Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 I have been to: - Mull (to climb Ben More)- Gigha (daytrip when we were staying in Tayinloan for the weekend with friends)- Bute (daytrip when we were kids) (Being a weegie, I really should have been to Arran by now, but them's the breaks.) My experiences of these islands has left me largely underwhelmed haha! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 Rothesay and Shetland. Both shite. Couldn't be arsed living on an island Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 The one on the Duthie Park duck pond.That's my only one. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 ShetlandOrkneySkyeButeArranSeilEasdale Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 Mull, Iona & Arran... all on University field trips. I'm not into climbing, or rambling, at all, but I really enjoyed the ascent to Ben More. Would do again. Link to comment
zander Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 Shetland - Scatsta and Sumburgh airports. Link to comment
Dusk( 2 Stars )Don Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 not a one ...... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 2, 2017 Share Posted January 2, 2017 Rothesay and Shetland. Both shite. Couldn't be arsed living on an islandPoor. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Orkney worst place I've ever been. Skye decent would go back. Duthie Park Pond might be banned. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Orkney. Day trip with mates parents. I'd have been about 10 or 11 and recall the place (Kirkwall) looking quite 'old'. Seemed like a long time on the ferry to go and do pretty much fuck-all. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Was in Shetland for 3 month back in 2014. Loved it - Nae rules. Everyone just pleases themselves, especially on the smaller islands. Skye - the Cullins. A poodles wet dream. I would like to see St Kilda one day but I ain't great on a boat Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Shetland - bunch of weird fuckers, liked itGreat CumbraeAustralia Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 St Kilda's a great place! I'll be headed there in a few weeks! Love St. Kilda, but the beach is shocking compared to ours! Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Never been to any of them although I know a lot of Shetlanders. Some tidy birds from up there. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 ShetlandSkyeHarrisBlack IsleGrandas pal had a boat in Greenock and we went for a day trip to the Isle Of Bute, told me it was America, I was 5 and affa unimpressed with America Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Mull - for a weekendColl - for about half an hourGigha - for a dayTiree - for 4 and a half years to work. Link to comment
scoot Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Orkney Shetland Lewis Bute Arran Skye Wish i had been to St. Kildas though........ Link to comment
zoso77 Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 Used to go camping on Kings Cross, Arran for 10 days every summer with Scripture Union. Lamlash, Brodick, the Holy Isle, Brodick castle. Some of the happiest times of my life. I'd like to retire there some day. I live on Arran ,used to go cod fishing down kings x ,till the scallop dredgers finished them off.not a great place for getting to and from football games! Link to comment
zoso77 Posted January 3, 2017 Share Posted January 3, 2017 You,d just be disappointed greys.Overun by weegies in the summer. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 Uists, north , south, and benbecula, the wife is from the god forsaken cunt of a placeSkye, on the way to uig,Black isle, Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 Uists, north , south, and benbecula, the wife is from the god forsaken cunt of a placeSkye, on the way to uig,Black isle, The black isle Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 The black isle Quiz night coming up. Bad move Dynamo. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 I did a week cycle touring of the Outer Hebrides and Skye visiting: BarraVatersayEriksayUistsBenbeculaSkyeMull It was a fantastic week mainly due to the weather being amazing. The blue skies, white sand beaches and crystal clear water made me feel like I was in the Bahamas. I can't imagine living on one of these wee islands though, it'd be horrendous as it is generally a very barren and isolated place. Also been to Arran and Tiree on separate occasions. Both lovely. I now want to visit Harris but maybe not on the bike as it looks too hilly for my liking. 1 Link to comment
BWG Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 None. The islands are for inbred folk. Link to comment
pwtredz Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 shetland...boring for young eensarite for oldiestake a windcheater Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 I did a week cycle touring of the Outer Hebrides and Skye visiting: BarraVatersayEriksayUistsBenbeculaSkyeMull It was a fantastic week mainly due to the weather being amazing. The blue skies, white sand beaches and crystal clear water made me feel like I was in the Bahamas. I can't imagine living on one of these wee islands though, it'd be horrendous as it is generally a very barren and isolated place. Also been to Arran and Tiree on separate occasions. Both lovely. I now want to visit Harris but maybe not on the bike as it looks too hilly for my liking.Did you write about this trip/ share more photos? Interesting route Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 Oh aye and regularly passed through the "woody isles" when I lived at premnay, Just waiting for one of you boys smart arsed comments, probably from one of you that doesnt even know where they are! Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 4, 2017 Share Posted January 4, 2017 I did a week cycle touring of the Outer Hebrides and Skye visiting: BarraVatersayEriksayUistsBenbeculaSkyeMull It was a fantastic week mainly due to the weather being amazing. The blue skies, white sand beaches and crystal clear water made me feel like I was in the Bahamas. I can't imagine living on one of these wee islands though, it'd be horrendous as it is generally a very barren and isolated place. Also been to Arran and Tiree on separate occasions. Both lovely. I now want to visit Harris but maybe not on the bike as it looks too hilly for my liking.You are quite right about not wanting to live there, full of Hun's and Tims, and the only place I've know where the rain is sore when it hits you Link to comment