ShinnieFGS Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Inspiration for this topic taken from another thread so forgive me. I thought it could be a laugh to see who everyone has in their worst Dons XI. One rule for this is that they must have made at least three first team appearances. For me, it's this: GK 1. Jamie Langfield - This was the toughest position to fill in this XI. Never agreed with the personal abuse he got on social media, but some of his blunders were horrific.RB 2. Jackie McNamara - Terrible.LB 3. Jamie McQuilken - Did he even have a stronger foot?CM 4. Nigel Pepper - Absolute shambles of a footballer. Still saddens me to this day that we actually wasted money on him.CB 5. Jerel Ifil - A completely inept footballer, let alone a professional one in a top league.CB 6. Dave Bus - Say no more.RM 7. Nicolas Fabiano - Came with much promise but done fuck allCM 8. Gary McDonald - Ghost. He's got to be up there with the biggest wage thieves this club has ever had.ST. 9. Tommy Wright - The hard man exterior is only good if they've also got ability, which Wright certainly didn't.ST. 10. Darren Mackie - Scored some important goals in his time, but how he had such a lengthy football career is beyond me.LM 11. Laurent D'Jaffo - His Dons career summed up by scoring a volley at the Merkland end and pulling his hamstring in the process. Manager: Steve Paterson - For as much as I disliked McGhee as a manager, Paterson wins this one hands down. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 This team... http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=6217&season=2010-11&squad=Senior And I'd forgotten McGinn played against us for a half that day too... Link to comment
Parklife Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 This team... http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=6217&season=2010-11&squad=Senior And I'd forgotten McGinn played against us for a half that day too...We actually played well for the first 1/4 of that match. Link to comment
Donnet Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Sad to say but Langfield and Mackie should be nowhere near a worst all time XI for us. 1 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Our worst 11 would be unlikely to have relatively big names/high appearance of the likes of Mackie and Clangers in it. The really shite guys lasted 3 or 4 games tops before being sent back/loaned out/ free'd. The injured boy from the huns that Mcghee took in in the swop deal for instance. Langfield worse than Walker for instance? Fuck off. Mackie versus some of the Porterfield dross or the wee jay zee lookalike that looked great in shades in the main stand but was never ever a footballer on the pitch (Don't think he even got to 3 appearances). Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Unfair on Mackie Leon Mike was worse Link to comment
Donnet Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Scott Muirhead must be in with a shout. Lubo Blaha? Did the Paatelainen brothers play 3 games? Scott Michie? Michael Bird? Thoranian Krisjanson or whoever the fuck that guys was? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Unfair on Mackie Leon Mike was worse Yep. And probably Leigh Hinds and a bunch of others. Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Aye no way was Langfield worse than Bossu, Soutar etc. Same with Mackie. Aye he wasn't great, but the worst striker we've ever had? Settle down Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Adam Collin takes over from Bossu as worst keeper imo. Uttery shambolic for his spell. Brown was also worse than Langfield fwiw. Link to comment
BWG Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 GK 1. Bossu - Leighton should've been sacked as goalkeeping coach after this cunt was ever given the nod to pull on a Dons shirt.RB 2. Jackie McNamara - Useless cunt. Used us as a means to top up his pension.LB 3. Jamie McQuilken - Kind of a tough one to choose considering a lot of our absolutely shite left backs have been centre-backs shunted out wide.CM 4. Nigel Pepper - £400,000 down the shitter. A useless thug.CB 5. Jerel Ifil - Somehow got signed off the back of one OK performance in a friendly. Probably the worst player I've ever seen.CB 6. Alan Tate - Loaned in to replace the excellent Michael Hector, from the Premier League no less, and was utterly hopeless. No pace, not strength and no positional sense at all. Thank fuck we didn't have to put him with him for long.CM 7. Grassi - Still can't believe this guy has had a career as a professional footballer.CM 8. Brian O'Neill - £850,000. Fuck you Aitken.ST. 9. Tommy Wright - A cheaper Nigel Pepper.ST. 10. Darren Mackie - Technically we've had worse, but his name has become synonymous with the pish sides of Aberdeen over the past two decades. Amazingly it took the GWT to finally sack the cunt.ST 11. Rory Fallon - A total fraud, much like his wife. Manager: Miller - Made the worst transfer in the history of Scottish football, played the most horrendous football ever seen, spunked more money than we'll ever see spent again and treated the fans with utter contempt. Link to comment
The_Next_Legend Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Bertrand Bossu Chris Clark......Jerel Ifil......Davide Grassi......Scott Muirhead Jeffrey De Vischer......Gary McDonald.....Stephen Hughes......Danny Uchechi Andreas Velicka......Tommy Wright That would be my team, can only really remember from around Steve Paterson era.. we've had some other stinkers i've missed out, Nick Blackman, Mo Chalali etc. Edit: My reason for Clark was i just really hated watching him play, so slow and especially when he came back for a 2nd spell he was mince. Link to comment
Tzvetanovs hair Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Inspiration for this topic taken from another thread so forgive me. I thought it could be a laugh to see who everyone has in their worst Dons XI. One rule for this is that they must have made at least three first team appearances. For me, it's this: GK 1. Jamie Langfield - This was the toughest position to fill in this XI. Never agreed with the personal abuse he got on social media, but some of his blunders were horrific.RB 2. Jackie McNamara - Terrible.LB 3. Jamie McQuilken - Did he even have a stronger foot?CM 4. Nigel Pepper - Absolute shambles of a footballer. Still saddens me to this day that we actually wasted money on him.CB 5. Jerel Ifil - A completely inept footballer, let alone a professional one in a top league.CB 6. Dave Bus - Say no more.RM 7. Nicolas Fabiano - Came with much promise but done fuck allCM 8. Gary McDonald - Ghost. He's got to be up there with the biggest wage thieves this club has ever had.ST. 9. Tommy Wright - The hard man exterior is only good if they've also got ability, which Wright certainly didn't.ST. 10. Darren Mackie - Scored some important goals in his time, but how he had such a lengthy football career is beyond me.LM 11. Laurent D'Jaffo - His Dons career summed up by scoring a volley at the Merkland end and pulling his hamstring in the process. Manager: Steve Paterson - For as much as I disliked McGhee as a manager, Paterson wins this one hands down. Surely Bertrand Bossu in goals. I am still not convinced he could catch a ball bouncing in front of him. 1 Link to comment
ShinnieFGS Posted June 29, 2017 Author Share Posted June 29, 2017 Unfair on Mackie Leon Mike was worse Yep. And probably Leigh Hinds and a bunch of others. I should have had a gander on AFC Heritage at some of the older teams as I completely forgot about those two. I'll retract my Darren Mackie shout as Leon Mike was a shocking excuse of a striker Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Richie Bryne, how could I forget that waste of perfectly good oxygen Link to comment
BWG Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Paul Marshall could be another contender. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Inspiration for this topic taken from another thread so forgive me. I thought it could be a laugh to see who everyone has in their worst Dons XI. One rule for this is that they must have made at least three first team appearances. For me, it's this: GK 1. Jamie Langfield - This was the toughest position to fill in this XI. Never agreed with the personal abuse he got on social media, but some of his blunders were horrific.RB 2. Jackie McNamara - Terrible.LB 3. Jamie McQuilken - Did he even have a stronger foot?CM 4. Nigel Pepper - Absolute shambles of a footballer. Still saddens me to this day that we actually wasted money on him.CB 5. Jerel Ifil - A completely inept footballer, let alone a professional one in a top league.CB 6. Dave Bus - Say no more.RM 7. Nicolas Fabiano - Came with much promise but done fuck allCM 8. Gary McDonald - Ghost. He's got to be up there with the biggest wage thieves this club has ever had.ST. 9. Tommy Wright - The hard man exterior is only good if they've also got ability, which Wright certainly didn't.ST. 10. Darren Mackie - Scored some important goals in his time, but how he had such a lengthy football career is beyond me.LM 11. Laurent D'Jaffo - His Dons career summed up by scoring a volley at the Merkland end and pulling his hamstring in the process. Manager: Steve Paterson - For as much as I disliked McGhee as a manager, Paterson wins this one hands down. I'd still say McGhee. At least Paterson had some underlying reasons including drastic cost cutting and gambling/alcohol issues. McGhee arrived unprepared as he was holding out for another job which he admitted at his press conference. His signings were dreadful, he presided over the 9-0 defeat and he treated the club and the fans with contempt from his first day to his last. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Theo Snelders Ricky FosterNeale Cooper Stevie Smith Gavin Rae Stephen HughesSone AlukoRyan Jack Gregg Wylde A VelickaBilly Dodds 8 Link to comment
Tyzo_1903 Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 I'd still say McGhee. At least Paterson had some underlying reasons including drastic cost cutting and gambling/alcohol issues. McGhee arrived unprepared as he was holding out for another job which he admitted at his press conference. His signings were dreadful, he presided over the 9-0 defeat and he treated the club and the fans with contempt from his first day to his last. Surely Alex Miller has to be our worst. Nearly two decades on and I'm still trying to figure out that Dodds/Winters deal. If we kept him we would have went down in 98/99, we were negative, spunked a load of money too. Link to comment
RUL Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Something very Aberdeen esque about having a xi of being useless. I don't have to much to add other than mark kerr should be captain. Without question the worst captain we've ever had. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 We could probably have 4 XI's. Link to comment
ShinnieFGS Posted June 29, 2017 Author Share Posted June 29, 2017 Theo Snelders Ricky FosterNeale CooperStevie Smith Gavin RaeStephen HughesSone AlukoRyan JackGregg Wylde A VelickaBilly Dodds I see what you done there!! Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Theo Snelders Ricky FosterNeale CooperStevie Smith Gavin RaeStephen HughesSone AlukoRyan JackGregg Wylde A VelickaBilly Dodds +1 Link to comment
RUL Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 GK 1. Bossu - Leighton should've been sacked as goalkeeping coach after this cunt was ever given the nod to pull on a Dons shirt.RB 2. Jackie McNamara - Useless cunt. Used us as a means to top up his pension.LB 3. Jamie McQuilken - Kind of a tough one to choose considering a lot of our absolutely shite left backs have been centre-backs shunted out wide.CM 4. Nigel Pepper - £400,000 down the shitter. A useless thug.CB 5. Jerel Ifil - Somehow got signed off the back of one OK performance in a friendly. Probably the worst player I've ever seen.CB 6. Alan Tate - Loaned in to replace the excellent Michael Hector, from the Premier League no less, and was utterly hopeless. No pace, not strength and no positional sense at all. Thank fuck we didn't have to put him with him for long.CM 7. Grassi - Still can't believe this guy has had a career as a professional footballer.CM 8. Brian O'Neill - £850,000. Fuck you Miller.ST. 9. Tommy Wright - A cheaper Nigel Pepper.ST. 10. Darren Mackie - Technically we've had worse, but his name has become synonymous with the pish sides of Aberdeen over the past two decades. Amazingly it took the GWT to finally sack the cunt.ST 11. Rory Fallon - A total fraud, much like his wife. Manager: Miller - Made the worst transfer in the history of Scottish football, played the most horrendous football ever seen, spunked more money than we'll ever see spent again and treated the fans with utter contempt.Roy Aitken signed Brian o Neill Link to comment
BWG Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Roy Aitken signed Brian o NeillDid he? Fuck. My bad. Link to comment
RUL Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Did he? Fuck. My bad.Yeah I remember Aitken spent over £2m on a new look team that opened the season with a boring 0-0 v killie. Link to comment
BWG Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Yeah I remember Aitken spent over £2m on a new look team that opened the season with a boring 0-0 v killie.I remembered it was Miller that signed O'Neill but you're right enough. I'm still giving the honor to miller though. That Dodds/Winters deal is still more expensive than anything we're likely to see over the next decade. Link to comment
RUL Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 I remembered it was Miller that signed O'Neill but you're right enough. I'm still giving the honor to miller though. That Dodds/Winters deal is still more expensive than anything we're likely to see over the next decade.Was a very strange transfer..inexplicable judgement. Link to comment
BWG Posted June 29, 2017 Share Posted June 29, 2017 Was a very strange transfer..inexplicable judgement. Appointing Miller in the first place was inexplicable judgement. Link to comment