...

In all great to see three aberdeen players on the field at the same time and I think AFC had the most number of players there yesterday!

Monkey, you should have come down for a blether mate. My boy did say he saw someone with a blue hat on and AFC across the front... dinnae ken if that was you or not.

And agree it was fecking freezing there on Wed night.

Got the joke about "small part of Russia" btw :dontknow:

Archived