Panda Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Since we've a stadium sub-forum, may as well have a separate thread for the Dundee one, since it'll be interesting to see the similarities, How they handle the transport, the Dundee nimbys, Dundee council etc. Anyway, surprisingly I thought, capacity is to be 15,000. People say Kingsford will be soulless but 13,000-14,000 in a 20,000 stadium is fine. But Dundee get about 5,000. They were outnumbered by us in a Scottish Cup game. I can see it being another Rugby Park - nice stadium far too big for the home team, and them relying on big away supports. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Have you any links to this issue? I'd be surprised if the didn't knock down both stadiums and build one new one in their place. Link to comment
Donnet Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Have you any links to this issue? I'd be surprised if the didn't knock down both stadiums and build one new one in their place. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-40977364 In the image of the plans the buildings to the right of the stadium are the Ice Rink, Cinema, McD;s & KFC just off the Kingsway. The distance they are moving is the equivalent of Aberdeen moving from Pittodrie to Duthie Park or Balgownie. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 why move when you have the footprint of two clubs? Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-40977364 In the image of the plans the buildings to the right of the stadium are the Ice Rink, Cinema, McD;s & KFC just off the Kingsway. The distance they are moving is the equivalent of Aberdeen moving from Pittodrie to Duthie Park or Balgownie. Thank you for the link. It's madness if they don't go there together. Trying to think what they'll do with the old land - not the most desirable area just off the Hilltoon for luxury flats - new homes etc. Don't even mind there being a decent supermarket up there either - just shuttered up boozers mind you that was about 15 years ago so things might have changed since then. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 It would make financial sense for both minker teams to ground share like Milan, but it's Scotland and Dundee, so they're stupid cunts and won't do it 1 Link to comment
BWG Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 How will it impact on price houses on Westhill? Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 This won't go ahead. Residents in Stonehaven complaining cause they'll have balls landing in their back gardens cause their strikers are so shite Link to comment
fifered Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Insanity for them not to get together and build one complex for both clubs. Link to comment
Panda Posted August 21, 2017 Author Share Posted August 21, 2017 Everyone saying they should groundshare, but there's very few teams who groundshare and of those that do they're not particularly happy with the arrangement. Clubs in Italy are a poor example as most stadiums are council owned - Inter and Roma actually both want their own stadiums and Juventus and Torino both now play in separate stadiums. I wouldn't want Aberdeen groundsharing with anyone - I remember our pitch being a mess by Christmas whem we shared for half a season with Inverness. 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Would there be much resistance to ground sharing? I think it makes sense, 15,000 will be more than big enough for both, get the two grounds they hold sold and go halfers. Doesn't matter what colour the seats etc are, just go for an inbetween colour and get it done. Link to comment
super_al Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 One of the articles I have read stated that the capacity could be up to 17k. That's crazy!!! 1 2 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Everyone saying they should groundshare, but there's very few teams who groundshare and of those that do they're not particularly happy with the arrangement. Clubs in Italy are a poor example as most stadiums are council owned - Inter and Roma actually both want their own stadiums and Juventus and Torino both now play in separate stadiums.I wouldn't want Aberdeen groundsharing with anyone - I remember our pitch being a mess by Christmas whem we shared for half a season with Inverness.That's 20th century thinking, on a par with having a national stadium that drains funds from the country Both Dundee teams can't financially run their clubs with the current setup, so it would make sense, the stress on the pitch being the only downside. Link to comment
caledonia Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 cmon boofon get on their site and start a wanks no to dundee sad that the record of having two grounds on one street will go but interesting to see if their council has this passed and built while we are still arguing about light pollution etc Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 It would make financial sense for both minker teams to ground share like Milan, but it's Scotland and Dundee, so they're stupid cunts and won't do itSadly Dundonian "pride" on both sides has killed this all too often. Where else in the world do you have the ludicrous situation that exists in Dundee. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 What is the WANKS view on this development?Surely a gaggle of geese are going to disturbed by this. Link to comment
Panda Posted August 21, 2017 Author Share Posted August 21, 2017 Sadly Dundonian "pride" on both sides has killed this all too often. Where else in the world do you have the ludicrous situation that exists in Dundee.Are you asking where else has two teams in one city with their own stadium? I can think of a few. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Are you asking where else has two teams in one city with their own stadium? I can think of a few.Are they right across the road from each other? Link to comment
Panda Posted August 21, 2017 Author Share Posted August 21, 2017 Are they right across the road from each other?What has that got to do with anything? On an unrelated note, Dundee won't actually own their stadium, they'll simply be renting it. Link to comment
The Lighthouse Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 Looks like AFC may be left behind by Dundee ffs... I have almost zero faith in the Council to pass the proposal. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 21, 2017 Share Posted August 21, 2017 What has that got to do with anything?On an unrelated note, Dundee won't actually own their stadium, they'll simply be renting it.Isn't that the case now? Think a former DUTD director has something to do with it Link to comment
Panda Posted August 22, 2017 Author Share Posted August 22, 2017 Isn't that the case now? Think a former DUTD director has something to do with it Yes. If it's not actually Dundee's stadium and the owners are renting it out to whoever they like, then they should make it a 30,000 capacity and we've got a perfect semi-final venue and a great place to play the Scotland games. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 22, 2017 Share Posted August 22, 2017 Yes. If it's not actually Dundee's stadium and the owners are renting it out to whoever they like, then they should make it a 30,000 capacity and we've got a perfect semi-final venue and a great place to play the Scotland games.Agreed! Plus when our stadium fails we don't have to go to Edinburgh or Glasgow for our European matches...... Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 22, 2017 Share Posted August 22, 2017 If they are unable to share a stadium, surely they can find a way to share training facilities? Link to comment
Panda Posted August 22, 2017 Author Share Posted August 22, 2017 If they are unable to share a stadium, surely they can find a way to share training facilities?United only pay £60,000 a year to use St Andrew's, which is so good Aberdeen use it ahead of our cup finals. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 22, 2017 Share Posted August 22, 2017 United only pay £60,000 a year to use St Andrew's, which is so good Aberdeen use it ahead of our cup finals. Didn't know that. Is that at the Uni then? Bit of a bargain really 60k a year. Link to comment
boboisared Posted August 22, 2017 Share Posted August 22, 2017 United only pay £60,000 a year to use St Andrew's, which is so good Aberdeen use it ahead of our cup finals.Don't we also use it for the majority of pre season? Link to comment
BWG Posted August 22, 2017 Share Posted August 22, 2017 United only pay £60,000 a year to use St Andrew's, which is so good Aberdeen use it ahead of our cup finals.Some arabs I ken like to use it as an excuse as well. Shite along the lines of "our players don't even go into Dundee between games so the games mean nothing to them. Could absolutely imagine our mutant fans coming out with pish like that if Aurora doesn't go ahead. Link to comment
Donnet Posted August 22, 2017 Share Posted August 22, 2017 Some arabs I ken like to use it as an excuse as well. Shite along the lines of "our players don't even go into Dundee between games so the games mean nothing to them. Could absolutely imagine our mutant fans coming out with pish like that if Aurora doesn't go ahead. If they build a Nandos in Westhill we're fucked. Link to comment