Guest milne_afc Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 Always preferred the Brian Moore commentary over Jock Brown's. Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted May 11, 2018 Author Share Posted May 11, 2018 Pawletts heider against Rijeka was better. Except Hewitt was onside. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 How fucking good is that. Was already to give it the cringe comment until I watched it, fucking glorious. Shite commentary though. Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted May 11, 2018 Author Share Posted May 11, 2018 Shite commentary though. Yeah, was looking for a short summary. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 Today, to mark Gothenburg Day... and in honour of one of our greatest ever players, legendary 'Gothenburg Great', Neil Alexander Simpson... I arrived home to find this magnificent piece of merchandise waiting for me by the front door. Tomorrow i'll be finding a suitable frame for the fella, and it'll take pride of place above my desk. 8 Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 Nice choice in soft drinks too. Link to comment
The Lighthouse Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 Wonderful stuff... Hoping that Fergie continues to make a good recovery as well. Such a legend at our club. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 Yeah, was looking for a short summary. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eG3k2TgSzj4Aye, that's the footage I'm used to with Jock Brown.Magic. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted May 11, 2018 Share Posted May 11, 2018 @@Bebo can you produce a Willie Miller trophy holding emoji please???? Link to comment
HairyPie Posted May 12, 2018 Share Posted May 12, 2018 Today, to mark Gothenburg Day... and in honour of one of our greatest ever players, legendary 'Gothenburg Great', Neil Alexander Simpson... I arrived home to find this magnificent piece of merchandise waiting for me by the front door. Tomorrow i'll be finding a suitable frame for the fella, and it'll take pride of place above my desk. Where can this merchandise be purchased? Link to comment
AllyDon Posted May 12, 2018 Share Posted May 12, 2018 I still have the cup winning picture pride of place on my wall. Given to me by Alex Ferguson and signed by all the players. What a night. Great memories. Link to comment
Shinniesta Posted May 12, 2018 Share Posted May 12, 2018 It's crazy now to think that the 83 CWC quarter-final line-up included the teams listed below. It's a who's who of modern day top table European football. Yet when the dust settled we won the competition. Real Madrid.Barcelona.Inter Milan.PSG.Bayern Munich. Madrid's star players were Santillana, Stielike, Metgod, Camacho, Juanito, Michel and Gallego. Only two years earlier they had been in the European Cup final. Barca had the likes of Maradona, Schuster, Victor and Carrasco. They were the reigning CWC holders. Inter had Bergomi, Altobelli, Zenga, Collovati, Borden, Marini and Hans Muller. 5 of those players were in Italy's 1982 World Cup winning squad. PSG had Luis Fernandez, Safet Susic and Dominic Rochteau. Bayern had Rummenigge, Dietmar Hoeness, Breitner, Pfugler, Augenthaler and Dremmler. Some of those guys played in the 82 World Cup final and the year before they had been in the European Cup final. Spurs were also in the competition and they won the UEFA Cup the following season. When you look at the depth of quality in that competition I feel winning it is just as impressive as Celtic winning the 1967 European Cup. Obviously not quite the same prestige as lifting the cup with the big ears but I'd say just as hard to win when you look at the overall quality of opposition. Even now after all these years it still seems unreal that the last team to beat the great Real Madrid in a European final is Aberdeen FC. 7 Link to comment
something_or_other Posted May 12, 2018 Share Posted May 12, 2018 I was wondering who the spanish champs were in 82 (Real Sociedad) so Googled "spanish champions football 82" and it returned italy from the world cup! The machines have a bit to go yet it seems..... 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted May 13, 2018 Share Posted May 13, 2018 Today, to mark Gothenburg Day... and in honour of one of our greatest ever players, legendary 'Gothenburg Great', Neil Alexander Simpson... I arrived home to find this magnificent piece of merchandise waiting for me by the front door. Tomorrow i'll be finding a suitable frame for the fella, and it'll take pride of place above my desk. A lovely piece of course but Huns shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as Gothenburg. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 13, 2018 Share Posted May 13, 2018 Framed and up on the wa above my desk. Splendid! 6 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted May 14, 2018 Share Posted May 14, 2018 Framed and up on the wa above my desk. Splendid! What happened to the beautifully worded Tup poem? Is that in a different frame? Link to comment
Yorston Vasey Posted May 14, 2018 Share Posted May 14, 2018 Framed and up on the wa above my desk. Splendid! That is glorious. Impressed. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted May 18, 2018 Share Posted May 18, 2018 Watched the 83 documentary on Alba a couple of nights ago. Still good viewing even with the foreign block spikin yon gobbledygook through it Link to comment
YorkDon Posted May 18, 2018 Share Posted May 18, 2018 Love the goal celebration fae Hewitt and Rougvie.None of these shite little dances or rehearsed routines or signals.Punching the air in delight-magic! Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted May 18, 2018 Share Posted May 18, 2018 Always a big fan of Rougvie stuffing it right into Klaus Aughentelar in the QF at Pittodrie. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 18, 2018 Share Posted May 18, 2018 Aye they dinna make germans like they used to either Link to comment