daytripping Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 I was always led to believe admin here would never give up IP numbers and the server was US based, now Cheese has been pulled up and arrested can we take it that was bollocks?? I spent years of my life involved in a internet defamation case, it set legal presedence for stuff like this, my advice is tell anyone interested to fuck off, costs many thousands to get it to the court stage, even then needs to be the top courts, in my case the old bailey in London, I won easily. It cost me a first class stamp, he was near 50 grand. The case is all over the internet but it's boring, just wanted to say if anyone ever gets bothered by this kind of stuff just PM me. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 I was always led to believe admin here would never give up IP numbers and the server was US based, now Cheese has been pulled up and arrested can we take it that was bollocks?? I spent years of my life involved in a internet defamation case, it set legal presedence for stuff like this, my advice is tell anyone interested to fuck off, costs many thousands to get it to the court stage, even then needs to be the top courts, in my case the old bailey in London, I won easily. It cost me a first class stamp, he was near 50 grand. The case is all over the internet but it's boring, just wanted to say if anyone ever gets bothered by this kind of stuff just PM me.Could you provide some links to this? Thanks. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 Wait so whats happened now? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 Wait so whats happened now?The Feds led cheesepipes off in cuffs. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 We need security!! Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 11, 2018 Author Share Posted February 11, 2018 Link to the case I was involved in, the judgement was about 50 pages long, this is the short version. http://johnhemming.blogspot.co.uk/2008/12/smith-v-advfn-internet-fora-and-libel.html Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 No way Someone off here got arrested for something said on here?! Im skeptical, but then saw this news story from last year, featuring posts and screen shots from on here (the bold Tup features prominently): https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/1822199/rangers-aberdeen-fernando-ricksen-forum-club-1872/ Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 Link to the case I was involved in, the judgement was about 50 pages long, this is the short version. http://johnhemming.blogspot.co.uk/2008/12/smith-v-advfn-internet-fora-and-libel.html Nigel ?? Link to comment
BWG Posted February 11, 2018 Share Posted February 11, 2018 I'm going to assume this is shite but against my better judgement, fits happened? Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 11, 2018 Author Share Posted February 11, 2018 Nigel Nigel Smith is the biggest wanker known to man, has a restraining order stopping him taking people to court, did it as a hobby, was unemployed and thought he was a QC. In the case the judge said online defamation was akin to vulgar abuse in a pub conversation. But a few recent cases suggest that things may be starting to shift a bit. Some judges seem receptive to an argument that readers of some online postings won’t take them seriously. This has been described as the “ALL-CAPS” defence to defamation.For example, Eady J commented that bulletin board postings were “often uninhibited, casual and ill-thought-out; those who participate know this and expect a certain amount of repartee or ‘give and take.’” He said that some inflammatory comments might be taken as mere vulgar abuse and therefore not taken by reasonable readers as intended to be accurate (Smith v ADVFN Plc [2008] EWHC 1797 QB). Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 11, 2018 Author Share Posted February 11, 2018 I'm going to assume this is shite but against my better judgement, fits happened? A couple people off here have had the police at their door for comments posted. Link to comment
BWG Posted February 12, 2018 Share Posted February 12, 2018 A couple people off here have had the police at their door for comments posted.Isn't that old news or have the five-o been doing another round of chapping? Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 12, 2018 Share Posted February 12, 2018 Isn't that old news or have the five-o been doing another round of chapping? Another round Related to the WANKS, that's all Link to comment
BWG Posted February 12, 2018 Share Posted February 12, 2018 Jesus wept. This lot are worse than the tims for taking offence. What a horrendous life they must lead. No voting wanks. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 I can tellyou for a fact that IP addresses are being obtainedI am being very careful what I post on here now. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 I was told they tracked me down with an email account linked to me. Still don't GAF Link to comment
BWG Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 Did you get frogmarched to the cells as well Eric?What's the link between posting shite on here and obtaining an IP address?Is it straightforward for cops to identify folk quite easily.Well clearly it is.....as Dayts said I thought there was somewhat of a security blanket of servers being US based.Nae sure if @@Bebo and co can refuse if the @rozzers ask them for an IP and the email address used to register the account. Fail to see anything illegal that has been said on here though. Link to comment
Henry Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 I can tellyou for a fact that IP addresses are being obtainedI am being very careful what I post on here now. Straight from Gary Caldwell was it? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 If Officer Dibble tells Bebo he needs an IP address for some allegedly heinous written statement on this site, my understanding is then Bebo has no choice but to hand it over. But, an IP address doesn't tell them who the alleged culprit is. The IP address will belong to an ISP (Internet Service Provider), my understanding is then the feds need some sort of warrant to then ask the ISP who their customer was using that IP address. Based on that, they show up lights blazing and haul off the accused. Email addresses are meaningless. They can be tied in to mobile numbers, but mobile numbers don't have to have an owner (well they do in this country, but that's a different story). Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 So if I log onto my VPN in Russia I can post ah the abuse I want despite Bebo having my email address? Theoretical question. 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 If Officer Dibble tells Bebo he needs an IP address for some allegedly heinous written statement on this site, my understanding is then Bebo has no choice but to hand it over. If that's the case, he can just hand one over from where a hatter has been logged in abroad or whatever. I, par example, must have 100s of different IP addresses I've logged in from all over the place. Link to comment
caledonia Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 If Officer Dibble tells Bebo he needs an IP address for some allegedly heinous written statement on this site, my understanding is then Bebo has no choice but to hand it over. But, an IP address doesn't tell them who the alleged culprit is. The IP address will belong to an ISP (Internet Service Provider), my understanding is then the feds need some sort of warrant to then ask the ISP who their customer was using that IP address. Based on that, they show up lights blazing and haul off the accused. Email addresses are meaningless. They can be tied in to mobile numbers, but mobile numbers don't have to have an owner (well they do in this country, but that's a different story). That still does not tell them who was using the said computer for instance might be shared between 5 people who all log on under the same isp did boofon not say he had the police at his door as well Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 That's true to a certain extent. If the IP was in use by an office for example the IT geeks would then be able to trace it back to a particular computer. Even then it's not proof the owner of said computer actually did it. If however it is traced back to a household, then blaming the wife, bairns or dug won't help matters. Link to comment
1983 Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 What was the actual complaint? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 That's true to a certain extent. If the IP was in use by an office for example the IT geeks would then be able to trace it back to a particular computer. Even then it's not proof the owner of said computer actually did it.If however it is traced back to a household, then blaming the wife, bairns or dug won't help matters.Aye ok Sherlock Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 Aye ok SherlockDon't worry bloots, until being an alkie is criminalized, you'll be fine. Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 So if I log onto my VPN in Russia I can post ah the abuse I want despite Bebo having my email address? Theoretical question. Yeah I thought that. Fake email address, proxy = free speech again. If it was worth caring about Link to comment
caledonia Posted February 13, 2018 Share Posted February 13, 2018 That's true to a certain extent. If the IP was in use by an office for example the IT geeks would then be able to trace it back to a particular computer. Even then it's not proof the owner of said computer actually did it. If however it is traced back to a household, then blaming the wife, bairns or dug won't help matters. [...] the Court is concerned about the lack of facts establishing that Defendant was using that IP address at that particular time. Indeed, the FAC does not explain what link, if any, there is between Defendant and the IP address. It is possible that Plaintiff sued Defendant because he is the subscriber to IP address 68.8.137.53. (The Court notes that it is actually unclear whether the IP address is registered to Defendant). As recognized by many courts, just because an IP address is registered to an individual does not mean that he or she is guilty of infringement when that IP address is used to commit infringing activity. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted February 14, 2018 Share Posted February 14, 2018 I logged on a computer once, made a houra mess Weeeeeeey Fuck the police Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 14, 2018 Author Share Posted February 14, 2018 Fact is Bebo shouldn't be giving out any details about posters without a Norwich Pharmacal order, that's where it gets complicated as to bring a case to get such an order costs about 3 grand. How the police know where posters live without such an order is what I'm not understanding, if anyone gets an email from the police just ignore, they'll never go for an order over an online sick joke. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norwich_Pharmacal_order Link to comment