LukeGarr Posted June 6, 2017 Share Posted June 6, 2017 How did everyone fall in love with the Dons? It would be interesting to see if anyone was 3rd, 4th or even 5th generation fans. Link to comment
WA_Don Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I was born in Aberdeen. Therefore there can be no other option.This except I was born in the Shire 1 Link to comment
Hewitt a the pies Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 My 1st game was around 1970 and it was my gran who took me there strangely! I remember seeing the inside of Pittodrie stadium for the first time and being amazed at how huge it looked and how green the grass was. The only player I remember that day was a lad everyone was calling "Bumper"! Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Clyde, in the main stand 1971, 4-1 victory. I was 9 years old, relatively old I suppose but that was me hooked right there Link to comment
Boras83 Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Family moved down to Dundee (from Aberdeen) when I was four. Dad took me to Pittodrie for the Drybrough Cup final three years later. And that was it for me. His early influence and my loyalty and belief that where you're from is who you should support, there's no way I'm getting off this rollercoaster ride. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I remember going to a game in the early 80s with my brother, my dad and his mate and two sons. Chuffed that I win the argument with the other boys about what the dons support were singing, they said "come on you rays" the buffoons Link to comment
rumpus Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Aberdeen 1 - Livingston 6; circa 2003. That was me hooked there and then. Link to comment
KentishDon Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 The old man was born just outside Aberdeen - Maryculter ? Left when he was 15 to join the RAF and then settled in Kent. Asked him when I was about 5 what team we support and the only team he knew (not a football fan) was Aberdeen so here we are many many years later. Now with a son of my own, there was no question of what team he was to support !! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Aberdeen 1 - Livingston 6; circa 2003. That was me hooked there and then.2001 mate Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I was born in Aberdeen. Therefore there can be no other option.The Cheeseman nails it. Link to comment
Mr John Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I was born in Aberdeen. Therefore there can be no other option. Same here. Home town, support your local team and all that. Link to comment
Zeus Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 First went in 1990, can't remember but my old man says it was a 2-0 win vs the papes. Started regularly going in 1992/93. Was at both cup final defeats that season. Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 The old man was born just outside Aberdeen - Maryculter ? Left when he was 15 to join the RAF and then settled in Kent. Asked him when I was about 5 what team we support and the only team he knew (not a football fan) was Aberdeen so here we are many many years later. Now with a son of my own, there was no question of what team he was to support !!Similar to this minus the RAF, Dad is a Dandy and I don't have a child. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I was born in Aberdeen. Therefore there can be no other option.Is'naw Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 My old man had it drummed into me from a very early age that I was to be a dandy. And I'm glad he did. First game I went to was about 88/89 according to my dad but I can't remember it. The first games I have a vivid memory of was a 1-0 defeat to Dundee united - a very late Duncan Ferguson winner if I remember rightly (probably about 1991) and the Aberdeen Man U cutty sark friendly about the same time. Had a season ticket with my old man from 92 onwards. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 My parents are teuchters really but my grandparents (and about 5 generations before them) are all from Fraserburgh or the Shire. My dad would take me and my brother to Dons games since I was about 7 or 8, mostly away games as we always lived away from Aberdeen. Quite a few of our first games were Scottish Cup semis and finals against Hearts, Dundee Utd and Aberdeen - would all have been around 84/85. Never crossed my mind to support anyone else despite always living in places infested with OF fans. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Cause of the Alex Ferguson factor Link to comment
BWG Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I started with hating huns and worked backwards from there. 1 Link to comment
boboisared Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 I'm Aberdonian min. First game was Stewart McKimmie's testimonial. Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Fathers side of the family were all from North East (Fraserburgh and Peterhead), though he himself was from the Weeg and was told that if he was going to have any interest in football he had to support the Dons. Sound rule that I can't complain about. He went to games with his dad and grandad, so I guess that makes me 4th generation Link to comment
North East Loon Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 My next door neighbour took me to this one, my first ever game, hooked http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=2949&season=1970-71&squad=Senior Link to comment
Red Ram Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Born in Aberdeen - Dad was a fan, Granda was a fan so never had any thought of supporting anyone else and can't fathom why anyone ever could. Remember them heading to games and couldn't wait till they took me - first game was Bobby Clark testimonial - sat in what's now South Stand but then was uncovered and wooden benches. Both my kids are now also Season Ticket Holders and basically history repeated itself in that I took them along with my Dad when they were old enough (about 4 I think) and they were hooked even though they witnessed some real shite and remember I felt obliged to explain how we'd always had much better players than Kerr, Foster etc. in the 70's onwards and some day we would hopefully have again and told them all about Gothenberg, what it was like beating the then Old Firm in a Hampden Cup Final etc etc Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Born, bred Aberdeen. Da' started takin me as a toddler, but was nae really interested until I was 7. Something just clicked towards end of 75/76.Went from flipping seats up and down and throwing pies aff the wing stand onto auld mannies heeds doon below to being hooked and completely into the actual game. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Born in Elgin though fathers side hail from the Shire (Rothienorman) - brought up in the weeg and father had no interest in football so started off supporting Celtic until I was old enough to know what that meant (primary school epiphany) - supported Aberdeen ever since - am pleased to say that I properly educated my kids and despite still living in Lanarkshire they support the Dons. First game I can recall was the Scottish Cup Final in 1970 we won 3-1. Link to comment
ShinnieFGS Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Born in Aberdeen. One of my earliest memories as a youngster was being sat in the Merkland and asking my dad why an Aberdeen player had the number '0' on his back. 1 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted June 7, 2017 Share Posted June 7, 2017 Taken to see bus home after LC76-77. First match shortly thereafter. DUtd at home in the snow in the Merkland. Orange ball and LOTS of facial hair (I assume Scanlon, Miller, Kennedy) plus one memorable comb-over. Roll on the eighties. Add to the obvious stuff gypo Hibs support with mohicans outlined against the daylight of the open doors at the back of the Beach end (we got the bulk of the stand) and Hun (who else) coins coming hoying over the corrugated iron walls at the foot of the south where the tele cabin now is. Happy days. Link to comment