waldo5 Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 What is the deal here? I find it hard to believe that this isn't a bigger talking point. McInnes stated that Wright was going to be a massive part of the squad in the New Year and yet he has not been seen since. Not even making matchday squads anymore with no word of an injury either as far as I am aware. I think McInnes has mismanaged this boy and hung him out to dry on a few occasions with his misuse of him. He seems to have a ridiculous amount of talent and certain attributes which I don't think we can afford to be passing up on given how shite we have been all year. He has the urgency, balls, rapid pace and ability to beat a man which others do not. What I'm curious to know is do people share the same optimism I do about the young lad or is he just not good enough? 1 Link to comment
redstrummer Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 He certainly has the talent . Perhaps the signing of McGinn and GMS improvement in form has seen him slide down the pecking order.Should definatley be given more game time , perhaps a loan spell elsewhere would be good for him Link to comment
waldo5 Posted February 21, 2018 Author Share Posted February 21, 2018 He doesn't need a loan spell. He is more than good enough as it is. GMS is a soft lad who's entire career has been dependent on every fourth game being one where he doesn't look like a completely ineffectual fud. When he doesn't have his fourth game, he is a complete and utter passenger. I appreciate we maybe aren't in poll position to sign playes who have GMS' quality (on his fourth game) who are consistently turning in performances, but he genuinely offers NOTHING when he isn't playing well. Scott Wright is younger, fitter, runs faster, dribbles faster and generally looks a but more intense and like he always want to affect a game. Posters will say he had chances early doors this season and never took them, particularly the Killie game where he was terrible. But he was no different to anyone else that day.. Logan for example, who was horrendous and on the basis of this season isn't really very good in general. Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 He doesn't need a loan spell. He is more than good enough as it is. GMS is a soft lad who's entire career has been dependent on every fourth game being one where he doesn't look like a completely ineffectual fud. When he doesn't have his fourth game, he is a complete and utter passenger. I appreciate we maybe aren't in poll position to sign playes who have GMS' quality (on his fourth game) who are consistently turning in performances, but he genuinely offers NOTHING when he isn't playing well. Scott Wright is younger, fitter, runs faster, dribbles faster and generally looks a but more intense and like he always want to affect a game. Posters will say he had chances early doors this season and never took them, particularly the Killie game where he was terrible. But he was no different to anyone else that day.. Logan for example, who was horrendous and on the basis of this season isn't really very good in general.Players generally offer nothing when they play poor. Null point. GMS and McGinn have been in fine form bar the Hibs game and thats more down to Mcinnes poor management. More worrying is how Fat boy Stewart gets on the bench before Wright does. Link to comment
waldo5 Posted February 21, 2018 Author Share Posted February 21, 2018 Not sure it is a null point. Shinnie has played poorly all season but still offers... something. GMS looks like a lost boy on his bad games. But yeah, maybe not the best time to bring up Wright starting, but why on Earth is "G-Stew" getting on the bench ahead of a local loon who's young, a Don, has a long contract and who in all honesty is probably more talented... than a wee porker who's on loan for a few more months and can't even get a game anyway? Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 Teach him to play LB. Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 I think people want him to be better than he is Link to comment
waldo5 Posted February 21, 2018 Author Share Posted February 21, 2018 Bit like you with your posts, McDougall min! Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 Bit like you with your posts, McDougall min! grow up would ya you moan about the quality of discourse and then you come out with that poor Link to comment
RUL Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 He doesn't need a loan spell. He is more than good enough as it is. GMS is a soft lad who's entire career has been dependent on every fourth game being one where he doesn't look like a completely ineffectual fud. When he doesn't have his fourth game, he is a complete and utter passenger. I appreciate we maybe aren't in poll position to sign playes who have GMS' quality (on his fourth game) who are consistently turning in performances, but he genuinely offers NOTHING when he isn't playing well. Scott Wright is younger, fitter, runs faster, dribbles faster and generally looks a but more intense and like he always want to affect a game. Posters will say he had chances early doors this season and never took them, particularly the Killie game where he was terrible. But he was no different to anyone else that day.. Logan for example, who was horrendous and on the basis of this season isn't really very good in general.He also started v Rangers and turned in one of the most inept performances in recent memory. 2 Link to comment
waldo5 Posted February 21, 2018 Author Share Posted February 21, 2018 grow up would ya you moan about the quality of discourse and then you come out with that poor Your discourse was an entire sentence. Your first one of substance in a while. Didn't realise you were so sensitive, Ethel. I'm definitely in the camp of probably thinking he's better than he actually is but there is definitely a lot of talent there that needs to be managed properly. It's surely farcical that both Maynard and Stewart who are likely to be punted are more deserving of a place on the bench and the odd ten minutes here and there instead of Wright - who will be here for the long term. Link to comment
old sheep Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 He also started v Rangers and turned in one of the most inept performances in recent memory.In fairness, he was brought in from the cold that day. Think it was his first start for over a month from memory. McInnes has a tendency to do this and just expect players to hit the ground running. Chidi was another example last week and we'll no doubt get the likes of Stewart or Reynolds pitched in on Sunday after weeks of inactivity. 1 Link to comment
Panda Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 Pretty sure Wright has been injured. He didn't even play for the U20s v Celtic. He's not even getting 20 minute cameos at the moment. Not sure what's going on, but would guess it's more a fitness thing rather than McInnes suddenly not rating him. Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 He's pulled a muscle in his back. Link to comment
Sheepo Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 The utter waste of having Reynolds, Arnason and Ball on the bench is bizarre, at most you should have only 2 defensive players on the bench if fit Wright should be on the bench instead of one of them Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 What I'm curious to know is do people share the same optimism I do about the young lad or is he just not good enough? That was what I was replying to You asked the question... Link to comment
Red Ram Posted February 21, 2018 Share Posted February 21, 2018 He played against Hearts u20s last week and contributed very little Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted February 22, 2018 Share Posted February 22, 2018 I reckon he's a lot like GMS, a confidence player. Like most players he'll likely need a run of games to get up to speed and form, not 1 game here, 4 on the bench, then 5 mins at the end of the next game, then back to the bench, then back in the starting lineup for 1 game etc He's probably suffering from McInnes constant rotation as much as anything. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 30, 2018 Share Posted August 30, 2018 Just reading he's out for up to 8 weeks. That's a touch shit like. Haste ye back Scotty son.So he could play on Saturday? Link to comment
PondHopper Posted October 11, 2018 Share Posted October 11, 2018 Hoping to see an appearance from this guy after the break. Hoping for a 1st team break thru Link to comment
TheRock Posted October 11, 2018 Share Posted October 11, 2018 Would have no issue with him getting a few more chances to play through the middle Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted October 13, 2018 Share Posted October 13, 2018 Injured at the moment? Him and Ross looked good against St Mirren. (Everybody does though right?) Link to comment
PondHopper Posted October 13, 2018 Share Posted October 13, 2018 Isn't he expected back after the break? Link to comment
Yorston Vasey Posted October 13, 2018 Share Posted October 13, 2018 Isn't he expected back after the break?There's a bloke on a Venezuelan football forum suggesting that clubs should tap into untried overseas markets for potential gems and is encouraging supporters of Deportivo La Guaira that they should be considering signing this exciting young Scottish talent right about now... Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 13, 2018 Share Posted October 13, 2018 Would have no issue with him getting a few more chances to play through the middleYeah here’s hoping he gets his chance to play through the middle as looked comfortable and confident Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted October 13, 2018 Share Posted October 13, 2018 Yeah here’s hoping he gets his chance to play through the middle as looked comfortable and confidentI think this is the future for Wright. Would be a massive bonus for us if he could perform consistently well behind the striker. Link to comment
Mr John Posted October 14, 2018 Share Posted October 14, 2018 All our young forwards are better than the "first team" players... Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted October 14, 2018 Share Posted October 14, 2018 All our young forwards are better than the "first team" players...They do some quite decent tbf. Need to keep seeing them involved through the season and then we'll get a better idea. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted October 15, 2018 Share Posted October 15, 2018 When is he back? Someone, maybe Tord, said he and a few others who have been injured lately, will be available for Tynecastle. Link to comment