Apathy

Sorry to bring everyone down. After the Euro result I saw a lot of people asking what the point of this season was? A fair point. If Celtic continue to spend enough to make the CL groups even every third year then we're fucked. I really can't see me bothering my arse if that happens. It was shite enough following Scottish football with the huns and tims being the top 2 and there was a wee glimmer of hope when one went bust, now though, it's just back to the status quo but now it's just Celtic winning it all.

It's fucking pish.

Sorry to bring everyone down. After the Euro result I saw a lot of people asking what the point of this season was? A fair point. If Celtic continue to spend enough to make the CL groups even every third year then we're fucked. I really can't see me bothering my arse if that happens. It was shite enough following Scottish football with the huns and tims being the top 2 and there was a wee glimmer of hope when one went bust, now though, it's just back to the status quo but now it's just Celtic winning it all.

It's fucking pish.

Can't understand you adopting that attitude now min, Scottish football's been fucked for ages. Hopefully more pain on the horizon for the zombies will get your juices flowing again.

Suppose it's a bit like saying; 'Well, I'll ne'er be a millionaire nor have a supermodel/porn star as my bird so I may as weil just top ma sel'.

Though these things are unfortunate there's still a lot to live for and enjoy aside from the glamorous stuff that tv and the Internet puts forwards as being 'normal' these days.

I totally agree. Last season is really making me think what are we turning up for now.

We already know Celtic will win all 3 competitions, we'll qualify for Europe and can't reach the groups.

When we were shite there were dreams of unreached buzzes such as qualifying for Europe, reaching finals and winning something, or even just a win.

• Downvote 3

Last season was one of the most enjoyable I had supporting Aberdeen, and I knew very early on we wouldn't win the league.

Two wins at Hampden, win at Ibrox, win at Tynecastle, last minute winner at home to Rangers, a 7-0 win and a 7-2 win, McGhee's meltdown, and watching us give an almighty fucking effort in the cup final and being just a lick of McLean's boot away from winning it.

Think how much more enjoyable it'll be when we play in a class stadium at Blackburn, with all the talent we'll be churning out from our world class training facilities, with the Atlantic League providing is with regular European football.

Scottish football fucked? Mate, football is fucked full stop. But I still like it.

It's fucking pish.

Nurse!

Scottish football is fucked.

The European football problem is a real issue there are more eufa members now than there was in the 80s and 90s yet one fewer European competition so all these clubs have to be squeezed into just two competitions. Of them one is now loaded to favour 4 nations.

We need another one or two European competition. But that wont happen.

We need to move the season or we will go on whimpering out

Apathy and supporting the famous go hand in hand.

If you want an easy life as a supporter go support Celtic or some shite and pretend that them winning the league gives you value as a human being, when in reality you're just a thick cunt with an identity crisis.

Bedwetter alert.

Look at it a different way. Why do you go to football? To watch Aberdeen? Or to watch a team that wins all the time?

Last season was brilliant. Didn't think of the Tims romping the league at all when watching us stick 7 past Dundee and Motherwell, 6 past Partick and 4 against whoever else. We didn't win anything, ultimately it's the aim to, but we gave it a go....a much better go than everyone else in the country.

The club with the biggest problem with Celtics dominance (outwith the Huns and they don't count) is Celtic itself. I've said before the 10 in a row thing is an absolute godsend to them because it retains their focus. Are they going to sell out 5-0s against Kilmarnock all season? Are they fuck. The CL thing will remain a boom and bust affair. Hopefully it will bust (or provoke an Atlantic reaction) sooner rather than later. My biggest bugbear with the CL personally is the UEFA safety net now in play. That really rips my knitting.

To a lesser extent, our potent rivalry with the Hun is our mini championship. (I'm assuming Hibs, most likely, won't be able to maintain a challenge but that's possibly unfair). 2nd really becomes our league as it does the Huns. Fail to make second this year and they will be raging. If they step back and look at it rationally (which they never do) they've just spunked another 10m which they don't have on some Mexican shite that look nothing special. Realistically for what? Exactly, 2nd.

2nd is a massive achievement for us given where we are and that will only get worse when we start building a stadium. Get to the cup finals and take it from there. Perhaps Wright will find Maclean where Jonny failed to.

But I'll add caution and repeat what I've said before. All of that is fine if you are confident our already naturally Glasgow-centric game is being run fairly. It's now fairly obvious to anyone who bothers to look that it clearly isn't. I understand your thoughts Pudgie and I'd love it to be different. I'm lucky enough to have experienced the 80s and it's another level for sure. But I have zero sympathy for Milne to talk about apathy whilst pandering to and being scared of upsetting blatant cheats for no justifiable purpose.

Defeatist talk!

I am glad we are aberdeen fans as opposed to whichever of the 2 cheeks is currently on top. Theirs is the truly boring and fraught existence. Either they win everything at a canter (boring) or are completely tortured at the thought of the other cheek winning everything at a canter (fraught).

We, on the other hand, have hope and excitement because we know that, while its tough, we are capable of winning one of the cups at least. (or having a decent run in europe, although we have made a balls of it again this year).

Its far more satisfying for us to win something than for them, because our success represents the reward of effort and the triumph of endeavour. But their success is the comparatively sterile success which is bought and paid for, simply by outspending everyone else.

Even though we are doing well consistently under McInnes, anything could still happen at one of our games. That is real football, the unpredictable, not just turning up and watching what is little more than a scripted performance.

Pathetic. Why do any fans of any team outwith the Old Firm bother if that's the attitude.

I'd rather support a team that might win something on the odd occasion than one like Celtic that just expects to win silverware every season. Every league and cup win just seems so hollow for their fans.

^^^^ this

I drove through the celtic fans on my way home from the SC final and not one of them looked happy. Not a single song being sung not a single flag or scarf being waved. They had just watched their team win the Scottish Cup in the last minute and they were just walking home like they'd been to the shop.

Fuck that.

Can't understand you adopting that attitude now min, Scottish football's been fucked for ages. Hopefully more pain on the horizon for the zombies will get your juices flowing again.

^^This, "Hatred for the Hun can sustain a chap when the love for ones own club is sometimes not enough" (Anders Behring Breivik)

I drove through the celtic fans on my way home from the SC final and not one of them looked happy. Not a single song being sung not a single flag or scarf being waved. They had just watched their team win the Scottish Cup in the last minute and they were just walking home like they'd been to the shop.

Fuck that.

It's brutal. Theyll never understand how it feels when the likes of ourselves win something. It's just a constant competition between them and rangers where nobody really wins.

Look at the hibs fans who were on the pitch at hampden in the Scottish cup final, try telling them its all pointless. It's those kind of experiences that make it all worthwhile.

It was fine before. We had no chance of winning anything. We were pish and that was that. You knew what to expect and that was "just don't get relegated ffs". Now that we're good, probably the best since the very early nineties, we've got nae fucking chance at all. I just don't see how it gets better.

@@craegDAMH makes a great point. They're numb to success. I did the same and after securing an unbeaten domestic season and winning the countries biggest trophy they looked like they'd trotted out a routine win and their minds were elsewhere. Depressing.

If your apathy is that bad then at least you can draw some comfort from the massive expansion of North Korea's long-range ICBM capabilities, and the imminent threat of some sort of hideous nuclear armageddon engulfing the entire planet.

If shit gets properly real on the Korean peninsula then no-one is likely to be giving too much of a fuck as to where Kenny McLean is best utilised, or how yawnsome it is that Celtic have just stuck four past Ross County.

If your apathy is that bad then at least you can draw some comfort from the massive expansion of North Korea's long-range ICBM capabilities, and the imminent threat of some sort of hideous nuclear armageddon engulfing the entire planet.

If shit gets properly real on the Korean peninsula then no-one is likely to be giving too much of a fuck as to where Kenny McLean is best utilised, or how yawnsome it is that Celtic have just stuck four past Ross County.

Source?