Chewie37 Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Former Wales and Aberdeen goalkeeper Jason Brown has spoken of his battle with depression and admits that he thought of suicide. Brown is helping the PFA raise awareness of mental health issues in football. https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/546205/former-aberdeen-keeper-jason-brown-reveals-he-wanted-to-kill-himself-as-he-opens-up-about-battle-with-depression/ Link to comment
360 Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Shay in the background, must have been one of his first games? 3 Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Poor Fatty...I hope the GWT is aware and regrets the damage he's caused the poor lad... Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted February 7, 2017 Author Share Posted February 7, 2017 He's not that old for a keeper either, which maybe added to his depression. It's pretty hard for folk to admit to depression, but I'd imagine in football it's one of those professions where it's almost impossible to admit to your colleagues? Link to comment
Red Ram Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Good on him in being open about his illness - hopefully he's getting right type of help Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 He's depressed me by bringing this up. 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Shay in the background, must have been one of his first games? You sure ? 4 Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 He's not that old for a keeper either, which maybe added to his depression. It's pretty hard for folk to admit to depression, but I'd imagine in football it's one of those professions where it's almost impossible to admit to your colleagues?Depends on the dressing room I suppose. Then again, it's nae something you really need to come out as. I've always just felt if it comes up in conversation then so be it. A bit like being gay. Save the announcement and just let people figure it out. If it doesn't come up then it's clearly nae an issue that anyone needs to know about. One of my pals phoned and told me he was seeing a shrink. We knew to lay off some of the friendly abuse and checked up a bit more often to see athing was arite. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 You sure ? Dearie me. 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Old 360 with a classic. Well in loon. Fatty Broon always seems to be in the headlines for some reason or another. Nae driving insurance, racism and now this. I think if it's for the right right reason then fair play to him but I can't help but think he's abit of an attention seeker. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 Ok, i'm wrong, numbers is right. 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 7, 2017 Share Posted February 7, 2017 http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=6583&season=2011-12&squad=Senior 1 Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 Stick to Spurs and the U20s. You're depressing me! Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted February 8, 2017 Author Share Posted February 8, 2017 Depends on the dressing room I suppose. Then again, it's nae something you really need to come out as. I've always just felt if it comes up in conversation then so be it. A bit like being gay. Save the announcement and just let people figure it out. If it doesn't come up then it's clearly nae an issue that anyone needs to know about. One of my pals phoned and told me he was seeing a shrink. We knew to lay off some of the friendly abuse and checked up a bit more often to see athing was arite. In the States it's much more acceptable for folk to say they're seeing a counsellor, a psychiatrist or getting other similar help, we generally laugh at that in the UK, while here it's easier for people to say they have issues. It takes a little bit of getting used to, but being a fairly understanding Wookie, I think we could learn a thing or two about that. The gay comparison is understandable, but do you think there's a bigger stigma attached to homosexuality or mental illness these days? Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 In the States it's much more acceptable for folk to say they're seeing a counsellor, a psychiatrist or getting other similar help, we generally laugh at that in the UK, while here it's easier for people to say they have issues. It takes a little bit of getting used to, but being a fairly understanding Wookie, I think we could learn a thing or two about that. The gay comparison is understandable, but do you think there's a bigger stigma attached to homosexuality or mental illness these days?I think the Yanks have it good with shrinks. They get a lot of exposure through celebrities using them that it's not seen as minky as comparing it to say, Cornhill over here. The stigma question is a doozie! I suppose I would have to say homosexuality. There seems to be more potential for anger in declaring yourself a poof. Depression usually leads to more uncomfortableness rather than anger. There are some older gadgies that squirm like fuck when mental issues are brought up. It's born out of ignorance, not through their own failings, but by there being too many advancements for them to keep up I suppose. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted February 8, 2017 Author Share Posted February 8, 2017 I think the Yanks have it good with shrinks. They get a lot of exposure through celebrities using them that it's not seen as minky as comparing it to say, Cornhill over here. The stigma question is a doozie! I suppose I would have to say homosexuality. There seems to be more potential for anger in declaring yourself a poof. Depression usually leads to more uncomfortableness rather than anger. There are some older gadgies that squirm like fuck when mental issues are brought up. It's born out of ignorance, not through their own failings, but by there being too many advancements for them to keep up I suppose.I'd say it's probably the other way round, it's much more acceptable to come out nowadays and mental illness is still fairly misunderstood. But I suppose it just depends on how accepting you or your social group are. Definitely all down to education, and your cultural background, and I don't just mean if you went to university or did well in school. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 Stick to Spurs and the U20s. You're depressing me!Sorry if i upset you me old china, you seem a decent young chap from when i met you at the morton semi(good bounce). Hope i can carry on posting about the dons and attend matches(i've booked up travel for hamilton away). Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 . A bit like being gay. Save the announcement and just let people figure it out. If it doesn't come up then it's clearly nae an issue that anyone needs to know about.We figured it out bud, nae worries. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 Sorry if i upset you me old china, you seem a decent young chap from when i met you at the morton semi(good bounce). Hope i can carry on posting about the dons and attend matches(i've booked up travel for hamilton away).As long as there's no more reference to games like a fucking freezing cold 2-0 loss to Killie we'll be smashing! Can't see me making Hamilton or I'd have suggested a wee Bovril at the pie stand! I'd say it's probably the other way round, it's much more acceptable to come out nowadays and mental illness is still fairly misunderstood. But I suppose it just depends on how accepting you or your social group are. Definitely all down to education, and your cultural background, and I don't just mean if you went to university or did well in school.Aye. I suppose it all comes down to personal opinion. I suppose if you had to wear a little badge that said if you were gay or depressed then it could very well be that the latter would be avoided more than the former. Definitely an interesting question though! Wonder if there's been any research into it? If not, some cunt go do a theses on it please. Link to comment
Henry Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 In the States it's much more acceptable for folk to say they're seeing a counsellor, a psychiatrist or getting other similar help, we generally laugh at that in the UK, while here it's easier for people to say they have issues. It takes a little bit of getting used to, but being a fairly understanding Wookie, I think we could learn a thing or two about that.The gay comparison is understandable, but do you think there's a bigger stigma attached to homosexuality or mental illness these days? You're in the States? Wish you'd mentioned it. Link to comment
tup Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 Depression . Man up Jason Brown. 1 Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 Depression . Man up Jason Brown.This doesn't fit the new mantra of love, acceptance and good feeling of the Hat. Get with the times! You're forgiven due to your recent successful campaign but please don't let this happen again. Link to comment
tup Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 He caused his own shit, driving without a licence and all that, clearly a clown of a man, he's depressed because he made a cunt of things through his own lack of basic honesty. I have zero sympathy for folk who think the rules dinna apply to them. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 He caused his own shit, driving without a licence and all that, clearly a clown of a man, he's depressed because he made a cunt of things through his own lack of basic honesty. I have zero sympathy for folk who think the rules dinna apply to them.Or was he depressed which led to him being a bit of a twat? I'll agree he was a pap, but approach it from the opposite angle and you may come to a different conclusion. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 You're in the States?Wish you'd mentioned it. I missed you Henry. Welcome back loon. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 We figured it out bud, nae worries.The bird attached to him fooled nobody. I don't hold it against him and will gladly let him buy me a pint. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 If he's depressed he did the right thing signing for Arsenal ladies. Just you watch , next he'll be wanting a sex change. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 He caused his own shit, driving without a licence and all that, clearly a clown of a man, he's depressed because he made a cunt of things through his own lack of basic honesty.I have zero sympathy for folk who think the rules dinna apply to them.He was let down by the GWT...when Langfield had his eppy and was sidelined Fatty stepped up to the plate and played a stormer...the GWT instantly dropped him as soon as the Paisley Spastic was compos mentis and back on his feet...this was probably what triggered the madness... Link to comment
tup Posted February 8, 2017 Share Posted February 8, 2017 Agreed. Between Brooner & Clangers they sent this man doo lally. Where's there's blame there's a claim Jason. Link to comment